ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X99 Extreme 6ac eSATA
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

X99 Extreme 6ac eSATA

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
colon777 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Aug 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote colon777 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X99 Extreme 6ac eSATA
    Posted: 31 Aug 2015 at 1:44am
Does anyone know if the eSATA on this board supports port multiplier? Does anyone know the name of the chipset controlling eSATA?

I am trying to connect a Mediasonic ProBox HF2-SU3S2 4 Bay 3.5" Hard Drive Enclosure with 4 1TB drives to the eSATA port but for some reason it is not recognized. On the bios, only one hard drive is detected. However, I get nothing in Windows 7. Mediasonic says the eSATA must support port multiplier. How can I find this out? The ASRock site does not provide any information on this.

Any help is appreciated.
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Aug 2015 at 2:51am
The X99 Extreme6/ac only uses the Intel X99 chipset that provides the 10 SATA ports. The eSATA port is shared with the SSATA3_3 port.

You'll need to trust me on this since it is difficult to find this information, and it will take a while for me to verify this absolutely.

In the past, Intel SATA ports have never supported port multipliers. Apparently some of the add on SATA chipsets like the ASMedia 1061 support port multipliers, but that chipset is rarely if ever used on X99 boards.

I checked the X99 datasheet and the only discussion of port multipliers involves dealing with messages associated with them from an HBA card, as far as I can tell.

You can check this document yourself, but AFAIK port multipliers are not supported on any Intel chipsets.

http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/chipsets/x99-chipset-pch-datasheet.html
Back to Top
colon777 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Aug 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote colon777 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Aug 2015 at 3:46am
Thanks for the information. I've searched everywhere for this information. I was afraid that it would not be supported.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.219 seconds.