ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X299 Taichi XE bios bug
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

X299 Taichi XE bios bug

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
masterdeejay View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Jul 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 50
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote masterdeejay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X299 Taichi XE bios bug
    Posted: 18 Jul 2023 at 7:50pm
I have an X299 Taichi XE with the latest bios (beta with rebar support)

Cpu is Intel i9-7980XE stable with prime95.
4x8Gb (two kits) Patriot Viper 4 Blackout 4133Mhz@ stable at 4000mhz (these are common samsung b die)

But i have problems with the ram support and video card support



There is two problems with the bios.
The default setting for this bios is legacy vga so i cant use my Intel A770 when i push cmos clear, i must use an old legacy card (like GT240) just for enter the bios and change to uefi only.

The second and the biggest is by default my ram sticks not booting up on 2133 mhz default cmos settings. So i must use an old 2400 stick just to enter the bios and set all the timings, mhz, voltages, imc setting, ratios (i use the profiles now). So when i all set i save the settings and i must turn off the power and put back the patriot viper rams then it works at 4000mhz. The XMP profiles not working.

So with default cmos settings the dimms and the video card not working.

This procedure is tiresome when i overclocking.
The CPU is stable at 4.5ghz with custom loop, and the dimms is also stable at 4000mhz quad channel.

What i need is: Revert the previous setting if i set something wrong. I don't want to use the cmosclear button because by default settings my ram and my video card is not working. There is a lot of older motherboard that has this funcion.
Or make a bios that defaults to uefi video cards and somehow support my dimms.
These errors make overclocking tiring.

Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22238
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jul 2023 at 9:47pm
Open a support ticket with ASRock and ask them:
http://event.asrock.com/tsd.asp

They have helped users out with this kind of thing before, often with custom BIOS
versions.
Back to Top
masterdeejay View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Jul 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 50
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote masterdeejay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jul 2023 at 6:55pm
I contacted the support, and they gave me a custom bios where the uefi only video card is the default setting.
So the first problem is solved.
Back to Top
masterdeejay View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Jul 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 50
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote masterdeejay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 2023 at 5:32pm
Second problem solved somewhat. It caused by very low TRFC by default on the cmos cleared bios (380 but 600 is stable on the patriot dimms.)
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22238
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 2023 at 9:39pm
Glad to hear it. ASRock has always been great with helping it's users when it comes
to BIOS tweaks and features.

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.316 seconds.