ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > HTPC&Gaming Barebone&Others
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - No boot on jupiter h470
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

No boot on jupiter h470

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Message
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 14313
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2021 at 2:34pm
The H470 is an intel based system, no good for gaming as intel's integrated graphics
are vastly inferior to AMD's APUs.
The Jupiter A320 is the budget/low power Jupiter model. If you look at the X300
model you will see it already supports the newer APUs and will likely be updated
with support for the 5000 series APUs coming soon:
https://www.asrock.com/nettop/AMD/Jupiter%20X300/index.asp#CPU

With AMD the X in front of the chipset name indicates high end where A and B
indicate low and mid tier.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 14313
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2021 at 2:38pm
The naming conventions can be very confusing, especially to those not in the know.
I can see how one would think the higher number equates to higher spec but in this
instance the A320 is inferior to the X300 and the 400 models are intel not AMD.

What are you planning to use the system for? With that knowledge I would be happy
to help you pick out the best possible components within your budget.
Back to Top
edmu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03 Jul 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 120
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote edmu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2021 at 4:12pm
I don't need a PC for gaming, but for simple everyday work with applications, some of which are resource-consumig (like graphics editors, 3D modeling, virtual PCs, etc.), so I choose a processor with the highest possible CPU Benchmark (according to https://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu_list.php). Newer processors mostly have higher Benchmark value (as the Ryzen 5 3600 has 17,863, while the 3400G has only 9,370). it doesn't matter to me if it's an AMD or Intel based system, so the H470 would have been a better choice.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 14313
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2021 at 4:32pm
The 3600 is a great CPU for productivity. The problem is that you would need a
different setup and a dedicated GPU to use it. The 3400g is more than up to the
tasks you listed however. I have a 3600 and also an older 2400g setup and really
can't tell the difference using them in 3ds max/blender but that is with both
systems sporting a dedicated GPU.

The 2400g works well even with it's built in Radeon graphics but falls far short
of the performance when paired with a discrete GPU (an RX 470 in this case).
This will largely depend on the type of modeling you are doing however. Using
basic rendering in your viewports with minimal features will be perfectly fine
even on intel's less than ideal built in graphics subsystem, I do character modeling
and use skin shaders etc with real time preview so I really need more graphical
grunt or things slow to a slideshow and become unresponsive.

Depending on the type of 3d you will use the system for, you will be better off
with AMD even if the CPU is a bit weaker. The iGPU in AMD's APUs are much more
advanced and have better feature support/performance than intel. They are on
par with low end discrete solutions (like the RX 550 and GTX 1030) where intel
falls far below that mark in most applications.

For the graphics editors you will want loads of RAM and fast storage. A 512mb
or larger NVME drive would be a great choice paired with at least 16gb of RAM.

Personally, I would not build an SFF system for the tasks you are looking at using
the system for but I have no use for portability as my desktop stays where it
is and I have a laptop for remote work.

The 3400g should be more than up to the tasks you listed however. I highly doubt
you will notice a difference between it and the 3600, particularly as most
productivity based tasks/apps only utilize 4 or less cores anyway. You shouldn't
have any problem selling the 3600 in the current market so it won't be a total
loss.
Back to Top
edmu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03 Jul 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 120
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote edmu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2021 at 4:58pm
I have already bought the A320 and I have no choice but to settle for the Ryzen 5 3400G as it is the highest that the A320 supports.
There is another reason why I prefer a newer processor. MS Windows 11 is expected to be released later in the fall and, according to their CPU support list at https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-hardware/design/minimum/supported/windows-11-supported-amd-processors, it does not support older generation CPUs. Ryzen 5 3400G fortunately is in the list, but it will definitely not be there when the next version of Windows (12) arrives. In contrast, if I chose a newer processor like the Ryzen 5 5600G, it very likely will be supported on Windows 12 as well.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 14313
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2021 at 7:41pm
I wouldn't worry about windows 12 not supporting the 3400g. The core reason windows
11 is pushing to phase out older hardware is simply security. I don't see it
sticking to be honest. The outcry about MS basically forcing people to scrap
perfectly capable systems is already ramping up. The fact that you can run
windows 10 on a 20 year old system should tell you all you need to know. Microsoft
is pushing hard for security improvements in Win 11, starting at the hardware
level with TPM 2.0. This is the single reason so many older CPUs won't be supported.
I strongly suspect they will backpedal on this given how many people still run
even older FX series CPUs and second and third gen intel Core iX systems.

MS wants market share, pushing people to upgrade will lose that. Not to mention
the massive amount of e-waste it will produce if everyone were to upgrade and
discard perfectly serviceable hardware.

ASRock has already released BIOS updates that add TPM support to older platforms
than MS listed as compatible so it isn't a hardware limitation like MS would
have us believe.

Edited by Xaltar - 05 Jul 2021 at 7:42pm
Back to Top
edmu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03 Jul 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 120
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote edmu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2021 at 9:09pm
At the beginning of this topic @alexio22 mentioned the same issue as mine, but with the Jupiter H470 - does the Intel based Jupiter also have the same problem? Intel's i5-11500 has IntelĀ® UHD Graphics 750.
Asking because I'm going to buy another Jupiter later in the fall and don't want to repeat this negative experience.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 14313
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2021 at 9:58pm
That is a separate issue to do with intel 11th gen and a mistake intel made with
the launch BIOS. That is why I suggested they contact ASRock Tech Support as they
will need to provide alexio22 with a BIOS update and instructions to perform it
without a display. In a nutshell the integrated graphics are not detected with
the launch BIOS. If you do a quick 11th gen search on the forums here you will
see a large number of posts complaining about the issue.

I would recommend the X300 Jupiter if you plan on buying another one, it will support
all the latest AMD APUs which run cooler than intel's current crop.

Edited by Xaltar - 05 Jul 2021 at 9:59pm
Back to Top
edmu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03 Jul 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 120
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote edmu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2021 at 10:17pm
This is useful advice. I will take that into account.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.127 seconds.