ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Z170 extreme4 dr.debug 04
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Z170 extreme4 dr.debug 04

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
Author
Message
HappyMan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Aug 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote HappyMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Aug 2016 at 4:42am
Thanks. I find menu item, but after disabling 04 code freez still left.
CMOS clear don't give any resulth.
i noticed that 04 code is appears immediately after code 56.

When system at stock frequency all works fine.  I have 04 code on restart and shutdown without freezes.
But when i try to overclock CPU i have 04 code freez randomly.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Aug 2016 at 5:57am
I'm getting thin on options, but .......

Directly under the SATA ports is where your two BIOS chipa and the BIOS Select switch reside.

Over the two BIOS chips is a sticker over each.

1. What CPU is it you're using?

2. What is printed on both stickers covering the BIOS chips?



In asking those two ??'s I'm wanting to verify that your B BIOS(you have two, w/one, the B chip, being a backup) supports your processor BEFORE switching over to it.



Back to Top
HappyMan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Aug 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote HappyMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Aug 2016 at 1:38pm
CPU is i5 6400
Second bios version is 3.20 (a have updatetd it too)
On second bios chip, the problem still remains.
On both BIOS chips I have stickers with 1.00 or 1.10 numbers(exactly can say only when will be at home)
Back to Top
HappyMan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Aug 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote HappyMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Aug 2016 at 1:46am
sry. i have p2.10 numbers on both stickers.
maby i must try to flash another BIOS(more compatible with my RAM) ?

Edited by HappyMan - 12 Aug 2016 at 2:30am
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Aug 2016 at 6:00am
Originally posted by HappyMan HappyMan wrote:

sry. i have p2.10 numbers on both stickers.
maby i must try to flash another BIOS(more compatible with my RAM) ?


HERE you said you've already flashed the running A BIOS 3.40.

If you did not, then yes. Use the Instant Flash method from within your BIOS in the Tools tab. Do not use the Internet Flash method as it is, IMHO, unreliable and will more easily corrupt your BIOS, rendering your board unusable.

If you need instruction for using Instant Flash post back and I'll walk you through it.

Back to Top
HappyMan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Aug 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote HappyMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Aug 2016 at 6:17am
Yes I have 3.40 bios version on first chip and 3.20 on second. I
Asked about downgrade (if this possible) to which version?
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Aug 2016 at 11:01am
No, don't downgrade. The last three BIOSes have had memory compatibility improvements.

Will you download and install CPU-z, start 4 instances of it to show me the SPD and Memory tab of each of the  two sticks please.

And I should say thank you for you patience too. It's not easy diagnosing over hours between forum posts.
Back to Top
HappyMan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Aug 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote HappyMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Aug 2016 at 12:47pm
No problem at all for me . Thank you for helping
http://imgur.com/a/NLeET
http://imgur.com/a/wJfCP

Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Aug 2016 at 2:09pm
Whoa there. Looks like the BIOS is miscalculating these sticks main 4 timings and maybe CR(Command Rate).

Are you knowledgeable enough to change the timing manually in the BIOS?

If so, let's attempt a mediocre timing by what
tCL - 19
tRCP - 15
tRP - 15
tRAS - 36
CR - 1 (and if there's issues, change CR to 2 and retry)
DRAM Voltage - 1.20 (and if there's issues, add +0.05v making +1.25 and retry. Fail at +1.25v? Bump another +0.05v making +1.30 and retry.)


I'll be back here in 4-6hrs to look for any reply's/results. In a few minutes me and my Wife are driving out into the desert far away from light pollution to view/photograph the Perseid meteor shower.




Edited by wardog - 12 Aug 2016 at 2:10pm
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Aug 2016 at 7:38pm
I'm Baaaack. And up. For a little while anyways. T'was a long night here staring at the heavens.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 8.875 seconds.