ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - populating both 8 pin (#1) & 4pin (#2) power
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

populating both 8 pin (#1) & 4pin (#2) power

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Mikey View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 30 Mar 2024
Location: maryland
Status: Offline
Points: 55
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mikey Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: populating both 8 pin (#1) & 4pin (#2) power
    Posted: 31 Mar 2024 at 4:12am
I built a pc with Ryzen7 5800x3d, and asrock b550 extreme4 mobo. As a novice at gaming which gpu would need the extra power of the #2 power 4 pin?
Back to Top
eccential View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 10 Oct 2022
Location: Nevada
Status: Offline
Points: 4375
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eccential Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Apr 2024 at 9:39pm
That optional plug is for extreme CPU overclocking.

It has nothing to do with GPUs, as any reasonably powerful GPU would get its power through their own 6, 8, or even multiple 8-pin connectors.

You really can't, and shouldn't push 5800X3D that hard, as you won't be able to cool it (the VCache die is on top of the core die and will limit heat dissipation), so I see absolutely no reason for you to need that optional 4-pin CPU power connector.
Back to Top
Mikey View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 30 Mar 2024
Location: maryland
Status: Offline
Points: 55
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mikey Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2024 at 8:29pm
Thanks
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.