ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - B550M Pro4 + new build - won't boot
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

B550M Pro4 + new build - won't boot

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
gascantx View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Aug 2021
Location: Austin, TX
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gascantx Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: B550M Pro4 + new build - won't boot
    Posted: 28 Aug 2021 at 6:12am
Hi. I am in need of some help...

I have a new build of the following:

Motherboard: ASRock B550M Pro4
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 1600
RAM: G.Skill TridentZ RGB DDR4-3000 8GBx2
Video Card: Diamond Multimedia AMD Radeon HD 5450 PCI Express
Power Supply: EVGA SuperNOVA 120-GP-0650-X1, 650 G+, 80 Plus Gold 650W


I have the hard drives and all other peripherals unplugged.

The system will not complete POST. I get NO output on the display (via HDMI cable).

I have changed the slot for the video card - no change in symptoms.

I have wiped the CMOS (one time by pulling the battery, the second time by jumpering the pins) - no change in symptoms.

What am I missing?

thank you.

Back to Top
Khun_Doug View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 2020
Location: Poconos PA
Status: Offline
Points: 1025
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Khun_Doug Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Aug 2021 at 2:50pm
Hi Gascantx,

The first thing I would try is removing one stick of RAM and leave the remaining stick in A2 (from what I can gather from the user manual, that is the slot for a single stick config). If that won't start, try swapping the sticks.

If that doesn't work, you could have a defective GPU, PSU, or CPU. If you have a spare GPU available, just something enough to get video to a display, I would try that. I doubt it's the PSU, but check to make sure the fans are spinning. And lastly, it could be the CPU is cooked. I would think the CPU is your most likely culprit, followed by the GPU.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 9943
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Aug 2021 at 10:08pm
The 1600 isn't on your CPU support list, not even the 2600 (1600AF would work if
it was). You will need a compatible CPU or a 400 series board depending on what is
easier/cheaper for you.
Back to Top
Khun_Doug View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 2020
Location: Poconos PA
Status: Offline
Points: 1025
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Khun_Doug Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Aug 2021 at 10:12pm
Good catch Xaltar. I assumed the op knew to check CPU compatibility. That's what I get for responding at 3AM.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.