ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - How to enable eco mode on Asrock 670E Taichi£
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

How to enable eco mode on Asrock 670E Taichi£

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
shmerl View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 612
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: How to enable eco mode on Asrock 670E Taichi£
    Posted: 17 Jul 2023 at 2:22pm
I have AMD Ryzen 9 7950X with Asrock 670E Taichi. Supposedly there is a way to use the 105 W eco mode for the processor, but I couldn't find such option. How can it be enabled?
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 612
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2023 at 2:51pm
I found a suggestion to manually set PBO limits like this:

PPT Limit: 142000
TDC Limit: 110000
EDC Limit: 170000

This matches what Gamers Nexus video described for 105 W eco mode. I'll give it a try, but it would be nice to have a simple preset like that in the UEFI.
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 612
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jul 2023 at 11:39am
If anyone needs, I found it after exploring various options. It's in:

Advanced > AMD CBS > SMU Common Options > Eco Mode.
Back to Top
M440 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12 Jul 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 1915
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote M440 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jul 2023 at 2:44pm
Originally posted by shmerl shmerl wrote:

If anyone needs, I found it after exploring various options. It's in:

Advanced > AMD CBS > SMU Common Options > Eco Mode.


you can see the option PPT Limit is in [mW] so setting it to 105000 is 105watt limit
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 612
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jul 2023 at 11:25pm
I think that's incorrect. That 105 is not equal to PPT limit. See Gamers Nexus video about eco mode, they show the table for it.
Back to Top
M440 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12 Jul 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 1915
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote M440 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 2023 at 12:40am
Originally posted by shmerl shmerl wrote:

I think that's incorrect. That 105 is not equal to PPT limit. See Gamers Nexus video about eco mode, they show the table for it.


is it in [mW] miliwatt units? if it's in miliwatts than it is a wattage limit.
asrock b650m/hdv.m2, ryzen 7700x@85watt
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 612
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 2023 at 10:14am
The actual ppt is in milliwatts, yes. But that's not equal eco modes like 105 W * 1000 or 65 W * 1000. That's what I'm saying.

Like PPT for 105 W eco mode for example is 142000 mW.
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 612
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 2023 at 10:15am
That's because those 105 and 65 are not realistic values of power, but some weird formulas. See that video by Gamers Nexus if you want more details.
Back to Top
shmerl View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 23 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 612
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shmerl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 2023 at 10:20am
Also, if you are setting it manually, setting PPT alone is not enough. You also need to set TDC and EDC.

I think that single toggle I found in the later post simply sets all 3 to those defined values I posted above.
Back to Top
M440 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12 Jul 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 1915
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote M440 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 2023 at 3:19pm
PPT - power package tracking - [miliwatt]

you can track it after you set it in hwinfo - CPU PTT [W] field

you can leave the other settings at 0,

i'm not watching no video
asrock b650m/hdv.m2, ryzen 7700x@85watt
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.189 seconds.