ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Can Taichi x399 handle a 32GB sized Ram Stick£
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Can Taichi x399 handle a 32GB sized Ram Stick£

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
90sWebDev View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 May 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 90sWebDev Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Can Taichi x399 handle a 32GB sized Ram Stick£
    Posted: 12 May 2022 at 5:53am
I looked all over the internet and I can't find the answer.

I have Taichi x399 motherboard with AMD Threadripper 1950x.

Taichi x399 motherboard supports max of 128GB of Ram.
Taichi x399 motherboard has 8 Dimm slots.
But how big can each ram stick be? Is the max 16GB dimms?

I'm trying to max out the ram to the maximum 128 GB limit. Should I go with 8 sticks of 16 GB each, 8x16=128, or 4 sticks of 32 GB each, 4x32=128.

Thank you so much!
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22208
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2022 at 1:36pm
http://event.asrock.tsd.com/

Ask ASRock Tech Support if the RAM you are considering will work in the config
you intend to use. More often than not, if they have the kit you are considering
in their lab, they will test it with your board model for you.

Be sure to list a model number for the kit you are considering. It may well be
possible to install 256gb of RAM on your board, 32gb RAM modules did not exist
when the board was released.
Back to Top
90sWebDev View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 May 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 90sWebDev Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 May 2022 at 6:04pm
They got back to me, they said no. The maximum sized RAM stick is 16GB for the Taichi x399 regardless of bios updates.

So future readers know. NO you cannot put 32 GB sized RAM sticks in this motherboard. 16GB sized sticks and below only.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22208
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 May 2022 at 6:51am
Thanks for sharing the info
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 3627
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:42pm
looking at bios programing papers for zen 1, there is reserved space for DRAM adress mapping, since 3 bits are there reserved for future, cant you just add it? or it needs support from amd first?

page372https://www.amd.com/system/files/TechDocs/55072_AMD_Family_15h_Models_70h-7Fh_BKDG.pdf

Edited by kerberos_20 - 15 May 2022 at 1:05pm
Back to Top
nunya View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 19 Jan 2023
Location: unknown
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote nunya Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jan 2023 at 2:50am
I have the Tai Chi X399

I am getting 192gb, but should really have 256gb.

8X32gb HyperX 3600, but the A channel isn't registering.

updated BIOS to 3.92.

Not sure why the A channel slots aren't showing.
When I had 128, the A channel would randomly drop, so I would have 96gb.
Then stacked another 128gb in the other slots to test.

Anyone have any thoughts on getting all 4 channels up and running, or why they wouldn't?

2950X
Linux
NB
Back to Top
eccential View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 10 Oct 2022
Location: Nevada
Status: Offline
Points: 3995
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote eccential Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jan 2023 at 3:31am
"They got back to me, they said no. The maximum sized RAM stick is 16GB for the Taichi x399 regardless of bios updates." <- I call BS on that. If that were true, nunya wouldn't be able to see 192GB/256GB.

As for one of the memory channels not behaving, that is a common issue caused by bad contacts between CPU pads and motherboard socket "gold fingers." Obviously, it's more of an issue with LGA (Land-Grid-Array) CPUs like most Intel, ThreadRippers, and Zen4 Ryzens.

I would try re-seating the CPU, and maybe cleaning the CPU pads with something like CRC electronic cleaner.

I would also inspect motherboard socket to see if any "gold fingers" are broken/bent. NEVER touch them, though, unless you know exactly what you're doing.

There are 4094 fingers in TR4 socket! It's amazing the thing even works! I've seen some videos where just re-seating allowed it to work better.
Back to Top
SerchTech View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 16 Oct 2022
Location: Spain
Status: Offline
Points: 1305
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote SerchTech Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jan 2023 at 5:51am
Originally posted by nunya nunya wrote:



I am getting 192gb, but should really have 256gb.


Thanks for sharing this!!

Originally posted by eccential eccential wrote:

"They got back to me, they said no. The maximum sized RAM stick is 16GB for the Taichi x399 regardless of bios updates." <- I call BS on that. If that were true, nunya wouldn't be able to see 192GB/256GB.

As for one of the memory channels not behaving, that is a common issue caused by bad contacts between CPU pads and motherboard socket "gold fingers." Obviously, it's more of an issue with LGA (Land-Grid-Array) CPUs like most Intel, ThreadRippers, and Zen4 Ryzens.

I would try re-seating the CPU, and maybe cleaning the CPU pads with something like CRC electronic cleaner.

I would also inspect motherboard socket to see if any "gold fingers" are broken/bent. NEVER touch them, though, unless you know exactly what you're doing.

There are 4094 fingers in TR4 socket! It's amazing the thing even works! I've seen some videos where just re-seating allowed it to work better.


Agree, I had a bad experience with a bent pin on the socket, it didn't recognize 1 of my DDR4 modules (can't remember which DIMM it was).

Re-seating the bent pin was not easy for me, I did it with a needle and using the zoom of my Canon EOS 1200D.

Being honest I was lucky, without the means or experience it could have been worse.

In the event that this is the problem, you should consider whether to do it yourself or trust a specialist.

Good luck
X399 Taichi (4.03)
Threadripper 2950X
DDR4 2 x HX432C16FB3K2/32
Samsung 970 EVO Plus x 3
RTX 4080 FE
RM1000x
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22208
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jan 2023 at 6:42pm
192gb means that 2 of the 32gb sticks are not recognized, a single channel. If you
have smaller capacity modules to try with, see if you get all 4 channels with those.

If it's a dead/intermittent channel (likely need to reseat the CPU) you should
be able to get all 256gb to work. Make sure your retention bolts are evenly tightened.

As for ASRock saying you can't use 32gb
modules, it's likely that they haven't tested enough of them to say yes with
any kind of confidence. In a world where people can sue over anything you have
to be careful what you say in situations like this. Fortunately, that's what
forums like this are for. We can test things ourselves and others can benefit
from the information.
Back to Top
Logg View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Sep 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Logg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Sep 2023 at 3:34pm
On my X399M Taichi motherboard, I had good luck with 4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4 3600 sticks (CMK64GX4M2D3600C18) underclocked to 3400 MHz.
It can't achieve 3600 MHz I don't think, but I'm pleased with the performance & stability with the modest underclock. It can achieve 128 GB.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.156 seconds.