ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Please suggest RAM for z97 pro4
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Please suggest RAM for z97 pro4

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 7>
Author
Message
car313 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jun 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 32
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote car313 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 2015 at 12:22am
thnx Xalter and parsec,
i am so glad to read your reassuring replies!
i want to put this thing behind us.

no offence meant and none intended!

regards
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22253
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 2015 at 1:41am
You didn't offend anyone Car313 its all good Big smile

I think Parsec and I both just ranted a little in reference to articles like the one you linked, not at you Wink

Back to Top
car313 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jun 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 32
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote car313 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 2015 at 9:42pm
dear Xalter
g.skill ripjawsx ddr3 16gb (2 x 8gb) 1600 mhz pc dram (f3-12800cl10d-16gbxl) is not listed in the memory support list page for asrock z97 pro4, but the g.skill site (after using their ram configurator) for asrock z97 pro4, lists this kit as compatible. this kit is available, while most of the other 1600 mhz modules are not available online.

i am slightly confused.

why does the asrock z97 pro4 page not list this kit? and the g.skill website does? anything here?

please do not take me to be paranoid. to be frank, i am quite a bit jittery. until the system actually boots, i suppose i will have to go through this tension.

by the way, i discovered that shopping for ram modules is anything but smooth. most other components are simpler to order. especially if i am checking and cross checking the available modules against the memory support list page.

regards


Edited by car313 - 16 Jun 2015 at 9:44pm
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22253
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 2015 at 10:02pm
RAM is definitely a pain to decide on these days Dead

The reason that it is listed by G.Skill and not Asrock is because the RAM was either made after the board was released (these lists are not often updated by motherboard manufacturers) or that RAM was not tested with your board by Asrock. No manufacturer tests every possible RAM brand and model, the testing alone would take months if not longer given the number of products out there.

The most reliable compatibility listings you will find will be from the RAM's product page as it is easier to test your particular RAM model on a number of motherboards than every brand of RAM on every motherboard. RAM testing is made even easier for RAM manufacturers by the fact that if it works on 1 Asrock H97 model (for example) it will most likely work on all Asrock H97 variants with similar specs.

Basically if the RAM has a compatible listing for your board, on Asrock's product page or the RAM's product page then it will work fine.
Back to Top
car313 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jun 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 32
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote car313 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 2015 at 11:34pm
thnx Xalter!
Back to Top
car313 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jun 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 32
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote car313 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jul 2015 at 9:54pm
dear xalter,
i tried very hard to hunt down a thermaltake versa h25.
but i could not lay my hands on one.

things i have in hand:
2 x 8 gb ram
z97 pro4
geforce 750 ti 2 gb graphics card
seagate hdd
seasonic 430 watts psu
dvd drive

things i need to have in hand
xeon e3 1246 v3
computer cabinet.

this issue is with the cabinet. could you kindly suggest something in lieu of the thermaltake versa h25? (which i am unable to find online in india. i can buy it from the us, but that adds a big shipping cost).

corsair, antec and coolermaster brands are available. could you kindly help me (again) with your advice? i mean suggest something from corsair, antec or coolermaster that will be compatible with my other components?

thanks in advance!
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22253
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jul 2015 at 11:12pm
Hey Car313, its nice to hear from you again Smile

Don't worry too much about the case, any case that isn't a "budget" case will do fine for your needs. All the brands you listed are good, just be sure to get a medium tower with lots of room inside and at least 2 fans included (one intake and one outlet). 

The parts you have in hand are all perfect for your needs, as soon as you have everything in hand we can get started helping you with the build itself Smile
Back to Top
car313 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jun 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 32
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote car313 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 2015 at 11:35am
dear xalter
"cooler master n200 advanced" is available "ready for dispatch". it has 1 front fan and 1 rear fan. included.

it is not great looking, but absolutely does not matter, as long as it gets the job done.

shall i go for it?

thnx for your quick and unstinting help! i am already feeling very confident :)
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22253
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 2015 at 12:29pm
That case will be perfect Car313, so long as it isn't too expensive for your budget Wink
Back to Top
car313 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jun 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 32
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote car313 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Aug 2015 at 10:59am
dear xalter,
i am sorry about my long silence. after quite a long back and forth with the cabinet seller, i got my computer case. actually he first sent me a dented and twisted case. then i had to return it and it took me all these days to get a replacement.

first thing - i successfully put together the whole thing yesterday.

it even boots up and beeps and i can get into the bios and i went through the various screens/pages. so far so good.

now the bad news. 

the system keeps rebooting by itself after at the most three to five minutes of switching it on. after its first rebooting it then keeps repeating almost continuously.

i noticed that when i press the power button, the cpu fan starts, spins for a second and then stops and then restarts spinning. i do not know if that is normal.

i removed the cpu heat sink, cleaned the surfaces of the processor as well as the heatsink, applied thermal paste and then tried to boot it. but the same thing keeps repeating.

i am quite worried. my hope is that i haven't damaged anything.

it would be very nice to hear from you again!
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 7>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.