ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Z790 Steel Legend and TZ5RS G.SKILL
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Z790 Steel Legend and TZ5RS G.SKILL

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
gozer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Oct 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gozer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Z790 Steel Legend and TZ5RS G.SKILL
    Posted: 16 Oct 2023 at 6:03pm
Good morning,
I'm struggling with this motherboard and I cannot get 7200 MHz speed out of the ram (as per specification).

I chose this DDR5 G.Skill rams because they are certified for this motherboard, I have two sets of them, two Z790 Steel Legend (11.02 bios both) and two different Intel CPUs, an I7 13700KF and a 13600K.

Keeping all the bios default value, the rams are getting recognized at a base clock of 4000 MHz, so I just select the xmp profile, save and reboot.
Aida 64 ram test crashes in 3 seconds.

I tried also to disable Asrock Timing Optimization and DRAM Frequency Optimization, but the only results I achieve is getting the rams running at 3600 MHz, even if I select 7200 from the xmp profile.
After that, the only way to achieve a faster speed is to reset the cmos!

Is there any setup I have to do? I don't understand how Asrock could have certified this rams, if they don't work at the specification clock.
Thanks for any suggestion.
Back to Top
gozer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Oct 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gozer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Oct 2023 at 6:05pm
For a better reference; this is the ram set I'm referring to

https://www.gskill.com/product/165/374/1665644713/F5-7200J3445G16GX2-TZ5RS
Back to Top
Agent View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03 Nov 2023
Location: Poland
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Agent Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Nov 2023 at 6:32pm
Hi, I have DDR5 TZ5RS G.SKILL 6000Mhz 2x16GB and they works only in 3000Mhz, if I reset cmos they may works in 6000Mhz ?
Back to Top
Zhorka View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 Dec 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zhorka Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2023 at 7:58am
Hi Asrock,

I have similar issue that unstable when running XMP profile 1.

A week ago I purchased

B760M Steel Legend Wifi
GSkill 7200 Trident Z5 RGB DDR5 F5-7200J3445G16GX2-TZ5RK CL34-45-45-115 1.40V 32GB (2x16GB)

Every time i use XMP Profile 1, the system keep re-boot/crash when has run after 5-10 minutes.

Before purchase I confirmed that Asrock B760M Steel Legend mentioned on their QVL of RAM that GSkill type is listed.

Already BIOS update & try dozens of timings. I hope this is my lack of knowledge that could be missed something, please If any experience/ thoughts would kindly help.

Regards,
Back to Top
Darkje View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 30 Dec 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 430
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Darkje Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Dec 2023 at 5:05am
7200 is a pretty heavy overclock, you need a good CPU/IMC to be able to run that. Overclock is never guaranteed, at the gskill site it even warns: "Maximum memory speed and system stability depends on the capability of the motherboard & CPU"

Maybe you need to tweak some of the VDD_CPU or VDD_IMC voltages to get it steady, maybe your IMC is just not up to 7200 and you need to go one or even a few steps lower.
Back to Top
Zhorka View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 Dec 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zhorka Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Dec 2023 at 8:18pm
Ok i?ôll try it, but can you please explain how to tweak that vdd-things? Is that in BIOS menu CPU or DRAM option?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.188 seconds.