ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - FM2A88X Extreme4+ A10-7860 freeze
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

FM2A88X Extreme4+ A10-7860 freeze

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
digithom View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Mar 2016
Location: Italy
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote digithom Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: FM2A88X Extreme4+ A10-7860 freeze
    Posted: 17 Mar 2016 at 5:20am
Hi all,

I have an A10-7860k on a FM2A88X Extreme4+ which freezes randomly, specially if the machine is in idle (no body using it).
I'm testing it with linux Mint 17.3.
Everything works fine replacing the CPU with a A10-7850k.
I've found the bios V2.6 installed in my motherboard and I've upgraded it to the 3.0 which is the only one supporting this new APU but the instability is the same.

What can I do ?

Bye,
Thomas.
Back to Top
digithom View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Mar 2016
Location: Italy
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote digithom Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Mar 2016 at 12:38am
Tested again today with bios V3.1, freezed in 11 minutes after boot.
Back to Top
digithom View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Mar 2016
Location: Italy
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote digithom Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Mar 2016 at 7:29pm
While I'm waiting for reply, I'm going on doing tests in order to go as close as possible to understand what precisely goes wrong with this cpu ...
Using Linux as O/S offers a lot of possibility and, since my machine freezes mainly when it stay in idle I configured the kernel in order to rise the idle frequency to the state P4 insted of the P5

    Pstate-Pb0: 4000MHz (boost state)
    Pstate-Pb1: 3800MHz (boost state)
    Pstate-P0:  3600MHz
    Pstate-P1:  3500MHz
    Pstate-P2:  3000MHz
    Pstate-P3:  2500MHz
    Pstate-P4:  1900MHz
    Pstate-P5:  1400MHz

Now I have this

analyzing CPU 0:
  driver: acpi-cpufreq
  CPUs which run at the same hardware frequency: 0
  CPUs which need to have their frequency coordinated by software: 0
  maximum transition latency: 4.0 us.
  hardware limits: 1.40 GHz - 3.60 GHz
  available frequency steps: 3.60 GHz, 3.50 GHz, 3.00 GHz, 2.50 GHz, 1.90 GHz, 1.40 GHz
  available cpufreq governors: conservative, ondemand, userspace, powersave, performance
  current policy: frequency should be within 1.90 GHz and 3.60 GHz.
                  The governor "ondemand" may decide which speed to use
                  within this range.
  current CPU frequency is 1.90 GHz (asserted by call to hardware).
  cpufreq stats: 3.60 GHz:8,70%, 3.50 GHz:0,07%, 3.00 GHz:0,42%, 2.50 GHz:1,29%, 1.90 GHz:88,97%, 1.40 GHz:0,55%  (122283)


Looking at the last line of this log, the 1.4 is practically never used.
Under this configuration, I have an uptime of 15 hours, so, I can say that it works in this condition.

I think there is definitely something wrong inside BIOS firmware that badly implements the P5 state for this specifi APU

Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Mar 2016 at 7:20am
DO(!) contact ASRock Tech Support at http://event.asrock.com/tsd.asp

The P States for the 7860, from what I have here documentation wise, do need tweaked for proper operation when dropping down to the lowest two P State freqs AND voltage wise.

A new BIOS to address the recently released 7860 is needed.
Back to Top
digithom View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Mar 2016
Location: Italy
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote digithom Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2016 at 6:49am
I did more test and logs and I realized that every time the system freezes the frequency is low but also the vcore is under 0.9v,so I started to study deeper the sleeps states of modern cpus up to the c6 sleep mode.
Playing again a little bit with all the possibilities I found that disabling the c6 mode the system becomes stable.
Running this way I can now say that inside this feature I can ha a stable system by only switch off the "c6 package" instead the whole c6.
This brings my computer to use only 40w in idle state.

Definitely, there is something wrong in the firmware concerning this APU
Back to Top
Král View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 May 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Král Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 2016 at 6:37am
I have the same problem CPU A10-7800 new bios 3.20
Cool And Quit off - improvement maybe
lifting offset cpu 0.1+ does not help - it's even worse
Help bios 3.2 sh*t. 
I am disgusted that I did not return the board within 14 days. 

And you can not set  2400mhz RAM DIMM1: Kingston HyperX KHX2400C11D3/4GX
THX King Czech Republic
Back to Top
digithom View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Mar 2016
Location: Italy
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote digithom Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 2016 at 6:11pm
I've contacted Asrock and after a few mail exchange, they provided me the 3.10B version.
At the time of writeing only the 3.10 was officially available on their website and when the 3.20 went out I upgraded my motherboard with the new one thinking that it was including my "special" feature but, my motherboard started again to freeze frequently.
I contacted again Asrock asking axplanatinons about this and they told me that my special 3.10B contains specific agesa code for my A10-7860k APU.
I don't know what to think ...
Nobody can delete my idea that the did something dirty simply to override C6 package selection inside the bios setting ...
If you wish to try, I can give you the 3.10B so you can see if it works with your A10-7800.
The result colud be very interesting :-)
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.128 seconds.