ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Dual Channel Memory issues with Z790 Steel Legend
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Dual Channel Memory issues with Z790 Steel Legend

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
plaguedemorte View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Dec 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 65
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote plaguedemorte Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Dual Channel Memory issues with Z790 Steel Legend
    Posted: 08 Dec 2022 at 10:27am
Hi,

I'm having issues with support for Corsair Vengeance DD5 RAM with my Z790 Steel Legend WiFi. I've tried everything at this point. I have the latest (as of today) 4.01 version BIOS released on 2022/12/6. Currently my problem is when I try to run dual channel using the following RAM:

Corsair Vengeance DDR5 64GB (2x32GB) 5200MHz
OR
CORSAIR Vengeance DDR5 32GB (2x16GB) DDR5 5600 (PC5-44800)

I'm trying to just use either pair in dual channel mode. Currently the motherboard downsteps each stick to 3600mhz in single mode. Single mode currently is the only mode that works for me. I've tried slots A1/B1, A2/B2 combinations with no success.

I've been hoping for a BIOS update to fix this but it doesn't seem to work. Anyone encounter this and have any success? I feel like this is compatibility issue at this point.
Back to Top
plaguedemorte View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Dec 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 65
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote plaguedemorte Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2022 at 11:38am
Here is my system information. Currently using i9-13900KF with ASRock Z790 motherboard. RAM is Micron CMK64GX5M2B5200C40 DDR5-5200 (Corsair). Currently I can only get the two sticks to work in single channel mode and not dual channel.



DMI Processor          
     manufacturer          Intel(R) Corporation
     model               13th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-13900KF
     clock speed          2970.0 MHz
     FSB speed          100.0 MHz
     multiplier          29.5x
     max clock speed          8500.0 MHz

Chipset
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Northbridge               Intel Raptor Lake rev. 01
Southbridge               Intel Z790 rev. 11
Bus Specification          PCI-Express 5.0 (32.0 GT/s)
Graphic Interface          PCI-Express 4.0
PCI-E Link Width          x16 (max 16x)
PCI-E Link Speed          16.0 GT/s (max 16.0 GT/s)
Memory Type               DDR5
Memory Size               64 GBytes
Channels               2 x 32-bit
Memory Frequency          1795.6 MHz (1:18)
Memory Max Frequency          3733.3 MHz
CAS# latency (CL)          30.0
RAS# to CAS# delay (tRCD)     30
RAS# Precharge (tRP)          30
Cycle Time (tRAS)          57
Bank Cycle Time (tRC)          87
Row Refresh Cycle Time (tRFC)     287
Command Rate (CR)          2T
Uncore Frequency          4588.8 MHz
Memory Controller Frequency     897.8 MHz
Host Bridge               0xA700



DIMM #                    1
     SMBus address          0x50
     Memory type          DDR5
     Module format          UDIMM
     Module Manufacturer(ID)     Corsair (7F7F9E0000000000000000000000)
     SDRAM Manufacturer (ID)     Micron Technology (2C00000000000000000000000000)
     Size               32768 MBytes
     Max bandwidth          DDR5-5200 (2600 MHz)
     Max JEDEC          DDR5-4800 (2400 MHz)
     Channels          2
     Part number          CMK64GX5M2B5200C40
     Manufacturing date     Week 45/Year 22
     Nominal Voltage          1.10 Volts
     EPP               no
     XMP               yes, rev. 3.0
     AMP               no
     EXPO               no
JEDEC timings table          CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-tRC @ frequency
     JEDEC #1          22.0-23-23-43-65 @ 1333 MHz
     JEDEC #2          28.0-28-28-54-82 @ 1666 MHz
     JEDEC #3          30.0-30-30-58-88 @ 1800 MHz
     JEDEC #4          32.0-33-33-62-95 @ 1933 MHz
     JEDEC #5          36.0-37-37-70-106 @ 2166 MHz
     JEDEC #6          40.0-40-40-77-117 @ 2400 MHz
     JEDEC #7          42.0-40-40-77-117 @ 2400 MHz
XMP profile               XMP-5200
     Specification          Profile 1
     VDD Voltage          1.250 Volts
     VDDQ Voltage          1.250 Volts
     VPP Voltage          1.800 Volts
     Memory Controller Volt.     1.200 Volts
     Min Cycle time          0.384 ns (2600 MHz)
     Max CL               40.0
     Min tRP               15.36 ns
     Min tRCD          15.36 ns
     Min tRAS          29.57 ns
     Min tRC               44.93 ns
XMP timings table          CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-tRC-CR @ frequency (voltage)
     XMP #1               22.0-22-22-43-65-n.a @ 1432 MHz (1.250 Volts)
     XMP #2               26.0-26-26-51-77-n.a @ 1692 MHz (1.250 Volts)
     XMP #3               28.0-28-28-54-82-n.a @ 1822 MHz (1.250 Volts)
     XMP #4               30.0-31-31-58-88-n.a @ 1953 MHz (1.250 Volts)
     XMP #5               32.0-33-33-62-94-n.a @ 2083 MHz (1.250 Volts)
     XMP #6               36.0-36-36-70-106-n.a @ 2343 MHz (1.250 Volts)
     XMP #7               40.0-40-40-77-117-n.a @ 2600 MHz (1.250 Volts)
     XMP #8               42.0-40-40-77-117-n.a @ 2600 MHz (1.250 Volts)
     XMP #9               46.0-40-40-77-117-n.a @ 2600 MHz (1.250 Volts)



DIMM #                    2
     SMBus address          0x51
     Memory type          DDR5
     Module format          UDIMM
     Module Manufacturer(ID)     Corsair (7F7F9E0000000000000000000000)
     SDRAM Manufacturer (ID)     Micron Technology (2C00000000000000000000000000)
     Size               32768 MBytes
     Max bandwidth          DDR5-5200 (2600 MHz)
     Max JEDEC          DDR5-4800 (2400 MHz)
     Channels          2
     Part number          CMK64GX5M2B5200C40
     Manufacturing date     Week 45/Year 22
     Nominal Voltage          1.10 Volts
     EPP               no
     XMP               yes, rev. 3.0
     AMP               no
     EXPO               no
JEDEC timings table          CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-tRC @ frequency
     JEDEC #1          22.0-23-23-43-65 @ 1333 MHz
     JEDEC #2          28.0-28-28-54-82 @ 1666 MHz
     JEDEC #3          30.0-30-30-58-88 @ 1800 MHz
     JEDEC #4          32.0-33-33-62-95 @ 1933 MHz
     JEDEC #5          36.0-37-37-70-106 @ 2166 MHz
     JEDEC #6          40.0-40-40-77-117 @ 2400 MHz
     JEDEC #7          42.0-40-40-77-117 @ 2400 MHz
XMP profile               XMP-5200
     Specification          Profile 1
     VDD Voltage          1.250 Volts
     VDDQ Voltage          1.250 Volts
     VPP Voltage          1.800 Volts
     Memory Controller Volt.     1.200 Volts
     Min Cycle time          0.384 ns (2600 MHz)
     Max CL               40.0
     Min tRP               15.36 ns
     Min tRCD          15.36 ns
     Min tRAS          29.57 ns
     Min tRC               44.93 ns
XMP timings table          CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-tRC-CR @ frequency (voltage)
     XMP #1               22.0-22-22-43-65-n.a @ 1432 MHz (1.250 Volts)
     XMP #2               26.0-26-26-51-77-n.a @ 1692 MHz (1.250 Volts)
     XMP #3               28.0-28-28-54-82-n.a @ 1822 MHz (1.250 Volts)
     XMP #4               30.0-31-31-58-88-n.a @ 1953 MHz (1.250 Volts)
     XMP #5               32.0-33-33-62-94-n.a @ 2083 MHz (1.250 Volts)
     XMP #6               36.0-36-36-70-106-n.a @ 2343 MHz (1.250 Volts)
     XMP #7               40.0-40-40-77-117-n.a @ 2600 MHz (1.250 Volts)
     XMP #8               42.0-40-40-77-117-n.a @ 2600 MHz (1.250 Volts)
     XMP #9               46.0-40-40-77-117-n.a @ 2600 MHz (1.250 Volts)
Back to Top
savi01 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Dec 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote savi01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Dec 2022 at 1:30pm
I'm having the same problem, but with GSkill RAM. Individually each stick works in the A2 slot, but using A2/B2 together prevents post'ing. Any update?
Back to Top
plaguedemorte View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Dec 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 65
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote plaguedemorte Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Dec 2022 at 2:51pm
Still having the same issue. Trying to use the RAM in A1,B1 or A2,B2 results in no POST. Using the latest BIOS also v4.01.
Back to Top
Militaryfool280 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Dec 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Militaryfool280 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Dec 2022 at 2:48am
Was having the same issues with Corsair's Dominators 32gb..

But placed both in b1 and b2 and got the PC to boot.

When I checked in task manager said that had 32gb of ram available and 2 of 4 channels were in use.
Back to Top
plaguedemorte View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Dec 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 65
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote plaguedemorte Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Dec 2022 at 4:28am
I'm currently using BIOS version 5.02 (2022/12/22) and still experiencing problems.
Back to Top
jmcdevi3 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Jan 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jmcdevi3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jan 2023 at 3:23am
I?m having the same issue on Z790 PG Riptide, will boot with one stick of Corsair DDR5-5600 in slot B2, or two sticks in B1 and B2 (single channel) but if I put one in A2 and one in B2 it won?t post and the DRAM light is red. After it fails to post and I remove one stick and reboot the speed is dropped to 3600. I?ve updated BiOS to 4.13, and tried with XMP profile enabled.

Seems like a lot of ASRock Z790 boards are having memory issues?

Intel i7-13700KF
Corsair 2 x 16GB DDR5-5600
Z790 PG Riptide
Back to Top
Les View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Dec 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 28
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Les Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jan 2023 at 3:00am
EXACTLY SAME PROBLEM! on new Z790 Taichi with i5-13600K CPU with both Corsair DDR5-5200 Plat Dom 64GB and Corsair DDR5-5600 Plat Dom 32GB which is brand new.

Nothing will work in A slots whatsoever which means A1-B1 or A2-B2 (Dual Channel) will not work. I can only get all to work in B1-B2 and then can get it to work at proper speed.

I have tried removing and reseating the CPU and also upgrading to latest BIOS.

Very very frustrating and obviously not alone here.

UPDATE: Just tried Kingston Fury 7200 16GB same issue and then moved all over to my other machine and this is not the memories fault.I am also going to believe its not the CPU as there are no CPU error messages and everything works fine (in single mode) with ANY memory in B1-B2.

What kind of a performance hit would that be?

FURTHER UPDATE: Just tried things with my i9-12900K CPU and same problem exists.

THIS IS A MOTHERBOARD ISSUE
Back to Top
jmcdevi3 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Jan 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jmcdevi3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jan 2023 at 3:41am
Unfortunately, after all known troubleshooting efforts I ultimately RMA?d the Z790 Riptide and got an ASUS board instead, booted up first try with same CPU and RAM in dual channel, no issues.
Back to Top
crn1710 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Feb 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote crn1710 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Feb 2023 at 12:15am
Just registered to post this:

I've got almost the same issues with the Z790 Steel Legend WiFi.
I can boot into Windows just fine but after ~10 minutes I get constant c0000005 errors with apps and games just exiting to desktop and even BSOD.
Unable to install DirectX Runtimes for some reason.
Unable to install ANY Nvidia driver, old or new.
RAM is 2x G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB (F5-6000J3636F16GX2-TZ5K), which is said to be supported by this MB. So I said ... let's buy 32GB of the same RAM, maybe mine is broken .
Brand new RAM (same make) and guess what - it still doesn't work.
Asrock support told me to RMA to my dealer.
Dealer said it'll take 4-6 weeks and they cannot replace the MB.

Bought an ASUS now. Works like a charm.

No more ASRock for me.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.