ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - 2950x+ x399 fatal1ty +64gb Trident No Boot 4 stick
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

2950x+ x399 fatal1ty +64gb Trident No Boot 4 stick

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
blob42 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Oct 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 50
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote blob42 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 2950x+ x399 fatal1ty +64gb Trident No Boot 4 stick
    Posted: 07 Oct 2022 at 9:24am
CPU: AMD ThreadRipper 2950x
Motherboard: Fatal1ty X399 Professional GamingL
RAM New: Trident Z Neo G.Skill F4-3600C16Q-64GTZNC
RAM previous: 32GB 4x8 Corsair Vengeance LPX @2133
GPU: Nvidia GT710
Bios: 3.80

Hi all,

Quick Summary:

I have a weird issue booting with the RAM kit Trident Z Neo G.Skill F4-3600C16Q-64GTZNC, it's a quad 64GB kit. At first after installing the kit everthing worked fine for a few hours. Then at some point after quitting a memtest86 and doing a new cold boot I could not get it to POST anymore and it gets stuck in 3F error and reboot loop. This problem only happens when I try to boot on 4 sticks, if I remove one stick it boots without problems. I used the recommended slots for the sticks A2,B2,C2,D2

If I put back my previous ram kit everything works fine. It's a corsair vengenace LPX running @2113MHz.

The weird part:

- At first the whole kit worked fine, I enabled the XMP profile and I started it at 3500 and testing some real workload like compilation jobs which where just a bit unstable. I started lowering the frequencies until around 3400 where it felt stable under realistic load with multiple CPU heavy tasks. I then started a memtest86, I enabled SMP (multicore) mode on the memtest and I'm not sure if I did well.

- I left the test to run and came back later to see a lot of errors so I stopped the test, which I think made the machine do a new cold boot. After this I could not anymore boot on the 4 sticks ever, except one weird case. Everytime it tries to boot on 4 sticks it is stuck on boot loop.

I know that this kit is not on the official QVL list abut I also found this post that has a very similar issue and hardware setup but I don't have a big GPU, I am just running a small passive cooled NVIDIA card since this is a workstation/server setup.

So I tried many things (see below) and it didn't make sense to me that it worked first then stopped working. I didn't do anything funny with voltages, just applied XMP profiles and went on lowering frequencies. Why did it work first ? I can even confirm that it was running XMP profile at around 3500 since I did RAM benchmarks before and after and I can see a huge difference in results. I was thinking about the reasons that could have made it work first and the only thing that made sense to me is that I was running a different RAM kit before (32GB 8x4 corsair LPX 2133) and maybe the board rememberd some settings which it tried to apply. So I tried adding one stick from my previous kit with the 4 Trident GSKILL sticks to see if it boots. And you guessed it, it boots without errors but the ram is detected in single channel mode @2133 1.2v and memtest fails on some regions of the ram which is normal I guess from such a mix.

What I tried so far:
- Resetting the CMOS
- Switching the C2 D2 slots
- Switching the whole kit to A1 B1 C1 D1
- I can get it to boot on 1,2 or 3 sticks but not 4 sticks
- I can get it to boot on 5 sticks (4 trident Z sticks ) + 1 stick from corsair LPX 2133

So I cannot boot the 4 sticks TridentZ but if I add an extra stick from my previous ram it boots and detects all the modules in single channel mode and the RAM does not pass the memtest.

Now I am back running on my previous RAM kit for which I rerun a memtest to make sure I don't have a hardware issue on the board or the memory controller. The memtest passes without problem on my previous kit.

I am now thinking to sell the Trident Z it but as I understood it is supposed to be well optimized for Ryzen/Threadrippers so I want to be sure there is nothing else I can do to make this new kit boot "again". Is it worth my effort to make this kit work or should I just order a new one that is listed on the QVL of the RAM websites ? I am fine to run it at lower frequenices I know that quad channel on Threadripper and x399 will be limited to max around 3200 or less.
Back to Top
blob42 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Oct 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 50
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote blob42 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Nov 2022 at 8:30am
does anyone have any advise on how I could make the 4 sticks boot even at stock speeds ?
Back to Top
SerchTech View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 16 Oct 2022
Location: Spain
Status: Offline
Points: 125
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SerchTech Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Nov 2022 at 5:40pm

Hi


I can't help you about your Trident Z, bought 2 x HX432C16FB3K2/32 (Kingston HyperX 64GB) running at 3200Mhz like a charm with XMP enabled in BIOS and not included in QVL, perfect to avoid wasting time about stable RAM.

If some day AMD would have glimmer of ethics releasing a new AGESA version for X399 to finish the job decently may your Trindent Z works better but unfortunately for X399 owners looks like it's not going to happen.

ASRock haven't even released a new BIOS version to support by default Windows 11 so the contempt for X399 owners is total.

In conclusion, I would recommend you sell your Triden Z and buy, new or used, DDR4 at 3200Mhz CL16 and don't worry if not included in QVL, main brands usually works well if 4 sticks are identical.


Kind regards
X399 Taichi | TR 2950X | 64GB HyperX 3200Mhz | 2 x RTX 3060
Back to Top
blob42 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Oct 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 50
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote blob42 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Nov 2022 at 6:40am
Thank you very much for the advise, that's what I will do.

So just to confirm I should not limit my choice to quad kit only and can just take a 2x dual kit ?



best regards
Back to Top
SerchTech View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 16 Oct 2022
Location: Spain
Status: Offline
Points: 125
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SerchTech Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Nov 2022 at 8:58pm
I remember bought 4 modules of HyperX HX424C15FB/16 separately, 2 with Micron chip and 2 with Hynix chip, they worked perfectly together with 1st, 2nd and 3rd Ryzen gen.

I would say yes, you can buy in 2x format if brand and PN (Part Number) match.


A pleasure try to help you :)
X399 Taichi | TR 2950X | 64GB HyperX 3200Mhz | 2 x RTX 3060
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.109 seconds.