ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - FM2A88X Pro3+ PCIe support for non-graphics cards
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

FM2A88X Pro3+ PCIe support for non-graphics cards

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
2twisty View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Aug 2016
Location: Salt Flat, TX
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 2twisty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: FM2A88X Pro3+ PCIe support for non-graphics cards
    Posted: 28 Aug 2016 at 4:35am
I have an FM2A88X PRO3+.

It has 2 PCIe x16 slots.  I am trying to get an Intel Pro1000 PL Dual Port NIC (PCIe x4 interface) working as well as a 3Ware 9650SE RAID Adapter (PCIe x8 interface).

I get nothing from either card regardless of which slot I install them in.  From the manual, PCIe Slot 5 is limited to x4 when there is a card in PCIe Slot 4.   I put the RAID card in PCIe Slot 4 (since it's x8) and the NIC in PCIe Slot 5 (since it's x4).

I've tried them independently in both slots also.  I have found no configuration that allows these cards to function.

Are the PCIe x16 slots somehow limited to the use of graphics cards? If so, are there any FM2+ motherboards (ASRock or otherwise) that will support these cards?

Please advise.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Aug 2016 at 5:00am
Are you using the iGPU or a discreet GPU?

Too, what processor are you using?

Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Aug 2016 at 8:38pm
Originally posted by 2twisty 2twisty wrote:

I have an FM2A88X PRO3+.

It has 2 PCIe x16 slots.  I am trying to get an Intel Pro1000 PL Dual Port NIC (PCIe x4 interface) working as well as a 3Ware 9650SE RAID Adapter (PCIe x8 interface).

I get nothing from either card regardless of which slot I install them in.  From the manual, PCIe Slot 5 is limited to x4 when there is a card in PCIe Slot 4.   I put the RAID card in PCIe Slot 4 (since it's x8) and the NIC in PCIe Slot 5 (since it's x4).

I've tried them independently in both slots also.  I have found no configuration that allows these cards to function.

Are the PCIe x16 slots somehow limited to the use of graphics cards? If so, are there any FM2+ motherboards (ASRock or otherwise) that will support these cards?

Please advise.


You are using your cards in the correct slots. The PCIE4 slot is x16 electrically, and uses the PCIe lanes from the CPU. If you use an FM2+ CPU, that slot will be PCIe 3.0, otherwise it is PCIe 2.0.

The PCIE5 slot is x4 electrically, and uses lanes from the A88X chipset, which are PCIe 2.0.

Otherwise, these two slots are independent of each other regarding PCIe lanes.

Did you clear the UEFI/BIOS after installing these cards? That is the best practice when changing of adding hardware. In the UEFI, Tools screen, if you use the System Browser tool, are the cards recognized in the PCIe slots?

When I searched on the model number of the RAID card you provided, it found two PCIe x4 cards, the 3ware 9650SE-8LPML, and the 3ware 9650SE-4LPML. Is your card one of these, or another model?

Searching on the network card, it finds an IntelĀ® PRO/1000 PL Dual Port Server Adapter card. It seems to be an older model that Intel does not include among their networking products.

Do you have the AddOn ROM Display option set to enabled in the UEFI? If so, when you start the PC you should see at least the RAID card's Option ROM displayed when the PC starts.

Have you installed the drivers for these cards? What OS are you using?
Back to Top
2twisty View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Aug 2016
Location: Salt Flat, TX
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 2twisty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Aug 2016 at 1:43am
This is the card I'm trying to use in PCIe4:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/162171266454?lpid=82&chn=ps&ul_noapp=true

And it's an x8 card when you jump to 12 ports.  The NIC is a x4.

I do have the option ROM display turned on.  I did not reset the UEFI and I didn't see the card IDd in the BIOS, but I wasn't looking for it.

I'll reinstall the card and try again. 

I am trying to run ESXi on this machine, and I know it has builtin drivers for both the NIC and the 9650se (which is why I chose those devices.)

Processor is http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819113371

8GB Ram: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231654

I'll try the BIOS stuff you suggested and reply again with the results.
Back to Top
2twisty View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Aug 2016
Location: Salt Flat, TX
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 2twisty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Aug 2016 at 1:52am
I reset the UEFI and when I load the system browser, I see only an image of the motherboard with no cards installed.

I also just checked to see if there was a firmware update, and I'm on the latest version already.

Also, I'm using the onboard video.
Back to Top
2twisty View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Aug 2016
Location: Salt Flat, TX
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 2twisty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Aug 2016 at 2:09am
OK.  System Browser does show the NIC when I install it in PCIe5.  So it's possible that ESXi isn't loading the drivers for it.

I cant get it to see the RAID card at all.  I'll contact the vendor.

I'll keep trying to get the NIC going, since at least the MB can see it.
Back to Top
2twisty View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Aug 2016
Location: Salt Flat, TX
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 2twisty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Aug 2016 at 2:44am
UPDATE: NIC is fine and working properly.  It was a driver issue, strangely.  I'll contact the vendor of the RAID card for additional support.  Once I have it working, I will update this thread for completeness.

Thanks!
Back to Top
2twisty View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Aug 2016
Location: Salt Flat, TX
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 2twisty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2016 at 3:21am
UPDATE: I received another card from the seller and I'm getting the same result.  The System browser did not see the card at all.  On one of the myriad  boot attempts I made, it tried to init the card, but then said that it could not communicate with the BIOS.

I am starting to think that there is some incompatibility between the UEFI bios on this motherboard and the 9650se.  My google searches revealed that the 9650se doesn't allways re-init on soft boot on a UEFI machine.

Are any of you aware of an inexpensive SAS / Hardware raid card that is KNOWN to work with this motherboard?

I really don't need the hardware RAID for my application, but hardware RAID cards by the big makers are usually good cards and have battery backed caches for better performance and fault tolerance.

I can buy system-pull used boards on eBay for less than I can buy a simple 4-port SATA PCIe x1 card.  So I figure why not get the better device ---- but I struck out on a compatibility issue with the 9650se.

:(


Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.145 seconds.