ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > OverClocking(OC) Zone > OC Technical Discussion
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - 7700k & Z270 Extreme4 - Can't get 5Ghz Stable :/
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

7700k & Z270 Extreme4 - Can't get 5Ghz Stable :/

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
MASTRandDSASTR View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 21 May 2017
Location: South Carolina
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MASTRandDSASTR Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 May 2017 at 10:21pm
I was reading this to see I found anyone that has OC their 7700k over the 5Ghz mark. It seems 5Ghz is a kind of threshold for most. Im not an expert, but I do have some experience OC, and I was running @5.2Ghz-1.395v when I found this. Using the same MoBo in question (z270 Extreme4). The preset OCs are nifty, but it seems it's more for noobs than anything. Needless to say I tried those too. Not bad, but the performance gain did not justify the temperature raise. I was looking at 80c-90c+ depending on settings attempted. This was before I decided to delid (using Cool laboratories liquid metal) and add an AIO cooler. Works great. i have now been able to reach 5.3Ghz-1.47v. Looks stable to me. More testing needs to be done. My question for anyone working with similar CPU and MoBo is: Have you gotten higher clocks?, and if so; please let me know what speed you tried, and at what voltage. I've even tried with the PLL and VCCIO, but I don't think I'm that experienced yet. Message me please or just reply to my post. Id like to see what other people are working with. Personally I don't see how 5Ghz is super impressive in the Kaby Lake. I was expecting more.



M&D
Back to Top
MaloW View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Mar 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MaloW Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Mar 2017 at 5:47am
I am too noticing instability with LCC on my Z270 Extreme4.
With LLC level 4 (lowest) my 7700K is stable at 5.0Ghz through hours of RealBench at offset voltage +235mv, which results in a voltage between 1.312-1.328V during RealBench. However when doing light browsing and stuff I'm getting spikes up to 1.440V, so I would like to use LLC to get those down a bit.
However with LLC level 3, and the offset voltage set to +175mv, the spikes are down to 1.392V, and I get 1.328-1.344V during RealBench, which is quite a bit higher voltage than with LLC4, but it results in blue screens after just seconds or minutes of RealBench.

Does anyone have any tips on how to fix this? Or is it an issue with the actual board that can't be fixed?
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 12823
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Feb 2017 at 3:14pm
All I know is that 1 is the highest value and 4 is the lowest. Auto seems to do exactly what it says, dynamically adjust between 1 - 4 or off. I played around with this a lot on my Z270 Gaming K6 when I was pushing my overclocks and found the best results on auto. I achieved 5.1ghz @1.44v with water cooling and 5.0 at 1.38v on air.

I now use the system @stock with MCE enabled which puts me at 4.2ghz and it is more than adequate for my every day tasks/gaming. If I had a decent GPU then it would be worth pushing it to 4.8 or even 5.0 but my GTX 960 bottlenecks long before the 7600k in my system.

So far as I could figure out, auto is the closest thing to off you will find.
Back to Top
morbid_bean View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Feb 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote morbid_bean Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Feb 2017 at 2:43pm
Originally posted by Nyrdian Nyrdian wrote:

May i ask how to turn off LLC? I only have auto, lvl1-2-3-4 

I too would also like to know this.
Back to Top
Nyrdian View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Feb 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Nyrdian Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Feb 2017 at 4:44am
May i ask how to turn off LLC? I only have auto, lvl1-2-3-4 
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 12823
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2017 at 12:09am
Thanks for the info Thumbs Up

These boards are still very new and so far a lot better than the 100 series boards were on release, still, there will be some bugs to work out.
Back to Top
vyktym View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Jan 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote vyktym Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2017 at 12:06am
The VRMs are warm to the touch, but certainly not hot. The fan has a solid amount of airflow over them.

Even with LLC off and 1.4v+ (actual), it's still rock solid. The LLC setting itself is the issue, not VRM temps :D

With LLC on even at 1.2v, I get random hangs.

Edited by vyktym - 25 Jan 2017 at 12:09am
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 12823
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2017 at 12:01am
It sounds like the cooling on your VRMs isn't adequate, LLC causes higher VRM temps Wink

If you are stable without it though then all is well, I prefer not using it if I don't have to.
Back to Top
vyktym View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Jan 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote vyktym Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jan 2017 at 11:54pm
Turned out that turning LLC (LoadLine Calibration) on at all causes random hangs.

No LLC, no hangs. GJ Assrock!

1.36v 50x/48x
1.32v 50x/45x 

Both rock solid. With AVX at 50x


Edited by vyktym - 24 Jan 2017 at 11:55pm
Back to Top
vyktym View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Jan 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote vyktym Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jan 2017 at 9:09am
I have a side-panel fan (Corsair ML120) blowing straight over whole system. VRM heatsinks are warm to the touch, but not 'hot' by any means. Friend's Gigabyte board doesn't have his VRMs in his loop (yet). Vcore on his board checked by multimeter on the test points (which correspond exactly with what's being shown in CPU-Z and HWMonitor). His 7700k is 100% rock solid at 1.35v, which is even better :D

I've set cache at 42x the entire time just for testing purposes. All C-States and power saving has been turned off. I've turned ICCMax to 255a in Intel XTU

I'm using the latest BIOS, whichever one that happens to be (updated it less than a week ago from the BIOS download section). Haven't tried an beta versions, might be worth looking at. 
Edit: I am indeed on 1.30. I'll try 1.33a when I get home from work, great suggestion (y)

Pre de-lid, I'd hit 90+ at 1.28v, it was terrible. I'm using a Thermaltake Toughpower Gold 750, he's using a Thermaltake DPS 800. I have a Radeon 290X and he has a GTX980, both are looped into our kits, but are under 0 load and aren't a factor.

At 1.36v, I'm barely hitting 75c at 50% radiator fan speed :D If I bring vcore down too much, Prime95 threads will start failing, so this hanging doesn't seem vcore related.




Edited by vyktym - 24 Jan 2017 at 9:22am
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.145 seconds.