ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X570 Taichi : can't install windows
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

X570 Taichi : can't install windows

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
Author
Message
Boomer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 Feb 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 185
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Boomer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2022 at 6:22am
Originally posted by FastFerdi FastFerdi wrote:

Hello,

I have the exact same problem. From my notes this is my way to get around it:

* Download latest chipset-driver from amd.com

* Download latest nic driver from intel.com

* Put both drivers on an usb-pendrive

* Before booting from install media, disable both Intel network devices in UEFI-setup

* Install Windows (I did from a german windows 10 21h2 iso with pro flavour)

* If you see the desktop for the first time, copy drives from pendrive to disc and install the chipset driver

* Shutdown with Shift key pressed (or disable fastboot)

* Pull network cable and pen-drive

* Boot computer, enter UEFI-setup and enable I211 network (I left wifi disabled because I didn't use it)

* Be relaxed and let the system boot. I might take a while and maybe a automatic reboot happens

* If you see the desktop next time install the nic-driver

* Be relaxed again. The system freezes and reboots automatically

* If you see the desktop next time plug network cable in and let windows install updates

Finish installation with proper graphics driver etc.

I my optinion the is a big problem with the Intel nic-driver delivered by Microsoft during installation process.

I'm glad my daily driver is Siduction and not Windows 10...

Cheers
Ferdi


I had a similar approach to the problem :)
Disabled LAN, installed Win10 + all drivers, enable LAN again.
It would take 1-2 failed boots & then i'm able to do what I want in Windows.
When trying to install the latest driver, windows indeed freezes and reboots.
So I left the old driver as-is.

I was thinking about loading the newest driver while installing Windows. When selecting which drive you want to install to, you can select that option in the bottom left corner.

Either way, I have found a number of users having this same problem (also an Asus user) and I don't understand how this hasn't been patched/solved yet.
For a motherboard I payed almost 380??for, I am unwilling to work like this or get a seperate NIC card.

I will be returning this board & going with another brand..
When I contact Asrock support over here (who swapped my first board for this one), they keep stating that i'm either installing windows wrong or that my cpu is faulty. But ignore the fact that the LAN controller is acting up
Back to Top
Boomer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 Feb 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 185
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Boomer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2022 at 6:24am
Originally posted by kerberos_20 kerberos_20 wrote:

i have same intel i211 and no issues with either win 10 or 11, both were installed multiple times as i have it from 2017

you could test if it happens with CSM enabled and with csm disabled, to see if its uefi related or not
go to bios, under boot page, scroll down to csm compatibility mode
csm disabled or PXE oprom set as uefi is same, both are default
change CSM to enabled (if not enabled already) and change PXE oprom to legacy, thats the network card


I have tried both options, with CSM disabled or enabled. Doesns't make a difference. I am even on the latest BIOS (the 4.65 Béta)
Back to Top
FastFerdi View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Feb 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FastFerdi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2022 at 11:34pm
Originally posted by kerberos_20 kerberos_20 wrote:

i have same intel i211 and no issues with either win 10 or 11, both were installed multiple times as i have it from 2017

you could test if it happens with CSM enabled and with csm disabled, to see if its uefi related or not
go to bios, under boot page, scroll down to csm compatibility mode
csm disabled or PXE oprom set as uefi is same, both are default
change CSM to enabled (if not enabled already) and change PXE oprom to legacy, thats the network card


Hello kerberos_20,

CSM and PXE are disabled. Sorry, I won't test other combinations because this is meanwhile my main system and I don't want to break it by accident. I lost one saturday of my lifetime to get it running. This might be the job of ASRock test engineers to make sure that the product is usable for common skilled customers and compatible with current operation systems. Less rgb and more quality!

Cheers
Ferdi
Back to Top
Boomer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 Feb 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 185
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Boomer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Feb 2022 at 4:56am
I have given up on this motherboard & will be buying another brand. I have spend too much time on this board being frustrated, while all of my other components are fine. I am not the only one with this exact problem on this board, and everybody ended up buying another brand.

OS installation should be straight forward and not as cumbersome like this. In my 20 years of building pc's this was the first time buying an Asrock bord & also the last time. I have never experienced these kind of problems with MSI or Gigabyte for example

Thank you for the help guys
Back to Top
ChadTerry View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 11 Feb 2023
Location: France
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ChadTerry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Feb 2023 at 10:24pm
Hey there. It can be really frustrating when things don't work as expected, especially when you've spent a lot of time and money on them. I'm glad to hear that you were able to find a solution by switching to a different brand.
Back to Top
ChadTerry View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 11 Feb 2023
Location: France
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ChadTerry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Feb 2023 at 6:15am
Originally posted by ChadTerry ChadTerry wrote:

Hey there. It can be really frustrating when things don't work as expected, especially when you've spent a lot of time and money on them. I'm glad to hear that you were able to find a solution by switching to a different brand.


And also, if you want to buy some cheap windows keys, search for them on this Reddit thread. I usually find the most reliable ones over there. It's always better to go for a reputable website. Best of luck with your new motherboard!
Back to Top
ps0 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Mar 2024
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ps0 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 5:38am
SOLVED. I had the same problem while installing Windows 10 from USB stick on R3900/Asrock X570 Taichi computer. The installer did not see the hard drive, and the error was ?a media driver your computer needs is missing?? I tried all options for BIOS settings, from secure boot to disabling peripheral devices - the same sh*t. As a result, updating the BIOS from version 3.8 to version 5.61L helped to solve the problem. The Windows installation after BIOS update went absolutely smoothly with the default BIOS settings.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.117 seconds.