ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Dual GPU not working on x399 Taichi
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Dual GPU not working on x399 Taichi

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2017 at 4:28am
are you sure the power supply is up to it ?

is the psu single or dual rail ?
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2017 at 3:56am
noktek, first, please post your system specifications, including the versions of OS and BIOS and power supply - I suggest in your signature as I have.  As daddyo said, power is very important.  Plugging in the MB PCIe power cable when it is not needed definitely should not prevent the system from powering up.  I connected mine just to have a place to park the connector - no problem.  Make sure you are using the PCIe power cables not the CPU cables for the video cards and the MB PCIe connector.  I have never tried multiple video cards, so I have some questions.  Is it OK to use different model cards?  Have you connected the bridge connector(s) between the two cards?  Please tell us what PCIE slots you are using.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
daddyo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 30 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 54
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote daddyo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2017 at 2:05am
Hmm I'm curious to see what you will find. I too am interested in setting up a second GPU on the same system that you have, but have not bought a second card yet. I also want to do 3D rendering. I'm waiting to have money saved up to buy that second GPU.

Here's one thing you can try. Plug your main 1080ti in the pcie slot you were intending for the 780, but have it there by itself initially. Can it be used as a display card? Does it work fine?

If it does, can you plug the 780 in the other slot? 

I just wanted to see if that pci slot had any issues. If one card alone works fine in either of the PCIE slots, then I suspect there's some configuration error?

Another thing to look into is power supply. It's not enough to have power properly connected to the card, make sure there isn't a specific way you need to feed those cords on the rails of your PSU. I had problems with mine powering one card until I configured it right.


Edited by daddyo - 18 Nov 2017 at 2:13am
Back to Top
noktek View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote noktek Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Nov 2017 at 9:30pm
I've put together a new PC for 3d modelling, rendering and illustration

Its a threadripper 1950 with x399Taichi, and a 1080Ti.

I also wanted to add a 780SC i have around so that CUDA based rendering will be almost twice as fast!

The cards work fine on their own on different systems, but as soon as i put them together in the threadripper, the 780 displays the yellow triangle in the device manager and gives Code 43

If i decide to uninstall the card and reboot nothing changes. He eventually finds the drivers installs them (they are the same for the 1080 anyway) and nothing changes.

If i decide to screen output through the 780, as soon as the nvidia drivers are installed the screen goes black.

basically the 780 is detected but its a zombie dummy sitting by. 
If i remove uninstall the 780 it then shows up as VGA adapter displaying no errors.

I have since then noticed i had not plugged in the 4pin power connector PSU-MOBO
I was so happy and sure i had found the solution.. but then i turned on and it didnt work

so i tought i might aswell try and plug the 6pin power connector that is described as "needed if running 4 gpus", but then the pc does not turn on...


Edited by noktek - 18 Nov 2017 at 6:34pm
Threadripper 1950, Asrock Taichi x399, Noctua 14s, Vengeance LPX 64gb 3066, Asus Strix 1080Ti, EVGA 780 SC, Corsair Hx1200, Samsung 960pro 512, evo 1gb, Barracuda 3gb, win10 64, bios 1.8
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.156 seconds.