ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Overclocking on B350 Pro4
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Overclocking on B350 Pro4

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 6>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2017 at 7:03am
which one of you is using a very early bios ?
thats not going to help either ,try the later ones with agesa 1006 at least

leave the ram set to auto/ 2133 while testing cpu overclocks

by the way i have NEVER used offset volts
ever since early april and bios revision 1.5

nor did i with both msi tomahawk b350's i overclocked with 1600 r5's

but i do know the incremential 25 and 50 mhz are more hassle than round numbers
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
superannoyed View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote superannoyed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2017 at 6:16am
As I said I've already tried booting without xx25 increments. I've tried with both PState and manually changing the Core Multiplier. Both don't work.

I've tried booting with lower frequencies and they don't work.

I was able to boot once each time with my PState OC's, first with an OC of 3825MHz @ 1.35v, and second with an OC of 3600MHz @ 1.35v. 

I instead had it downclocked to 2800MHz @ 1.385v.

The bottom line is, if I change the voltage in any way inside of the BIOS, it will not POST. I'm pretty sure the issues stems from setting static voltage, but without offset we can't nail the issue down.

I do appreciate that you're trying to help though. 

Also Zach, this was the guide I used to Pstate OC, you might find it helpful if you are going to try.
Please come back and post your results if it does work for you.

Thanks


Edited by superannoyed - 13 Oct 2017 at 6:32am
Back to Top
Zach1928 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 107
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zach1928 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2017 at 6:16am
See thats the thing though, is that the only 2 options for OCing are the frequency and voltage. All we can do is manually type in the desired freq. and manually set the voltage. There is no auto option (that I've seen) for voltage, and no multiplier slider for the frequency.
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2017 at 6:14am
the memory training actually helps now

its a slower boot but stabilises ram on cold boots
ive had to start switching it on for my ram settings (3333 cl14 using 3200 cl15 ram)

just remember leave the volts alone on the oc tweaker page (it really mucks things up after setting p state)

or another way is noob-overclocking  just slide up the multi to 37 or 38 and try it with everything on auto (keep an eye on the vcore though as bios's like to run higher volts than we would like to see)
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
Zach1928 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 107
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zach1928 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2017 at 6:09am
Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:

is this just a moan about b350 thread or can anyone join in and actually TRY TO HELP YOU GUYS



We're commiserating on our experiences lol. I can try those PState settings you posted over the weekend when I've got some time, but I'm expecting the same issue. I watched the vid the other day and turned off the memory training, and the C6 stuff (per the video guidelines) which didn't work.

Edited by Zach1928 - 13 Oct 2017 at 6:11am
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2017 at 6:04am
is this just a moan about b350 thread or can anyone join in and actually TRY TO HELP YOU GUYS

[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
Zach1928 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 107
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zach1928 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2017 at 6:03am
I hear you completely. The X370 killer has some 1 star reviews on Newegg noting the inability to OC. The gigabyte x370 K5 looks like a potential replacement candidate. I've had good experience with my Gigabyte RX570 which has OC'd like a dream, for what it's worth.

Edited by Zach1928 - 13 Oct 2017 at 6:41am
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2017 at 6:02am
and clear the cmos first
eg jumper pin and battery out
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2017 at 6:01am
as i said dont overclock using the XX25 mhz  use solid numbers
eg 3700/3800/3900

heres a guide to pstate overclocking for asrock
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=52Tw-wcT7o4
for 3800 use settings
fid = 98
did = 8
vid = 20

leave everything in oc tweaker alone !
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
superannoyed View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote superannoyed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2017 at 5:58am
I realize they are "2nd Tier", but this bug is a pretty big issue for owners of this board. Offset, LLC, and SOC missing was fine with me when I first booted it up, as long as I could dial in an OC.

I was also hoping it would last me a good 4-5 years, but nope, guess not.

We also don't know when AGESA 1007 is releasing so that's one of the reasons I may just skip the hassle and buy a different board. 

I guess it's a good board if you're not overclocking, which I guess ASRock thought that most people who OC would just go for their X370's. I'm just really salty because other B350's (and some Pro4's) are actually able to at least POST LOL
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 6>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.140 seconds.