ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

AS Extreme 970 3 3 Long Repeating Beeps

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote alyzar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: AS Extreme 970 3 3 Long Repeating Beeps
    Posted: 31 Jan 2016 at 3:48am
Good Afternoon,

I have been using the 970 board for many many years with no problems.  Went to boot the system the other day and 3 long repeating  beeps.  Here is what I have done:

Removed and reseated  all peripherals.  no change 3 long repeating beeps
swapped out PS with older one - no change 3 long repeating beeps
swapped out memory with same brand and type  - no change 3 long repeating beeps
swapped out memory different banks - no change 3 long repeating beeps
swapped out video again no change 3 long repeating beeps
removed memory - no change 3 long repeating beeps
removed AMD Phenom II X4 965 - no beeps
Purchased new mobo that supports both AMD Phenom II X4 965 and current memory -no change 3 long repeating beeps

I know from the plethora of google search postings that 3 beeps has to do with memory but 3 long repeating beeps give several different responses??  My question is since I have already sent back the new mobo my only solution is to purchase a new CPU,  is there anything else i could be looking at over the weekend, since CPU wont ship til Monday.  Thanks Brad
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Jan 2016 at 10:48am
In my experiences, if you took the memory out and it did the same three, more than likely it's one memory stick that's dies.

Using the slot furthest from the CPU, individually test each stick in this one slot that it will or will not boot.

Post back what you discover.
alyzar View Drop Down