ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - only C3 C-state
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

only C3 C-state

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
djieno View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Mar 2024
Location: Amsterdam
Status: Offline
Points: 95
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote djieno Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: only C3 C-state
    Posted: 18 Mar 2024 at 12:39am
I'm trying to to achieve lower power consumption on 'idle' for my server.

It idles around 18-19 watts having nothing attached. Running RKE2/K8S around 21-22. I've noticed in powertop it only offers c3 state and not like my other machines upto c10.

Asrock riptide B550M P1.40
Ryzen 7 pro 4750G
gskill 64 gb

I've found AMISCE (SCELNX or SCEWIN) to be able to unlock bios and enable the hidden feature for an intel based motherboard. As discribed here:
https://askubuntu.com/questions/1483343/c-states-not-fuctioning-on-ubuntu-server-22-04-please-help#:~:text=So%20you%20have%20to%20enable/change%20hidden%20BIOS%20menus%20by%20using%20AMISCE%20(AMI%20Setup%20Control%20Environment)%20utility%20v5.03%20or%205.05%20for%20Windows%20(it%20can%20easily%20be%20found%20on%20the%20internet).%20So%20you%20have%20to%20install%20Windows%20and%20to%20enable%20Administrator%20password%20in%20your%20BIOS

Amisce (scelnx) errors: AMISCE not supported on this system

So has anybody else solved this problem not having higher c-states for an amd/am4 motherboard ?

I'm happy to wreck the motherboard attempting to achieve this.



Back to Top
Katana1074 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 31 Dec 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 1310
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Katana1074 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Mar 2024 at 5:20am
Hi there try updating to the latest bios (3.40)...

you should be able to change c-states in the bios...
CPU: RYZEN 7950x | Motherboard: ASROCK X670E TAICHI | GPU: MSI RTX4090 LIQUID X 24GB | RAM: FURY X DDR5 C40 | Hard Drive: INTEL OPTANE 900P 480GB,1 x SAMSUNG 980 PRO 2TB,2 X ADATA S8200X 2TB
Back to Top
djieno View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Mar 2024
Location: Amsterdam
Status: Offline
Points: 95
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote djieno Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Mar 2024 at 5:52pm
I've updated the bios

ubuntu@node02:~$ sudo dmidecode -t bios
# dmidecode 3.3
Getting SMBIOS data from sysfs.
SMBIOS 3.3.0 present.

Handle 0x0000, DMI type 0, 26 bytes
BIOS Information
        Vendor: American Megatrends International, LLC.
        Version: P3.40
        Release Date: 01/18/2024
        Address: 0xF0000
        Runtime Size: 64 kB
        ROM Size: 16 MB
        Characteristics:
               PCI is supported
               BIOS is upgradeable
               BIOS shadowing is allowed
               Boot from CD is supported
               Selectable boot is supported
               BIOS ROM is socketed
               EDD is supported
               Japanese floppy for NEC 9800 1.2 MB is supported (int 13h)
               Japanese floppy for Toshiba 1.2 MB is supported (int 13h)
               5.25"/360 kB floppy services are supported (int 13h)
               5.25"/1.2 MB floppy services are supported (int 13h)
               3.5"/720 kB floppy services are supported (int 13h)
               3.5"/2.88 MB floppy services are supported (int 13h)
               Print screen service is supported (int 5h)
               8042 keyboard services are supported (int 9h)
               Serial services are supported (int 14h)
               Printer services are supported (int 17h)
               CGA/mono video services are supported (int 10h)
               ACPI is supported
               USB legacy is supported
               BIOS boot specification is supported
               Targeted content distribution is supported
               UEFI is supported
        BIOS Revision: 5.17

Enabled c-states under: advanced/amd cbs/cpu common options/global c-state control.

----> Does it needs some other magic setting I missed to enable more than c3 states?

           Pkg(OS) |            Core(OS) |            CPU(OS) 0   CPU(OS) 8
POLL        0.0%    | POLL        0.0%    | POLL        0.0%    0.0 ms 0.0%    0.0 ms
C1          1.1%    | C1          0.9%    | C1          1.0%    0.2 ms 0.8%    0.1 ms
C2        11.7%    | C2        11.2%    | C2        11.1%    0.4 ms 11.2%    0.4 ms
C3        81.8%    | C3        81.5%    | C3        81.3%    3.5 ms 81.8%    3.4 ms
Back to Top
Katana1074 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 31 Dec 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 1310
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Katana1074 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2024 at 3:16pm
Hi there.....

4750g Pro should have upto c6....

try the following :

Global C-state: enabled,
Cool n Quiet: enabled,
Power Supply Idle Control: Typical

Regards

Edited by Katana1074 - 20 Mar 2024 at 3:26pm
CPU: RYZEN 7950x | Motherboard: ASROCK X670E TAICHI | GPU: MSI RTX4090 LIQUID X 24GB | RAM: FURY X DDR5 C40 | Hard Drive: INTEL OPTANE 900P 480GB,1 x SAMSUNG 980 PRO 2TB,2 X ADATA S8200X 2TB
Back to Top
djieno View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Mar 2024
Location: Amsterdam
Status: Offline
Points: 95
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote djieno Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Mar 2024 at 4:14pm
HI ! Thanks for replying and helping to solve the c-states issue!

I've been searching in the bios for the two setttings:

Cool Quiet: enabled
Power Supply Idle Control: Typical

I didn't see them. I've checked advanced/cpu configuration and also went through all the overclocking items. Did I miss them or is it like some b450m forum messages I found that asrock removed these?

Would you know where the two settingss are located in the p3.40 version for b550m ? Most likely I missed them...

Back to Top
Katana1074 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 31 Dec 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 1310
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Katana1074 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Mar 2024 at 7:28pm
Hi there...

Please see the instructions at :

https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/8yzvxz/ryzen_c6_state_sleep_power_supply_common_current/

Sorry cool and quiet has been renamed go to Advanced\CPU Configuration\PSS Support....

Edited by Katana1074 - 21 Mar 2024 at 7:31pm
CPU: RYZEN 7950x | Motherboard: ASROCK X670E TAICHI | GPU: MSI RTX4090 LIQUID X 24GB | RAM: FURY X DDR5 C40 | Hard Drive: INTEL OPTANE 900P 480GB,1 x SAMSUNG 980 PRO 2TB,2 X ADATA S8200X 2TB
Back to Top
djieno View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Mar 2024
Location: Amsterdam
Status: Offline
Points: 95
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote djieno Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Mar 2024 at 8:21pm
no worries!

advanced/cpu configuration/pss support was already on enabled

the article also mentioned disabling
advanced/cpu configuration/smt disabled made not difference (still on pkg(os) c3 max)

all the other mentioned in the reddit post might be already inapplicable of it's version. At least I couldn't find them in my p3.40

Back to Top
djieno View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Mar 2024
Location: Amsterdam
Status: Offline
Points: 95
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote djieno Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Mar 2024 at 9:23pm
I managed to get nvram.txt from winsce - Anybody which settings I need to change ? There are some obvious ones with Cstates but just like to fully unlock and have c3+ states.

https://codeshare.io/WLXwK8
Back to Top
Katana1074 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 31 Dec 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 1310
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Katana1074 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Mar 2024 at 5:53am
On ASRock boards, after updating the BIOS, going to: OC Tweaker > OC Mode , setting it to AMD CBS, and then going to Advanced > AMD CBS > Power Supply Idle Control, and setting it to typical current idle. Press F10, and then Enter to cement it. The UI might be confusing otherwise.
CPU: RYZEN 7950x | Motherboard: ASROCK X670E TAICHI | GPU: MSI RTX4090 LIQUID X 24GB | RAM: FURY X DDR5 C40 | Hard Drive: INTEL OPTANE 900P 480GB,1 x SAMSUNG 980 PRO 2TB,2 X ADATA S8200X 2TB
Back to Top
djieno View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Mar 2024
Location: Amsterdam
Status: Offline
Points: 95
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote djieno Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Mar 2024 at 4:37pm
In my setup I can relate to these options:

OC tweaker:

Overclock mode (speed bus) (option auto/manual)
manual:
     bclk(mhz)
cpu frequency and voltage (vid) change
soc/uncore oc mode (options: auto disbaled enabled
soc/uncore oc voltage (VID) (auto)
cld0 cddp voltage control
cld0 cddg ccd voltage control

DRAM etc below
###############
Advanced/amd cbs:
     performance
          custom core pstates
               accept
               Options auto/custom)
               custom give:
                    pstates freq mhz
                    pstates vid
                    
I went through alle menus under both main sections - didn't see the power supply idle settings.

I also searched the nvram.txt for possible combinations. Could you check the codeshare is posted if 'I need better glases' ? :D

Already much appreciated for your help sofar!
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.219 seconds.