ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > HTPC&Gaming Barebone&Others
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Black Screen after update the BIOS on BeeBox N3150
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Black Screen after update the BIOS on BeeBox N3150

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22748
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Black Screen after update the BIOS on BeeBox N3150
    Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 10:09pm
That is great to hear vtancer2, thank you for posting back with what worked for you Thumbs Up
Back to Top
vtancer2 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Feb 2016
Location: Slovenia
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote vtancer2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Feb 2016 at 8:20pm
I succeeded with upgrading the BIOS to last version v1.30.Wink

What I've done:

1. Remove the CMOS battery for half an hour.
2. Reset the BIOS with shorting CMOS pads.
3. Upgrade the BIOS (now mini pc did not frize after step 5 descriped above) to last version v1.30

Maybe someone could help this.ClapClapClap

Thanks again to wardog and Xaltar.

Back to Top
vtancer2 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Feb 2016
Location: Slovenia
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote vtancer2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2016 at 8:03pm
To wardog: after step number 5 of your procedure described in the post above "5. Click the 1.30 BIOS files and Instant Flash should take off and flash" my screen frozen again and must plug-out the power cord and plug-in again for start my BeeBox.Shocked

But like I said my BeeBox still working fine and smoothly under Windows 10 x64.

Back to Top
vtancer2 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Feb 2016
Location: Slovenia
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote vtancer2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2016 at 6:23pm
Thank you wardog for your affords to resolve the problem. 

I exactly follow your instructions step by step, but neither your procedure was not successful for me. I read some post on this forum and noticed that many users can not upgrade the BIOS on BeeBox. My BeeBox still working fine so there is no reasons to upgrade the BIOS.

Maybe is here some incompatibilities between RAM moduls and BIOS upgrade software.

I use two same moduls from Kingston SODIMM DDR3L 4GB (KVR16LS11/4).
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2016 at 5:13am
Good night.

Post back your results please.
Back to Top
vtancer2 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Feb 2016
Location: Slovenia
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote vtancer2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2016 at 5:12am
Thank you again. I will try this procedure tomorrow. It is 10 p.m. in Slovenia.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2016 at 4:46am
Note: The N315NUC1.30 file should reside on a freshly formatted FAT32 stick, in the root directory

<usb drive>:\N315NUC1.30

Nothing else should be on the drive, just N315NUC1.30

Edited by wardog - 03 Feb 2016 at 4:48am
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2016 at 4:43am
1. Insert either 4 or 8gb stick with the Instant Flash file into the BeeBox

2. Start it or reboot and enter the BIOS(no spamming the F6 key)

3. Navigate to the Tools Menu

4. Select Instant Flash, and your stick with the 1.30 file should appear

5. Click the 1.30 BIOS files and Instant Flash should take off and flash

6. When Instant Flash is finished you'll be prompted to reboot, and here then, reboot


Edited by wardog - 03 Feb 2016 at 4:44am
Back to Top
vtancer2 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Feb 2016
Location: Slovenia
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote vtancer2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2016 at 9:04pm
I will be very appreciated if you write exact guidance to update the BIOS. I tried your post in practice but didn't succeed. At first I formated two USB keys 4GB and 8GB to FAT32. Than I downloaded bios file N3150-NUC(P1.30)ROM to the computer which I downloaded before from Asrock site and unziped. On two USB keys I copied only file N315NUC1.30 that I unziped before. Than I restart the BeeBox with constantly presing on F6 to start with "Instant Flash". Instant Flash froze my screen and nothing happened. After ten minutes I unpluged power supply cord and plug-in again. The same was happened when I tried instantly flash from another USB key. I was tried even with FAT16 and it's the same.

Please make exact procedure how to upgrade the BIOS. Thank you in advance.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2016 at 6:54pm
Originally posted by vtancer2 vtancer2 wrote:

Thank you for quick answer. I resolve this black screen problem with clearing the CMOS data. Where can find CMOS Pad is explained in the manual on the page 6. I noticed that my BIOS is still on P1.10.Smile


Glad to hear you rescued it.

In the future DO NOT flash any BIOS from within Windows. Doing so, while seemingly "simple' , only invites disaster, as you've discovered.

Instead use the Instant Flash method and file. If you don't understand how to use Instant Flash post back and myself or another here will guide you.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.