ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - System freezing post 2nd GPU ASRock B550 Gaming
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

System freezing post 2nd GPU ASRock B550 Gaming

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Message
Cobbleybabbins View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 10 Aug 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 170
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cobbleybabbins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Aug 2022 at 12:55pm
Thanks, I think it's straight, conflict with Realtek or AMD onboard sound. I am pretty sure it's straight, disabled onboard sound and system has stabilized. Fingers crossed it stays that way.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 14253
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Aug 2022 at 7:06pm
Glad to hear you got it stable. Driver/resource conflicts can be a real pain.
Luckily it's a lot better these days than it used to be

Edited by Xaltar - 20 Aug 2022 at 7:07pm
Back to Top
Cobbleybabbins View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 10 Aug 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 170
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cobbleybabbins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Aug 2022 at 6:52pm
As a Linux user since the 90's I will absolutely concur, it has gotten better. ??
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 14253
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Aug 2022 at 12:58am
Setting up Red Hat on servers in the 90's was a real treat
The days of manually setting IRQs and DMA etc with jumpers, then you didn't know
if the issue you were having was a bad driver or a jumper you missed...

Worse still, updating your BIOS via the internet wasn't a thing either, particularly
on dialup

Edited by Xaltar - 22 Aug 2022 at 12:59am
Back to Top
Cobbleybabbins View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 10 Aug 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 170
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cobbleybabbins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Aug 2022 at 10:29am
First install was a 486 laptop, downloaded over a 14.4k connection onto floppy. Slackware 2.0. One disk was corrupt, redownload whole set about 4x. Got it running eventually. Fun times, but glad they have improved.

https://www.recycledgoods.com/toshiba-pa1171u-t2a-satellite-t1960ct-320-486-laptop-computer/
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.