ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Trouble installing operating system
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Trouble installing operating system

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Feb 2016 at 2:25pm
Originally posted by wardog wardog wrote:

Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:


wardog, I don't know if you caught this, or frankly if it even matters, but jebutler3 is using a new to Microsoft type of media, a USB flash drive for Win 10 supplied by Microsoft with the installation files on the USB flash drive. So NO optical disk supplied with the Win 10 license, instead a USB flash drive.

I've used USB flash drives to install Windows for years now, of course created by me either from an optical disk, or a download of an ISO Windows installation file. The guide you linked to is perfectly good for a self-created USB flash drive Windows installation media.

But I wonder if this new USB installation media from MSoft has some special instructions included with it. I've never used one supplied by MSoft, so I don't know either way.


I did , and did.

Yet I can not for one minute understand what any special instructions would be. It has to boot in UEFI, right? So any new board should be primed and ready to perform that, given the correct UEFI installation steps be followed.

I find it much easier to follow along with pictures. Head outta the gutter buddy. Head outta the gutter. That's why I linked what I did. Pictures are worth a thousand words and my fingers are tired. Head outta the gutter. Tongue





Nope, it is not required to boot in UEFI mode with a USB flash drive. A properly formatted USB flash drive gives us the option to install and boot in UEFI mode. I see two entries every time I use a USB flash drive installer, "UEFI:" and usually "RAID:", since I use that alot, or "AHCI:", the default SATA mode.

The UEFI entry tries to use the EFI boot loader and the EFI Option ROM. But if CSM is not set right, the latter won't be used.

AHCI will use the standard boot loader and standard Option ROM, unless CSM is configured to use the EFI stuff. Intel RAID, at least on new boards, will use the EFI Option ROM regardless of the CSM configuration, but that is due to Intel allowing RAID arrays of PCIe SSDs, and NVMe PCIe SSDs. Clap The mixture of storage protocols is the cause for this kludge, so a double edged sword. Dead

But mix all that stuff together, and it is a big mess. Some might argue inconsistent, I would agree. It is not helping people understand how CSM works, and how UEFI and Legacy booting works. The two are related, but the kludge mentioned above makes it more confusing. Not to mention that MSoft does not follow the EFI rules completely in their UEFI installations. Which I think is a good idea by MSoft. That allows you to boot your installation in both UEFI and Legacy mode. Why not?

I've been playing with this stuff for several years now, plus the new PCIe SSDs, and I barely get it. Confused
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Feb 2016 at 1:58pm
Jeebus. You don't have a son or daughter that may have erased that stick for homework purposes do you?

Now's probably a good time to look at just what is on the stick. It may have become corrupted too.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Feb 2016 at 1:50pm
Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:


wardog, I don't know if you caught this, or frankly if it even matters, but jebutler3 is using a new to Microsoft type of media, a USB flash drive for Win 10 supplied by Microsoft with the installation files on the USB flash drive. So NO optical disk supplied with the Win 10 license, instead a USB flash drive.

I've used USB flash drives to install Windows for years now, of course created by me either from an optical disk, or a download of an ISO Windows installation file. The guide you linked to is perfectly good for a self-created USB flash drive Windows installation media.

But I wonder if this new USB installation media from MSoft has some special instructions included with it. I've never used one supplied by MSoft, so I don't know either way.


I did , and did.

Yet I can not for one minute understand what any special instructions would be. It has to boot in UEFI, right? So any new board should be primed and ready to perform that, given the correct UEFI installation steps be followed.

I find it much easier to follow along with pictures. Head outta the gutter buddy. Head outta the gutter. That's why I linked what I did. Pictures are worth a thousand words and my fingers are tired. Head outta the gutter. Tongue



Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Feb 2016 at 1:37pm
Originally posted by jebutler3 jebutler3 wrote:

Hello all,

I am a newbie on computer builds, however I have done some upgrades and minor changes etc., to a few of my other computers.  I have completed my first build.  (I will give the details below)  The build is primarily going to be an HTPC.  I got everything installed and everything powered up perfectly.  I am able to get into the UEFI/BIOS just fine and make changes.  I changed the boot order to USB (I'm installing Windows 10 from the USB stick it came with).  Once I save and exit, the screen will give the splash screen as it always does, but then it goes black, and I have a blinking cursor in the upper left corner.  

I have tried changing multiple settings, changed different USB locations on the board and still the same thing. I really don't believe there is an issue with the hardware, just a setting I am missing or doing incorrectly.

ALL help would be GREATLY appreciated.

Here is my setup... 
Brand new hardware:
ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+
AMD A6 6400K 3.9GHz
Hyper X 4GB DDR3 1600 (1 Stick)
Kingston SSD now300 120GB SATA HD
Antec ISK300-150 Case
Windows 10 (on USB)
LG Blu-ray (currently not installed)


wardog, I don't know if you caught this, or frankly if it even matters, but jebutler3 is using a new to Microsoft type of media, a USB flash drive for Win 10 supplied by Microsoft with the installation files on the USB flash drive. So NO optical disk supplied with the Win 10 license, instead a USB flash drive.

I've used USB flash drives to install Windows for years now, of course created by me either from an optical disk, or a download of an ISO Windows installation file. The guide you linked to is perfectly good for a self-created USB flash drive Windows installation media.

But I wonder if this new USB installation media from MSoft has some special instructions included with it. I've never used one supplied by MSoft, so I don't know either way.

jebutler3, can you check the Win 10 package you have for any instruction for using the USB flash drive?

Personally, I always select the USB flash drive installation media in the Boot Order list in the UEFI/BIOS. There is a specific reason I do this, which is indirectly related to using a USB flash drive.

I have never had a problem when the PC reboots after the installation, of the installation media booting again instead of the OS installation on the target drive.

Questions for you jebutler3:

Are you using all default UEFI settings when you try to install Win 10?

If not, what SATA mode are you using? AHCI? Or something else?

I assume you see, as wardog said, to use the entry on the boot selection screen of "UEFI: <flash drive name>". Do you see any other entries, such as "AHCI: <flash drive name>"?

If you do see an entry, "AHCI: <flash drive name>", or "RAID:" if you are using RAID, choose that one instead and see what happens.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Feb 2016 at 12:37pm
Compliments of tenforums.com, follow the steps of Option 2 linked below to boot the sticks UEFI 10 installation. Nothing beats a graphical step-through.

http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/21756-usb-drive-boot-windows-10-a.html#option2

Post back after following that guide on just what happens there.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Feb 2016 at 12:23pm
PM'ing you.


Back to Top
jebutler3 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Feb 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jebutler3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Feb 2016 at 11:39am
Sorry.  I tried the link I copied and pasted, however it brought me to the same page you linked.
Sorry about that.

But if you select 4gb at the left and 1600, you'll see the one that I have. (in blue at the bottom)
Back to Top
jebutler3 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Feb 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jebutler3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Feb 2016 at 11:35am
Wardog,

I'm kinda confused on the RAM piece.  The link you had was for 8gb.  Here is the link for the 4gb that I have.  It shows the one that I have at the bottom. (blue in color)
http://www.kingston.com/us/memory/search/Default.aspx?DeviceType=7&Mfr=ASR&Line=Motherboard&Model=89019&DisPart=&Description=Kingston_ValueRam_Memory_HyperX_Memory_for_ASRock_Motherboard_Fatal1ty_990FX_Killer

As far as the BIOS piece, the board says 3.00.  I updated the BIOS when I first setup everything before trying to install Windows.  I was able to Instant Flash it.  The BIOS is currently at 3.40. 
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Feb 2016 at 9:46am
Well, in now knowing what memory it's looking like it's not compatible with your board. That p/n doesn't show up on the list below anyways. Not a good sign.

Nor does it show in ASRocks Memory QVL for the board.

http://www.kingston.com/us/memory/search/Default.aspx?DeviceType=7&Mfr=ASR&Line=Motherboard&Model=89019&DisPart=&Description=Kingston_ValueRam_Memory_HyperX_Memory_for_ASRock_Motherboard_Fatal1ty_990FX_Killer




Another possibility is maybe, just maybe, it's just a matter of somehow getting the BIOS updated to the latest. But you'll need at least one working and compatible stick for it to boot and then you can flash using.

Have a friend or co-worker you might be able to borrow memory from?



At the lower right of the motherboard, directly below the SATA ports, is your BIOS chip with a white sticker over it. So long as the board is new, not second hand, open boxed etc.... , what is printed on it is the BIOS it is running with. What is typed on the sticker?





Back to Top
jebutler3 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Feb 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jebutler3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Feb 2016 at 8:02am
The monitor is connected via the Blue VGA cable.  I am using a View Sonic monitor if that helps.  LOL
I also thought that this was an issue yesterday, so I tried my TV connected via my HDMI port.  Same issue with back screen and blinking cursor
 
The info on the memory is...
4GB DDR3 - 1600 CL10 240 -Pin
Hyper X is the brand
Part# HX316C10F/4

You are correct.  Not using a video card. Just using the iGPU.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 3.625 seconds.