ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Overclocking on B350 Pro4
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Overclocking on B350 Pro4

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 456
Author
Message
Zach1928 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 107
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zach1928 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2017 at 11:50pm
Originally posted by minnesnowta minnesnowta wrote:

Originally posted by Zach1928 Zach1928 wrote:


I hope you mean 1.325 volts otherwise that chip will be fried..


I believe anything above 1.45 is the "danger zone". My chip stays below 75 degrees when running prime95 and doesn't break 60 degrees when running PUBG.?

If I lose a year or two out of the lifespan of my chip, I won't mind, especially since I'll probably be upgrading to the next Ryzen chips next year if the IPC is better.


Totally up to you, however you shouldn't need to go that high for a stable 3.8ghz OC from what I've seen. Mostly all chips can hit 3.8-3.9 in the 1.35 range no problem. Also, they replied to my ticket about the UEFI overclocking so I'll keep y'all posted if anything comes of it.
Back to Top
superannoyed View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote superannoyed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Oct 2017 at 10:22am
Awesome, thanks!
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Oct 2017 at 10:54am
Originally posted by superannoyed superannoyed wrote:

AFAIK anything over 1.45v 24/7 will result in degradation to your Ryzen chip, and anything below that should be fine. But I myself wouldn't go above 1.4v because the extra heat and power consumption only nets me an extra 100Mhz increase, so it's not worth it.


I agree that the VCore should be as low as possible for multiple reasons, and ~1.35V is usually enough for 3.7 - 3.9GHz depending on the CPU.

But apparently you did not notice the Auto/default VCore and VIDs. Using a 1700X with an ASRock X370 board, the Auto/default VCore was ~1.45V, with the core VIDs at 1.5V. VIDs are programmed into the processor by the manufacture, so should not allow a destructive VCore to be applied to the processor. Actually, the maximum VID defines the VCore limit that may be applied. Again, way more than necessary, but apparently not outside of AMD's design.

Back to Top
Zach1928 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 107
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zach1928 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Oct 2017 at 12:49am
From ASRock

"Its able to reach 3900 with voltage 1.36. Also test with 1.34v @ 3900 still working.
However, due to power design the max CPU voltage could reach 1.36 regardless or set at 1.37 or 1.38, the BIOS H/W monitor will shown 1.36 but CPU-Z might shown 1.375
Please see attached screenshot.
Please be advice, the overclocking is not always guaranteed, its depends on adopted components and the whole system configuration."

To give context- he said he got the OC to 3.4ghz at 1.35v or something. ASked if he could try and push more closer to where we are. That is his latest response. Also he is using UEFI P3.2, and RAM is all at 2133
Back to Top
Zach1928 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 107
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zach1928 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Nov 2017 at 4:47am
Alright so for those who are interested- bios 3.2 works good. OC'd to 3.8 @ 1.35v, and the memory work at 2666 just by turning on XMP. Lowered timings to 14-14-14-14-35 and left the voltage at the 1.2 auto and it works like a dream
Back to Top
superannoyed View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote superannoyed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2017 at 7:03am
Will try on the weekend, thanks for the update!

Do you have any issues on 3.2?

EDIT: Unfortunately, it doesn't work. This sucks, rather my luck is just cringe worthy. Time to get a new motherboard...sigh


Edited by superannoyed - 18 Nov 2017 at 2:41pm
Back to Top
arsn View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote arsn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 2017 at 7:52am
Originally posted by superannoyed superannoyed wrote:

I just tried PState0 OC'ing with the BIOS 3.0, and it doesn't work. I set the VID to 20 (1.35v) or 1E (1.36v) and the FID to 99 (3825) and had a lot of trouble booting. When I did, HWiNFO64 told me my clock was at 2800 and my vcore was around 1.375-1.385.

I tried with lower values, and needless to say, it didn't work for me.

I'm inclined to believe this board is just garbage. This was my first ASRock board, and I'm thoroughly disappointed if it won't even let me Save & Exit with the settings. It's stable in Ryzen Master, so it's not the chip being unable to handle the OC. I can't even boot with lower values!

If anything this experience has taught me not to buy a budget board, and just go full out on the best board because this is absolutely annoying.


I get this same bug.

Originally posted by Zach1928 Zach1928 wrote:

Alright so for those who are interested- bios 3.2 works good. OC'd to 3.8 @ 1.35v, and the memory work at 2666 just by turning on XMP. Lowered timings to 14-14-14-14-35 and left the voltage at the 1.2 auto and it works like a dream


Your overclock doesn't stay stuck at 1.35V?
Back to Top
superannoyed View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote superannoyed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2018 at 9:46am
UPDATE: Updated to BIOS P4.60, and it fixed all my problems.

R5-1600 Stable at 3825MHz @ 1.35625v and was able to get my Coasair Vengeance LED 2 x 8GB ram stable at 2933MHz with timings 16-17-17-17-35 @ 1.35v with XMP.

Great BIOS all-in-all. Finally happy.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 456
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.142 seconds.