ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - 970 Performance and 1866 Mhz memory question
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

970 Performance and 1866 Mhz memory question

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Ernst View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 18 Jun 2016
Location: Turlock CA
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ernst Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 970 Performance and 1866 Mhz memory question
    Posted: 25 Jun 2016 at 9:28am
I was unable to get the 970 performance mother board to boot with 1866 Mhz memory so I read I would need to set over clocking in BIOS to get it to work.

 1 is that true and is there a guide I can read in how to set things in BIOS?
Dynamic Unary generates a new kind of number
Back to Top
Ernst View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 18 Jun 2016
Location: Turlock CA
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ernst Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jun 2016 at 12:35am

I see Kingston HyperX memory is not on the memory list for ASRock 970 Performance.

 Is there a way to set up BIOS so it will run faster than 800 Mhz?

I have set the BIOS to 1600 MHZ but the AMD OC program reports either 800 Mhz or 400 Mhz . The system will run on the Kingston HyperX at that speed.

 I have been trying to find some setting that the memory will run fast and I think I got really close with Memory voltage 1.50, CPU OC at 10% but on booting both Windows 10 and Fedora 23 reported errors and was unable to run but the system did boot

I am doing a triple motherboard in one case build and two of the Motherboards are ASRock 970 Performances'

I need some help as I cannot afford to buy more gear.

Dynamic Unary generates a new kind of number
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jun 2016 at 11:55am
800 is correct reading in most programs for 1600. Dual Data Rate(DDR) works like that.

Please list the MB's BIOS revision, memory PN and no. of sticks you're using.
Back to Top
Ernst View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 18 Jun 2016
Location: Turlock CA
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ernst Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2016 at 7:48am
800 ?  Didn't know that thanks.

And thank you for your help..

 This is the ASRock 970 Performance BIOS 1.30 ( Updated via Internet and is latest ) Part number 90-MXGX40-A0UAYZ

Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1866 Mhz (4 sticks X 8 GB ) 32 GB PN HX318C10FK2/16


Dynamic Unary generates a new kind of number
Back to Top
WKjun View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Aug 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 56
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WKjun Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jul 2016 at 12:50am
In the case of that board, at BIOS level 800 is 800. I had a similar problem, besides others, having memory at 800 MHz if set to automatic/defaults and instability if set higher (2400 is an option there, so I reckon it means that and not 4800 for real).
 
http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=660&KW=&title=970-performance-fx9000-ram-incompatibility
 
Maybe my conclusions can help you:
 
The system is only stable when I set fully Auto without AMP and that results in 800 MHz...
Further, SPD readout inside the BIOS is wrong for some values (tRFC 1 instead of ~300).
 
Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1866 (2x8GB) with XMP. Independet of activating the XMP profile, it just works at 1333 MHz or below. If I select 1600 or above, the system hangs with a black screen.
 
Switching "Overclock Mode" from Auto to Manual kills RAM auto detection and stability at high frequencies
 


Edited by WKjun - 14 Jul 2016 at 12:59am
PC1: FX-9590@def|290 |16GB@2133|Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
PC2: FX-8320@4.5|290 |16GB@2133| "
PC3: FX-9590@def|280X|16GB@2133| "
PC4: FX-9370@def|280X|16GB@2133| "
PC5: FX-6300@4.6|7950|16GB@1866|990FX-UD3
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.129 seconds.