ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > HTPC&Gaming Barebone&Others
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - ASRock DeskMini X300 memory slot B1 issue
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

ASRock DeskMini X300 memory slot B1 issue

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
kraemer_sg View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Apr 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 80
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kraemer_sg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ASRock DeskMini X300 memory slot B1 issue
    Posted: 03 Apr 2022 at 5:05am
Hi,

my new ASRock X300 does not boot, when memory is installed in DDR4_B1. The power LED is not lid but the CPU fan spins.

When the DIMM is removed from the slot it boots perfectly.

I changed the configuration around (tried different DIMMS, tried, A1 and B1 only, ...) but the system only boots, when only A1 is loaded with a DIMM, the moment a DIMM is installed in B1, no booting.

COnfiguration:

AMD Athlon 3000G 2x 3.50GHz So.AM4 TRAY
ASRock DeskMini X300 (90BXG3T01-A10GA0W)
2 x 8GB Crucial DDR4-2666 SO-DIMM CL19 Single
500GB KIOXIA Exceria M.2 PCIe 3.0 x4 3D-NAND TLC (LRC10Z500GG8)
Noctua NH-L9a-AM4 Topblow Cooler

IS this a known issues or a hardware defect?

Thanks,
Stefan
Back to Top
threadzipper1957 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 2370
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote threadzipper1957 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Apr 2022 at 7:36pm
Hi Stefan,

The memory controller is integrated in the CPU, so there is a direct link between pins of the CPU, and contacts in the memory slot.

One important thing, did you buy 2 separate modules, or a kit of 2?
In a kit, chips on the memory, are produced in the same batch, so identical, with 2 separate modules it can be different.
But from what you write, I understand, that only 1 module in B1 is also not working.
It is not really clear if you tried only B1, and tested with both modules.
It does seem hardware related, but first test each slot individual with 1 module
My guess would be a defective CPU, or maybe a bent pin on the CPU.
If both have been purchased from the same dealer, return the both, so they can test
Kind Regards
Back to Top
kraemer_sg View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Apr 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 80
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kraemer_sg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Apr 2022 at 4:28pm
Hi, thanks for the answer. Here is what I tried:

* Both memory modules separately in A1 -> System works
* Both memory modules separately in B1 -> System does not boot, LED off
* Both memory modules in both slots, both ways (two possibilities) -> System does not boot, LED off

Unfortunately, I can't test the components in a different system and X300 cannot be bought anywhere at the moment.

What I will try:

I will take the system apart again and re-assemble to see if that helps. If not, I will run it with one DIMM, as we need the system and wait for the X300 to be available again and buy a second one to check the components.

In the meantime, I bought a 16 GB DIMM to use in A1 to run the system with sufficient memory.

Warranty has not run out yet, so I can wait for a few weeks, return time has run out, as I bought the system in January but only now had the time to assemble it.

I'll keep you posted.

Stefan
Back to Top
threadzipper1957 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 2370
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote threadzipper1957 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Apr 2022 at 5:52pm
Hi Stefan,

Retrun period has expired maybe, but in EU, warranty is always between seller and buyer, so maybe the seller still has a replacement.
Did you try, to disconenct the powersupply, then press the start button for 30 or so seconds, after that short circuit the ClrCMOS pins (Nr. 2 in the online PDF manual)
Kind Regards
Back to Top
kraemer_sg View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Apr 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 80
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kraemer_sg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Apr 2022 at 6:08pm
Hi,

I haven't tried that yet, but it is good advice that I will try.
Back to Top
threadzipper1957 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 05 Mar 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 2370
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote threadzipper1957 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Apr 2022 at 7:48pm
Maybe it would be best, to use the support form
https://event.asrock.com/tsd.asp?ln=en
Depending on language and country, the ticket is forwarded to support in USA, Taiwan, or The Netherlands
Kind Regards
Back to Top
kraemer_sg View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Apr 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 80
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kraemer_sg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Apr 2022 at 1:03am
I used the support and received a very similar answer.
Back to Top
kraemer_sg View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Apr 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 80
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kraemer_sg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Apr 2022 at 2:09am
I took the mashine apart completely and put it back together: I found no obvious problems, but B1 is still broken...
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 12823
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Apr 2022 at 1:10pm
Have you checked for any bent/missing pins on the CPU? If even a single pin is
missing it could easily account for the faulty/missing B channel. As Threadzipper
mentioned, the IMC is on the CPU. Each channel will have it's own separate path
from the CPU to the motherboard, if one of these is not connected then it explains
the issue.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.109 seconds.