ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - B550 ITX board won't boot with a my Ryzen 5600X.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

B550 ITX board won't boot with a my Ryzen 5600X.

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message
ravage123 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Nov 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ravage123 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: B550 ITX board won't boot with a my Ryzen 5600X.
    Posted: 08 Nov 2020 at 8:52am
Hi. I am testing my build out.

I bought my Board, a ASrock B550 Phantom Gaming ITX on September 5th in preparation for Zen 3. Got a 5600x at launch.

[Link to my build here](https://pcpartpicker.com/user/ravage123/saved/k3qk99). I don't have a 3080 yet and have been trying to get it to boot with a GTX 1070 and a RX 580.

At first I tried the Rx580, and the lights and fans would not turn on at all. Then I tried the GTX1070 and it seemed to turn on fine. Fans spun up, lights stayed on.

The Case/CPU/GPU fans, turn on, GPU/motherboard lights turn on. I've tried different display outputs, monitors, and 2 different GPUs, and its the same result. No display signal or POST screen.

Reseated the RAM and GPU as well.

I'm stumped.... Maybe my motherboard doesn't have a BIOS that supports Zen 3? No way to check since I don't have a Zen 2 CPU.

How can I check the currently installed BIOS without being able to boot? I know ASrock has the BIOS version written on a sticker somewhere but I am unable to find it on this board.
Back to Top
MadScientist View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2020
Location: TN
Status: Offline
Points: 483
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MadScientist Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Nov 2020 at 9:15pm
There should be a sticker on the chipset with the current bios number. https://www.asrock.com/support/index.us.asp?cat=FindBIOS

Your MB needs bios V1.60 for the ryzen 5 5600X. https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/B550%20Phantom%20Gaming-ITXax/index.asp#CPU

That's a recent bios release, 11/4/2020, so your MB may not have it. https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/B550%20Phantom%20Gaming-ITXax/index.asp#BIOS

Back to Top
ravage123 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Nov 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ravage123 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Nov 2020 at 10:18pm
Why is this? The BIOS page on the motherboard support site says that 5000 series is supported from v1.2 on August 25th!

That's absurd. And the patchnote for 1.6 says nothing at all about the 5000 series CPUs. It's not clear at all and I had assumed my CPU would work out of the box. I don't even have a old AMD CPU that will allow me to flash the new BIOS.
Back to Top
ravage123 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Nov 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ravage123 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Nov 2020 at 10:21pm
Originally posted by ravage123 ravage123 wrote:

Why is this? The BIOS page on the motherboard support site says that 5000 series is supported from v1.2 on August 25th!

That's absurd. And the patchnote for 1.6 says nothing at all about the 5000 series CPUs. It's not clear at all and I had assumed my CPU would work out of the box. I don't even have a old AMD CPU that will allow me to flash the new BIOS.


[URL=https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/B550%20Phantom%20Gaming-ITXax/index.asp#BIOS]here is the site[/URL]
Back to Top
MadScientist View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2020
Location: TN
Status: Offline
Points: 483
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MadScientist Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Nov 2020 at 12:58am
Yes, I see your point. It is confusing. So is there a sticker on your chipset that says what your current bios version is?
Back to Top
ravage123 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Nov 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ravage123 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Nov 2020 at 10:52am
Nope, haven't been able to find anything.
Back to Top
ravage123 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Nov 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ravage123 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Nov 2020 at 3:27pm
No, can't find one
Back to Top
MadScientist View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2020
Location: TN
Status: Offline
Points: 483
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MadScientist Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Nov 2020 at 9:18pm
I do not know of any other way of checking the bios version except to boot into the BIOS/UEFI. Your MB probably has bios V1.00 or V1.10. Unfortunately you are going to need a ryzen series 3000 CPU to boot to the BIOS/UEFI to flash the bios.
Back to Top
jackson1101 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 15 Nov 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jackson1101 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2020 at 2:39pm
I'm having the same issue as OP. Before buying the B550 mobo and 5600X, I verified that the mobo supports AsRock's USB "flashback" to update the BIOS and planned on doing that, but alas, can't update the BIOS without video output.

Interestingly, I also get no beeps with my installed mobo speaker, though I read on another thread that AsRock might disable chassis speakers by default, and that it has to be enabled in the BIOS?
Back to Top
Lumpybed View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 18 Nov 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lumpybed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2020 at 10:33pm
For what it's worth, my Phantom Gaming B550 ITX (purchased in October from Newegg) has a "P1.00" sticker on the mobo side of the I/O shield, behind the WiFi antenna couplings. I haven't done my build yet but I'm in a similar situation. Was planning on buying a 5800 and I don't have another AM4 CPU handy, so I'm going to have to get creative if I want to execute that plan.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.391 seconds.