ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - New Bios (7.06) bricked with XMP on, Broke Window
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

New Bios (7.06) bricked with XMP on, Broke Window

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Message
Perec1975 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 Jun 2024
Status: Offline
Points: 75
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Perec1975 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jun 2024 at 4:05am
Darkje,

I read this article abbreviated the day before yesterday in an online technical paper, where even then it was stated as a fact that eTVB is the cause of the freezes according to Intel, then the next day Intel issued a correction that it is only a possible cause, saying that the voltage runs out if the eTVB is switched on. That said, Intel's recommendation based on the chart in the article is to have eTVB enabled, as far as I can see, despite current BIOSes handling it poorly. WTF? :D
Back to Top
Darkje View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 30 Dec 2022
Status: Online
Points: 930
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Darkje Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jun 2024 at 7:40pm
Originally posted by Perec1975 Perec1975 wrote:

Darkje,

I read this article abbreviated the day before yesterday in an online technical paper, where even then it was stated as a fact that eTVB is the cause of the freezes according to Intel, then the next day Intel issued a correction that it is only a possible cause, saying that the voltage runs out if the eTVB is switched on. That said, Intel's recommendation based on the chart in the article is to have eTVB enabled, as far as I can see, despite current BIOSes handling it poorly. WTF? :D


Yeah it seems they have a hard time making up their mind about what exactly are the proper settings. You really can't blame asrock or any other oem besides intel for setting up for the best possible performance, as it was a long standing tradition across all brands to be quite liberal on voltage, amps and multiplier settings. Only when problems surfaced they started coming back on that, first blaming motherboard vendors for the issue they themselves created by pushing their tech to the edge without much (or any) headroom, while still selling it as 'K' versions we all expected to be reasonably overclock-able.
Back to Top
Perec1975 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 Jun 2024
Status: Offline
Points: 75
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Perec1975 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jun 2024 at 3:10am
That's exactly how I see it. But the motherboard manufacturers could have given the customers "security" by offering TURBO, OC, Extrem... any other settings as a base with an Intel, AMD "stupid sure" setting, which I don't think has been adjusted exactly to this day into the BIOS. The same is true for memory, with AsRock Optimized and other timings, in addition to the XMP profile, which also approach the timings guaranteed by the memory manufacturer by 1-2 points if this option is turned on. If you don't like rummaging through the BIOS, either because you don't understand it, or because you think that when you build a machine, all the components will be coordinated and run on their factory settings and not on settings "optimized" by the motherboard manufacturer, this is unpleasant. Because you don't know where to turn, you can look for the fault..... :(
My problem seems to be temporarily solved, the freezes stopped when I replaced the memory pair that generated the Fantom XMP profile mentioned above with the same memory pair taken from the second PC, but which did not produce an error. I am now running the rounds with the dealer, who will admit the memory error after testing it. And this is also produced by the memory in His test machine. In vain, I sent him a video of the error phenomenon with the bad memories, and then of the flawlessly working machine I installed. If the returned memory in His PC
if it doesn't produce the error, then I have a couple of expensive unusable memories in my possession, which can only be solved by the manufacturer's RMA, or not at all...
Back to Top
jdmcclintic View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 16 Jun 2024
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 110
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jdmcclintic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2024 at 2:35am
So ASRock has a new Beta BIOS out (As of June 28th), V9.01. As stated:

1. Update CPU microcode to 0x125.
2. Improve memory compatibility.

Going to be installing today. If you don't here from me this afternoon, it broke everything, and I am fixing it again. Wish me luck.

Is there a e-mail list we can get on to know when these things drop?

Also, if this doesn't fix it, I will be ordering new Heat Sink Paste to reseat CPU before doing a clean install. Started as a clean install just a couple months ago. Never had this many problems with any lower-end build before. Makes me miss my i7 5820k. Was like an old Ford f-150. sh*tty gas mileage but got the work done.

Also, I see that one of my Ram modules also seems to have slightly different specs. Not sure if it was the first set, or the second set I bought two months later though. They are matched up according to when they were bought, though.
Intel i9 14900kf
ASRock z790 Riptide WiFi
NVidia 3080 10 gb
128 GB G Skill DDR5
Back to Top
jdmcclintic View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 16 Jun 2024
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 110
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jdmcclintic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2024 at 4:26am
OK, installed new BIOS (9.1). Still can't do default CPU multipliers. Still only stable at 56 and 44. New BIOS wanted to volt to 400, so I also put it back at 307. Basically back to what I had on the old BIOS, BUT my Cinebench did increase back up a bit, to 28596 MC, and 2034 SC From 20522 MC. Much more respectable numbers, but still down from my original numbers on this CPU. At this point, I will take the 5.5x performance increase and just pray for years of stability.
Intel i9 14900kf
ASRock z790 Riptide WiFi
NVidia 3080 10 gb
128 GB G Skill DDR5
Back to Top
Darkje View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 30 Dec 2022
Status: Online
Points: 930
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Darkje Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2024 at 5:44am
I also installed the new beta bios for my board, v16.01 with microcode 0x125. I don't think it did anything on my 13600kf, must be for 1x900's I guess... I appreciate the effort taken on these updates, but I would like it if a bit more info could be provided from the bios developers as to what has gone in and what cpu's it's for. As it is now the description is very minimal. I understand they can't do a full review for every board/bios, but some kind of general blog with a better description would be very much appreciated I think. In this case what the microcode update is for and what cpu's it affects, and what memories where newly qualified for z690/z790 boards.

@jdmcclintic CB multi score seems a bit low, I'm getting 25k+ albeit with multi's set to 14600 standard +2x om p-cores and +1x on e-cores (53 and 40x, instead of 51/39x)
Back to Top
Darkje View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 30 Dec 2022
Status: Online
Points: 930
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Darkje Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2024 at 6:14am
just rerun cb23 to be sure and also get a sc score, to compare:
https://imgur.com/a/hGnjFJF
Back to Top
jdmcclintic View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 16 Jun 2024
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 110
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jdmcclintic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2024 at 11:17am
Ran it 3 times. Before the second to last BIOS, I was actually at 33k, then it dropped to 22k with the last BIOS before this, so this is a huge improvement if their goal is to get stability and speed. I have seen the same CPU on Asus boards online hitting 38k. Going to keep playing with the settings to see if I can tweak it up a bit more, but I had work to get too, and can't risk loosing too much time with it. Gotta go slow and steady so I can prevent catastrophic breakage.
Intel i9 14900kf
ASRock z790 Riptide WiFi
NVidia 3080 10 gb
128 GB G Skill DDR5
Back to Top
Darkje View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 30 Dec 2022
Status: Online
Points: 930
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Darkje Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2024 at 5:00pm
Yeah, 30kplus seems more inline with what is to be expected. I'm guessing you have appropriate cooling and just need to find the right tweaks to get up there again. The TVB thing starts kicking in pretty soon in my opinion, reducing turbo once the temp reaches 70 degC, all too easy to get on these cpu's. Having said that, of course this limit is there for stability and durability reasons, so maybe just go with it despite a minor performance reduction you're probably only going to notice in a benchmark anyway.
Back to Top
Darkje View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 30 Dec 2022
Status: Online
Points: 930
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Darkje Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jul 2024 at 8:33pm
The final bioses with the 0x125 microcode update seem te be live now.
https://www.asrock.com/support/index.asp?cat=BIOS
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.188 seconds.