ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - [AB350 Pro4] Overclocking via Pstates
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

[AB350 Pro4] Overclocking via Pstates

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
SiX-P4cK View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 25
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SiX-P4cK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: [AB350 Pro4] Overclocking via Pstates
    Posted: 12 May 2017 at 2:47am
Hello,

In the bios 2.50, there is a way to o/c via Pstates.

It's working but only for the P0 state.

It suppose to go lower (P1, P2) if the cpu is less use but it stay block in P0.

I use this configuration:



And auto in the OC Tweaker:


So it's half working because i'm @3.9Ghz.
But it never go lower and i expect 3.8Ghz when in idle.

I tried with the other Pstate in auto or disable and my power-plan in windows in balanced.

Someone was able to make it work? Use P1 or P2.


Edited by SiX-P4cK - 12 May 2017 at 2:49am
AMD R7-1700 @3.85Ghz 1.33V + Noctua NH-D15S
ASRock AB350 Pro4
G.Skill Ripjaws V Kit 2x8GB @3066 16-18-18-39
AMD Radeon RX 480 MSI GAMING X 4Go
Samsung 960 EVO 250GB SSD M.2 2280
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2017 at 2:55am

on my taichi the p state
1 2 and 3 etc all step down when enabled or set auto

have you checked they are not actually lower power by default ?
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
SiX-P4cK View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 25
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SiX-P4cK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2017 at 5:29am
I don't understand what you mean with " lower power by default ".

My Pstate configuration is on the first post.

P0 = 3.9Ghz
P1 = 3.8Ghz

So when i'm in idle i except 3.8Ghz, but i stay @3.9Ghz




Edited by SiX-P4cK - 12 May 2017 at 5:29am
AMD R7-1700 @3.85Ghz 1.33V + Noctua NH-D15S
ASRock AB350 Pro4
G.Skill Ripjaws V Kit 2x8GB @3066 16-18-18-39
AMD Radeon RX 480 MSI GAMING X 4Go
Samsung 960 EVO 250GB SSD M.2 2280
Back to Top
sparkydude77 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sparkydude77 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2017 at 7:00am
hey, i had similar problems on mine although i have a a 370 gaming k4. the workaround that worked for me and other is not to change the p0 voltage. leave it to whatever it was stock and only change the frequency and use vcore offset  to set it to your desired level. if you change the voltage in the p0 it tends to stay lock to p0 OR p1 and not change p states. also check you power plan adv setting to see/set min frequency % allowed by it.

Edited by sparkydude77 - 12 May 2017 at 7:01am
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2017 at 1:11pm
SiX-P4cK, I have the ASRock X370 Killer SLI/ac board, and I was able to get a lower P-State working. Our boards have different UEFI/BIOS, so I cannot guarantee this will work on your board.

You seem to be using the standard Windows Balanced Power Plan, and not the Ryzen Balanced Power Plan, right? When I used the Ryzen Balanced Power Plan, my method did NOT work.

I just got the multiple PState levels to work for the first time, so I'm still learning how to use them.

This is using the Windows Balanced Power Plan, default Processor settings.

Questions:

Do you have Cool N Quiet enabled? Do you have Global C States enabled?

I have both of those options enabled.

I have my CPU OC to 3.925GHz configured in the OC Tweaker screen, not just in the Custom Pstates screen. CPU Frequency and Voltage Change is set to Manual.

Here's a screenshot of the Custom Core Pstates screen:



Custom Pstate0 is my OC. I have the same frequency and VCore set in the OC Tweaker screen. I'm using Offset Voltage mode, Offset Voltage value set to Auto.

Notice that Custom Pstate1 is set to Auto.

Custom Pstate2, set to Custom, is really the default/automatic Pstate2 that the UEFI provides.

Task Manager is not the best way to monitor the changes in processor speed, but since you used it in your example, I will too:



Notice my Maximum speed is 3.92 GHz. This is a better example of the processor cores at different speeds:



As I said, this is my first success experimenting with Pstates. I have much more experimenting and testing to do. I suggest you try a lower frequency than 3.8GHz for the lower Pstate, at least as a test until you can control it as you want it to work.

Back to Top
SiX-P4cK View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 25
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SiX-P4cK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2017 at 7:10pm
Hello,

Thx for your answers.

My MB doesn't have the vcore offset option, so i can't use this trick.
I hope they will add it later because i have massive vdrop in charge:

1.375V configure in bios, 1.35 in idle and 1.26~1.28 in charge
On the next screen is with a fix vcore, just when i launch prime95




I tried with both: standard Windows Balanced Power Plan and the Ryzen Balanced Power Plan.

But it doesn't change.

My screen with the task maanger was to show i'm in idle, not in charge.
I use also HWiNFO to monitor.

Yes C&Q and Global C States enable.

I will try later like you with P0 = max o/c, P1 auto, P2 lower frequency like 3.2Ghz



Edited by SiX-P4cK - 12 May 2017 at 7:17pm
AMD R7-1700 @3.85Ghz 1.33V + Noctua NH-D15S
ASRock AB350 Pro4
G.Skill Ripjaws V Kit 2x8GB @3066 16-18-18-39
AMD Radeon RX 480 MSI GAMING X 4Go
Samsung 960 EVO 250GB SSD M.2 2280
Back to Top
avinicius View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Jun 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote avinicius Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2018 at 9:58am
Did you have any success?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.145 seconds.