ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - ARGB broke. ASRock Dynamic Lighting
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

ARGB broke. ASRock Dynamic Lighting

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
dchang0 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Dec 2024
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dchang0 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ARGB broke. ASRock Dynamic Lighting
    Posted: 02 Dec 2024 at 8:24am
Forgot to mention some important details to the post above.

The AsrISP.exe /I flag is really important.

Normally /I 0 uses the USB interface to flash the controller.

In my case, the USB interface was misbehaving, so I used the I2C interface via the /I 1 command. After the USB interface came back online (I think right after the overwriting of the LDROM and/or APROM), then it would have been possible to use the USB interface, but I kept using the I2C interface the whole time since that's what I am used to using with Arduino.

I remember also trying a bunch of reboots of the controller with the /BS flag at the beginning and not having a whole lot of luck with it fixing anything, so I ended up moving on to overwriting the LDROM and APROM. Note that rebooting might be necessary in between the flashing steps, but I think it's included already.
Back to Top
dchang0 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Dec 2024
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dchang0 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Dec 2024 at 8:14am
Originally posted by m00zis m00zis wrote:

Unfortunately nothing of all of the above steps worked for me. I installed my new b650 Steel Legend yesterday and everything worked fine. Just after installing Polychrome (I had SignalRGB running in the Background) my PCH RGBs stopped working. I tried everything from flashing the RGB firmware, BIOS update, uninstalling SignalRGB, reinstalling Polychrome, unplugging pc for 10 minutes and run UpdateFW.cmd and whatsoever.

Nothing seems to work for me. Has anyone anymore tips for me?
Thank you


If you haven't fixed this yet, here's what I had to do quite a while ago (07/2023). ALL OF THIS COULD BE DANGEROUS, SO DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK.

I tried everything everyone else mentioned and then started digging into the actual WriteFW.BAT file that does the flashing. I realized that the WriteFW.BAT file was skipping doing anything in my case, so what I did was copy the actual flashing command out of the section of the .BAT file that it was skipping, and I ran it manually at the command prompt.

The command is:

AsrISP.exe /I 0 /AUTO /FORCE


BUT!!!! This didn't work for me at all. It did for other people, but not me. I had to go further and start guessing at the other options for the AsrISP.exe command.

Here is what the current version of AsrISP.exe has:

Usage:
AsrISP.exe <command> [options]

Commands
------------------
   /UA <file>               Update APROM with specific file (.bin)
   /UL <file>               Update LDROM with specific file (.bin)
   /UD <file>               Update data flash with specific file (.bin)
   /UC <cfg0> <cfg1>        Update Config
   /BS <opt>                 Reboot
                             (Default 0 - Reset, 1 - LDROM, 2 - APROM)
   /E <all | aprom | data> Erase APROM and data flash
   /I <interface>           Interface
                             (Default 0 - USB, 1 - I2C, 2 - ADL_I2C_OEM, 3 - ADL_I2C_OEM3)
   /ID                      Specify an USB Device ID
   /INFO                     Display information
   /?                        Usage help

Example
------------------
Update APROM through USB
AsrISP.exe /UA APROM.bin

Update APROM through ADL_I2C
AsrISP.exe /UA APROM.bin /I 2

Update APROM and data flash
AsrISP.exe /UA APROM.bin /UD DATA.bin

Update config
AsrISP.exe /UC FFFFFF7F 000FFFFF

Erase all
AsrISP.exe /E




What I ended up doing was:

1) reboot the controller using the /BS 0 flag
If the reboot with reset works to fix your ARGB LED controller, STOP HERE!!!
2) THIS IS DANGEROUS: erase all with the /E all flag
3) manually overwrite the LDROM with /UL flag, then
4) manually overwrite the APROM with /UA flag, then
5) manually overwrite the data file with /UD flag

It's been so long ago I don't remember the exact flags/options I used, but it was probably exactly as shown in the AsrISP.exe /? above.

Now, the hard part for me was figuring out which LDROM .bin file to use and which APROM .bin file to use after that and then which data file to use. (All these files are in the same directory as the AsrISP.exe file.) I didn't have a config file and was terrified about having screwed up by erasing it before finding out I didn't have one.

I ended up using trial and error (there were only four or so LDROM and four or so APROM .bin files to try). I DO NOT RECOMMEND TRIAL AND ERROR FOR YOU. In my case, I had nothing else to lose, so I went ahead and did it.

After I re-flashed the LDROM and APROM, I then deduced which .dat file to use for my motherboard model (there was some trial and error, but I was able to rule out most of the .dat files based on what appear to be dates and parts of model names).

Finally, I was able to run the firmware update with the /AUTO /FORCE flags, and it worked. I now had the latest firmware, and the ARGB LED controller was working properly again. It was visible in both BIOS and PolyChrome app. I have not had any trouble since then.

How did I know to do the above? I have some experience working on microcontrollers like Arduino and also flashing ROMs on Android phones, so I knew something about flashing bootloaders and OS images and digging out of a bricked situation. The big question that makes the above dangerous is what to do if you need to do a hardware reset and hardware flash of the ARGB LED controller chip on the motherboard. On an Arduino, it's possible to get at the hardware pins, so there's a kind of fearlessness. If you mess up you can always recover.

Anyway, I don't remember much more about what I did, and I probably won't be back on this forum. Just posting it in case someone got stuck like I did.
Back to Top
Darkje View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 30 Dec 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 1610
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Darkje Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 May 2024 at 6:30am
Originally posted by FLORRIDAMAN FLORRIDAMAN wrote:

i have a problem where when ever i launch ASRRGBLED it says device not detected can anyone help me


If you also have an unknown device in windows device manager, this can usually be solved by unplugging the psu from the mains for a few minutes.
Back to Top
FLORRIDAMAN View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 12 May 2024
Location: Florida
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FLORRIDAMAN Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2024 at 1:16pm
i have a problem where when ever i launch ASRRGBLED it says device not detected can anyone help me
uyhh
Back to Top
m00zis View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 May 2024
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote m00zis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 May 2024 at 4:30am
Unfortunately nothing of all of the above steps worked for me. I installed my new b650 Steel Legend yesterday and everything worked fine. Just after installing Polychrome (I had SignalRGB running in the Background) my PCH RGBs stopped working. I tried everything from flashing the RGB firmware, BIOS update, uninstalling SignalRGB, reinstalling Polychrome, unplugging pc for 10 minutes and run UpdateFW.cmd and whatsoever.

Nothing seems to work for me. Has anyone anymore tips for me?
Thank you
Back to Top
oskar_1993 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03 May 2024
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote oskar_1993 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2024 at 8:20pm
thank you, kind man, because I thought that everything was broken, but it was your way that helped me)
Back to Top
oskar_1993 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03 May 2024
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote oskar_1993 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2024 at 8:17pm
Originally posted by gareebsag gareebsag wrote:

I had this happen to me yesterday after I updated the MCU firmware from ?�ASRock Dynamic Lighting??and installed ?�ASRock Polychrome RGB??

I saw on reddet someone that I followed their instructions and it solved my issue.

These steps are what I did exactly:

1- Uninstall Polychrome RGB
2- Remove the folder ?�ASRRGBLED??from Program Files (x86)/ASRock Utility/
3- Turn off your computer
4- Unplug the power cord from the computer for a few minutes (let?�s say 5 to 10 minutes)
5- Plug it back and turn on your computer (I noticed my RGB light began to work)
6- Run ?�UpdateFW.bat??from ?�Restore_to_PreviousFW??

Everything is back to normal for me after these steps.
Hopefully this works for you.
Back to Top
Darkje View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 30 Dec 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 1610
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Darkje Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 7:07pm
oh well, i guessed it was worth a shot, pitty it didn't work.
Back to Top
ard View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Oct 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 125
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 6:09pm
I didn't try that, as WriteFW.bat only does it if AsrISP fails twice, so I figured it was for other (older?) boards. The input file being only 13KB when one that I know works is 20KB is another sign I should not give it a go.

When I gave it a go it displayed the correct board type and BIOS version, so I guess it interrogated the board successfully. But it said no more, consuming a CPU until I killed it. The last thing it did was look for a file called SMBUS.ini, which is not there.
Back to Top
Darkje View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 30 Dec 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 1610
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Darkje Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 1:51am
? Did you also try:
wICPFLASHADSBv2.exe /file=nu51_3.04
(it comes with Polychrome RGB ver:2.0.170)

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.281 seconds.