ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X370 Professional Gaming Debug Code F9
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

X370 Professional Gaming Debug Code F9

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
midgard00 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 Mar 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote midgard00 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X370 Professional Gaming Debug Code F9
    Posted: 30 Mar 2017 at 12:35am
Hello,

I have a 1700X running on the X370 Professional Gaming. Sometimes when I start or restart the System, before I am able to get into the BIOS the debug LED will stop at F9. The system shuts down and restarts after 1-2 seconds. This repeats 3-6 times, then the system starts normally but all by BIOS settings are gone.
This sometimes happens when I cold start the PC, sometimes when I restart it after several hours of gaming and sometimes when restarting after a failed OC attempt.
It does not seem to matter if the CPU is currently OCed or running at stock, same goes for RAM.

I have installed every new BIOS since launch including V1.93D and it has so far happened with every version.


System:
1700X
X370 Professional Gaming
Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000 2x8GB
RX 480 8G
be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 850W


Thanks for any help or tips!
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Mar 2017 at 2:40am
This is most likely being caused by the system RAM tripping Boot Failure Guard.

Now, before I typed "Boot Failure Guard'(BFG) out above I spoke with an ASRock employee that, BOIS issues not being his thing, we both agree BFG tripping.

You have something, a setting or component(memory likely) that is causing instability at/during POST that BFG is remedying so that you don't need to manually reach in and reset your BIOS.


Since Corsair hasn't seen fit to list ANY MANUFACTURERS X370 MBs, let alone anyone's Z270 MBs either, all I can instruct you to do is contact Corsair yourself and inquire if the Kit you have is compatible with the X370 Pro Gaming you have.


Way WAY behind the curve is Corsairs Memory Finder.
http://www.corsair.com/en-us/memory-finder







Back to Top
midgard00 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 Mar 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote midgard00 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Mar 2017 at 3:50am
Thank you very much for that information.
I can in fakt reproduce this behaviour if I set the RAM to too high frequencies.

With the RAM stable in Windows (according to Memtest), this sounds to me like there would e.g. be a small DRAM Voltage drop at POST causing this instability. I have heard that on the ASUS Crosshair you can set a DRAM Boot-Voltage, which could in my understanding help here.

Do you know if there is any plan to add such a setting to the BIOS?
Back to Top
antonio70 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote antonio70 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Sep 2017 at 4:15pm
Bump up. DRAM Boot-Voltage could help. I have same issues with error code F9. Are there any plans to implement this settings to BIOS since 29march?
Back to Top
cx5 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 613
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cx5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Oct 2017 at 11:05am
did not help for me, all the way up to 1.4V not solving F9 cold boot. Just started 4 days ago.
X370Taichi 4x8GB HOF4CXLBS3600K17LD162C CX750M Optane900P TT_V71
3800x PoseidonAbsoluteZero4 BarrowPWM-17w pump4200rpm>bykski420x140x28
XFX SWFT 319 6900XT
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Oct 2017 at 12:02am
Someone needs to open an ASRock ticket and get this defined:
F9 - Recovery capsule is not found

Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
SprHr0 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 Feb 2018
Location: philippines
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SprHr0 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Feb 2018 at 9:31pm
this started for me yesterday. i had the computer on sleep.. somone in the house woke it but i didnt put it back down.. anyways it shut itself off which was strange. I had to reset the bios, re install the ram  to get it to boot up.  my ram is 

G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3466 (PC4 27700) Intel Z170 Platform Desktop Memory Model F4-3466C16D-16GVK

which will do 3466 but only in single channel when i cant go past 2666 in dual.
my processor is 1600x and my video card is gigabyte 1070 windforce oc dual fan.
when the system does boot after 2 or 3 retries the ram and bios are all as i left it.. hadnt had this problem until recently
Ideas?

Back to Top
SprHr0 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 Feb 2018
Location: philippines
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SprHr0 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Feb 2018 at 9:40pm
my board is the x370 gaming X

Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 972
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Feb 2018 at 10:01pm
try to toy with resistances, it should help
rtt/cad bus/proc odt
in my case with auto values 2933 max, anything above triggers f9 cold boot
with manual settings i can go as high as 3333mhz (which is not stable in memtest/windows) but no f9 trigerred
Back to Top
SprHr0 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 Feb 2018
Location: philippines
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SprHr0 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Feb 2018 at 7:20pm
i just booted up from a shutdown and no issues with the f9
i didnt do anything to the bios since last time

asrock X370 gaming X
G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3466 (PC4 27700) Model F4-3466C16D-16GVK
gigabyte windforce x2 1070gtx
ryzen 1600x
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.046 seconds.