ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - First AMD build not going well...
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

First AMD build not going well...

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
Raptor9ine View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Aug 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 170
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Raptor9ine Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: First AMD build not going well...
    Posted: 17 Aug 2023 at 9:12pm
First of all, here are the specs for my new rig:

AMD Ryzen 5 7600X 4.7 GHz 6-Core Processor

Deepcool AK400 66.47 CFM CPU Cooler

ASRock B650M PG RIPTIDE Micro ATX AM5 Motherboard

G.Skill Ripjaws S5 32 GB (2 x 16 GB) DDR5-5600 CL28 Memory

Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB M.2-2280 PCIe 4.0 X4 NVME Solid State Drive

Lian Li LANCOOL 216 ATX Mid Tower Case

Corsair RM850x (2021) 850 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply

These are all brand new parts.

So, after carefully hooking everything up, I switch on the PSU and get fancy rgb lights around the MB's chipset heatsink, but when I hit the power button on the front panel, nothing happens. No fans start up, no Post Status Checker lights come on. If I press the reset button, the rgb lights stop pulsing and stay the colour they were when I hit the reset. When I removed the front panel header and bridged the power pins with a screwdriver, nothing happens and I waited a good 15/20 minutes.

I've tried removing the RAM and putting them in one at a time in different slots, and nothing.

I've taken an old PSU (EVGA 750 G2) and its original cables from my old rig and put them into the new rig, and apart from the rgb lights coming on again, it just won't switch on either via the front panel On switch or by bridging the power pins.

I put the new PSU with its cables into my old rig, and nothing again. It suddenly wouldn't switch on via the front panel On switch or with the power pins being bridged. When I put the old PSU and cables back in to the old rig, it still wouldn't switch on. Bearing in mind, I built this rig back in 2016 and it's been utterly bulletproof from day one. 10 minutes with this new PSU and its cables, and it hasn't switched on since. I tried removing the CMOS battery for five minutes while pressing the power button on the case for 30 seconds and still nowt.

In the last few days, in between pulling the last few remaining hairs out of my head, I've breadboarded the new MB and just have the CPU and CPU cooler attached. Sadly there's nothing much happening when I bridge those power pins. Again, I've waited a good 20 minutes. I also bridged the clear CMOS pins and it didn't change anything. The only thing I haven't done on this MB is remove the CMOS battery as it's conveniently hidden underneath the VRM heatsink and looks quite difficult to get to.

Today I've taken off the CPU cooler and removed the CPU to check for any damage to the CPU and for any bent pins on the MB, and there's non as far as I can see.

Basically I've done everything here; https://www.reddit.com/r/pchelp/comments/eatxrs/perform_these_steps_before_posting_about/, apart from using a multimeter on the PSU. I'm not keen on doing that as I'm not a trained electrician and the wires are all black, rather than red/blue/yellow etc.

Any ideas, guys? I've only got until the 26th of August before I need to send the CPU, PSU, RAM and SSD back to amazon for a refund if they are dead. Honestly, I have no idea if they're dead or not. At no point have I heard any pops or bangs, nor have I seen any smoke or smelled anything burning. I'm around 60% sure the new PSU has nuked both the new and old rig, but I can't be 100% sure.

Any help would be very much appreciated. I've got no idea what to do now.
Back to Top
M440 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12 Jul 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 2920
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote M440 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2023 at 11:13pm
so now 2 rigs don't work? that would indicate that the PSU fried 2 motherboards or the motherboard fried 2 psus?

you are using igpu in both cases?

what if you connect 3rd working psu to old rig?

beside and in general - you can flash the newest bios using bios flashback function (from the usb drive without booting the pc)
asrock b650m/hdv.m2, ryzen 7700x@85watt
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 23693
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2023 at 11:21pm
I agree with M440, see if you can pick up a cheap tester PSU to try with the old
rig you know was previously working. If it's still not working then RMA the board,
CPU, PSU, RAM etc. A modern PSU shouldn't be able to nuke a motherboard unless it
has a serious defect that bypasses all it's safeties.

Is it possible you confused the 8pin PCIe power for the 8pin CPU power cable? The
cable that goes to the motherboard should be a 4+4 connector not the 6+2. That
shouldn't short anything out but it will prevent the board powering up while
connected that way. Some modular PSUs allow you to connect the 8pin CPU power
cable to the 8pin PCIe power output from the PSU itself, the issue could be on
that end.

I doubt this is the issue as you say the old PSU now also won't power up the old
system but it's worth checking.
Back to Top
Raptor9ine View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Aug 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 170
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Raptor9ine Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2023 at 11:43pm
Originally posted by M440 M440 wrote:

so now 2 rigs don't work? that would indicate that the PSU fried 2 motherboards or the motherboard fried 2 psus?

you are using igpu in both cases?

what if you connect 3rd working psu to old rig?

beside and in general - you can flash the newest bios using bios flashback function (from the usb drive without booting the pc)


Yeah, my new rig has never switched on, and my old rig, which has been bombproof since 2016, has not switched on since I gave it a sniff of the new PSU.

I think the 7600x has integrated graphics. Haven't bought a gpu yet as I was going to set up the system first and then get one later.

Sadly I don't have a 3rd psu, I've only got two gaming rigs. Although technically I have zero right now.

Do you think the new system is not switching on because the bios is old? I had a look at the bios update page here: https://pg.asrock.com/mb/AMD/B650M%20PG%20Riptide/index.asp#BIOS, and couldn't find a reason to update for the 7600x. Maybe I was wrong.
Back to Top
Raptor9ine View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Aug 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 170
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Raptor9ine Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Aug 2023 at 12:07am
Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

I agree with M440, see if you can pick up a cheap tester PSU to try with the old
rig you know was previously working. If it's still not working then RMA the board,
CPU, PSU, RAM etc. A modern PSU shouldn't be able to nuke a motherboard unless it
has a serious defect that bypasses all it's safeties.

Is it possible you confused the 8pin PCIe power for the 8pin CPU power cable? The
cable that goes to the motherboard should be a 4+4 connector not the 6+2. That
shouldn't short anything out but it will prevent the board powering up while
connected that way. Some modular PSUs allow you to connect the 8pin CPU power
cable to the 8pin PCIe power output from the PSU itself, the issue could be on
that end.

I doubt this is the issue as you say the old PSU now also won't power up the old
system but it's worth checking.


Sadly, I've only got until the 26th of August before I need to send the psu, cpu, and ram back to Amazon for a refund, even though I don't actually know if they are dead or not. So I won't have the time to get a cheap psu. I've checked the ssd in a laptop and thankfully it works fine. I've just no way of checking the cpu, psu, ram and motherboard.

I think I've put the right cables in the ATX12V1 connector on the MB. The ones that have cpu on them.

If it's of any help, I did take a quick vid of the system when it was still in the case. At this point it was hooked up to my old psu with the 10-pin ATXPWR1 connector detached from the psu, with the 18-pin still in the psu, as I wanted to see what would happen. There was one cpu cable hooked up to ATX12V1 but not ATX12V2, as I think you only need a power cable in there if you're overclocking the cpu.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1m-uxmJ65QZzNWHqdHIUqj7lODm_EEzlG/view?usp=sharing

As you can hopefully see, some of the fans are pulsing on and off, apart from the two front intake fans, and the Post Status Checker leds (cpu and dram) are flickering on and off. When I connect the 10-pin connector up to the psu and switch it back on, I get the same pulsing rgb lights around the chipset and nothing more.



Back to Top
Raptor9ine View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Aug 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 170
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Raptor9ine Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Aug 2023 at 12:11am
Thanks for replying btw, guys. This is only my second ever build and my first attempt at AMD, and it's been a bit of a hellscape so far haha.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 23693
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Aug 2023 at 5:56am
Have you checked the bottom of the motherboard for bent over component legs that
could be shorting etc?

Try connecting the board to the PSU with just the CPU and RAM installed, no connected
devices etc, just power. See if the symptoms remain the same. Also make sure there
are no other commonalities between the old system and new one, keyboard, mouse
etc.

Good luck.
Back to Top
M440 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 12 Jul 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 2920
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote M440 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Aug 2023 at 3:38pm
Originally posted by Raptor9ine Raptor9ine wrote:



I think the 7600x has integrated graphics. Haven't bought a gpu yet as I was going to set up the system first and then get one later.


i'm asking if you use igpu in both rigs, because the old rig might not work because you forgot to plug the GPU power cable.

Quote Do you think the new system is not switching on because the bios is old? I had a look at the bios update page here: https://pg.asrock.com/mb/AMD/B650M%20PG%20Riptide/index.asp#BIOS, and couldn't find a reason to update for the 7600x. Maybe I was wrong.


i wrote this as a general advice. It won't solve the electrical problems, but why wouldent you do this? You are gonna update the bios anyway.

Quote If it's of any help, I did take a quick vid of the system when it was still in the case. At this point it was hooked up to my old psu with the 10-pin ATXPWR1 connector detached from the psu, with the 18-pin still in the psu, as I wanted to see what would happen. There was one cpu cable hooked up to ATX12V1 but not ATX12V2, as I think you only need a power cable in there if you're overclocking the cpu.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1m-uxmJ65QZzNWHqdHIUqj7lODm_EEzlG/view?usp=sharing

As you can hopefully see, some of the fans are pulsing on and off, apart from the two front intake fans, and the Post Status Checker leds (cpu and dram) are flickering on and off. When I connect the 10-pin connector up to the psu and switch it back on, I get the same pulsing rgb lights around the chipset and nothing more.



connect all the power cables

Quote Thanks for replying btw, guys. This is only my second ever build and my first attempt at AMD, and it's been a bit of a hellscape so far haha.


its clearly an electrical problem, not connected with cpu or chipset brand

Quote Have you checked the bottom of the motherboard for bent over component legs that
could be shorting etc?

Try connecting the board to the PSU with just the CPU and RAM installed, no connected
devices etc, just power. See if the symptoms remain the same. Also make sure there
are no other commonalities between the old system and new one, keyboard, mouse
etc.

Good luck.


yes, check for short circuit, power connection. Run the motherboard/s out of the case on the desk without unnecessary peripherals connected.

asrock b650m/hdv.m2, ryzen 7700x@85watt
Back to Top
Raptor9ine View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Aug 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 170
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Raptor9ine Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Aug 2023 at 9:15pm
Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

Have you checked the bottom of the motherboard for bent over component legs that
could be shorting etc?

Try connecting the board to the PSU with just the CPU and RAM installed, no connected
devices etc, just power. See if the symptoms remain the same. Also make sure there
are no other commonalities between the old system and new one, keyboard, mouse
etc.

Good luck.


Right now, I've got the new MB breadboarded on an anti-static bag on top of the MB's cardboard box with just the cpu and cpu cooler plugged in to the MB, with the ATXPWR1 cable fully plugged in to the psu along with the 8-pin cpu cable. No ram or any thing else.

When I switch the psu on I just get the pulsing rgb lights around the chipset heatsink. When I bridge the power switch pins I get nothing, and I've waited a good 20 minutes of so. If I bridge the reset pins, the rgb lights stop pulsing and stay whatever colour the were when I bridged those pins.
Back to Top
Raptor9ine View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Aug 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 170
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Raptor9ine Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Aug 2023 at 10:03pm
Originally posted by M440 M440 wrote:

Originally posted by Raptor9ine Raptor9ine wrote:



I think the 7600x has integrated graphics. Haven't bought a gpu yet as I was going to set up the system first and then get one later.


i'm asking if you use igpu in both rigs, because the old rig might not work because you forgot to plug the GPU power cable.

Quote Do you think the new system is not switching on because the bios is old? I had a look at the bios update page here: https://pg.asrock.com/mb/AMD/B650M%20PG%20Riptide/index.asp#BIOS, and couldn't find a reason to update for the 7600x. Maybe I was wrong.


i wrote this as a general advice. It won't solve the electrical problems, but why wouldent you do this? You are gonna update the bios anyway.

Quote If it's of any help, I did take a quick vid of the system when it was still in the case. At this point it was hooked up to my old psu with the 10-pin ATXPWR1 connector detached from the psu, with the 18-pin still in the psu, as I wanted to see what would happen. There was one cpu cable hooked up to ATX12V1 but not ATX12V2, as I think you only need a power cable in there if you're overclocking the cpu.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1m-uxmJ65QZzNWHqdHIUqj7lODm_EEzlG/view?usp=sharing

As you can hopefully see, some of the fans are pulsing on and off, apart from the two front intake fans, and the Post Status Checker leds (cpu and dram) are flickering on and off. When I connect the 10-pin connector up to the psu and switch it back on, I get the same pulsing rgb lights around the chipset and nothing more.



connect all the power cables

Quote Thanks for replying btw, guys. This is only my second ever build and my first attempt at AMD, and it's been a bit of a hellscape so far haha.


its clearly an electrical problem, not connected with cpu or chipset brand

Quote Have you checked the bottom of the motherboard for bent over component legs that
could be shorting etc?

Try connecting the board to the PSU with just the CPU and RAM installed, no connected
devices etc, just power. See if the symptoms remain the same. Also make sure there
are no other commonalities between the old system and new one, keyboard, mouse
etc.

Good luck.


yes, check for short circuit, power connection. Run the motherboard/s out of the case on the desk without unnecessary peripherals connected.



Ah, yeah I plugged the vga cables back in to the psu and gpu.

I was going to update the bios once I'd got the system up and running.

When I connect up all the power cables I just get the pulsing rgb lights and nothing more. I removed the 10-pin connector just to see what would happen. That's what you see in the vid. Once the 10-pin connector is hooked back up to the psu it's the same thing, rgb lights pulsing different colours and nothing happens when I bridge the power switch pins.
----------

In regards to my old rig - the MB is an MSI Z97 Gaming 5. Today I removed the front panel power switch header from the MB. When I switched the psu on and bridged the power switch pins with a screwdriver, I noticed a blue led briefly come on around the BAT1 JBAT1 area of the MB near the cmos battery. Above that led are two pins, so I decided to bridge those with a screwdriver and WHOOOOSH. The case fans started going ten to the dozen, so did the cpu cooler fan and the gpu fans, while the blue led remained on.

When I took the screwdriver away, the blue led went off and so did all the fans.

When I plug the front panel header back on to those power switch pins and press the front panel on switch, nothing. With the front panel header still in place, if I bridge those pins above the BAT1 JBAT1 led, the fans come back on as does the blue led.

I now need to hook my old rig up to a monitor to see if it posts while I bridge those pins.



Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.203 seconds.