ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Taichi x399 new bios?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Taichi x399 new bios?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
Author
Message
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2018 at 12:46am
daddyo, I am almost sure you would need to do a Delete Array on all your drives to create RAIDs.  This would include your system drive.  After creating the VOLUME, you would need to install W10 on it.  AMD says better things are coming but, of course, no time frame given.  I have no experience with Intel but have created several RAIDs on AMD based systems and was really surprised with the mess this TR is.  There may be a time when you can simply create the real RAIDs you want (no VOLUMEs) and go on your way.  Being an optimist, I would hope to get a RAID5 also.  I have never asked AMD about RAID5 but was stunned when I saw it was not offered.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
Meluto View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 07 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Meluto Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Mar 2018 at 5:12pm
So, I think Asrock holds not as a priority this MB and I should not expect a new Bios for X399 platform any time soon
Taichi x399 MB
64GB RAM G.Skill - 2x F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR kits
Threadripper 1950x
EKWB water loop, XSPC CPU block
550MX 1Tb ssd & 12Tb hdd
2x EVGA SC BE 1080 ti
SB AE-5 sound
Phantek Enthoo Primo case
Back to Top
mixmasstrw View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 07 Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mixmasstrw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Mar 2018 at 11:58pm

I am also waiting for Asrock to update the bios for x399.
Like some of You, I am counting on accelerating the memory after the update of AGESA -

Which in my opinion should have been introduced on this platform a long time ago.
G.Skill F4-3200C16Q-32GTZB running daily on auto (around 2200 not 3200).

It's hard to turn it up on my personal rig, I tried it a bit (certainly not long enough), but without success.



Edited by mixmasstrw - 16 Mar 2018 at 12:04am
AZ
Back to Top
TANWare View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 120
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TANWare Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Mar 2018 at 12:56am
TBH I do not think any X399 system holds priority for any manufacturer. TR system sale were so minimal compared to others that they will tend to follow the money. That and AGESA seems to be behind for the x399 as well compared to x370 etc..
x399 Taichi, 1950x, 32GB 3466 DDR4
2x500GB 960EVO,Asus 1080TI
Passmark
Back to Top
SoniC View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 183
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SoniC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Mar 2018 at 1:47am
Let's hope they will wake up when TR+ will be coming and then we will receive some support...
-=SoniC=-
TR x1950, ASRock X399 FPG (v. 3.33A), G.Skill 3200 CL14 64GB, Enermax LiqTech 280,
AMD Vega 64 LC, 10x HDDs (mostly Hitachi), 2x M.2 (970EVO,960Pro), Xonar DX, AX1200i PSU
Back to Top
mixmasstrw View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 07 Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mixmasstrw Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Mar 2018 at 8:51pm
I wrote to them in this matter, but I received only a general answer. Unfortunately, I think that the new bios on our platform will not come quickly :/

"yes, I guess so AMD will provide new AGESA code in future.
But I do not have any information when and if the memory module improvement inside.
I will forward your request to our BIOS department and inform AMD as well.

At this moment, only thing I can say is check from time to time the BIOS download page.

Best regards,

ASRock Support"
AZ
Back to Top
TANWare View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 120
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TANWare Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Mar 2018 at 6:10am
It kind of sux, to say the least. I love the power of the TR platform but hate being the odd man out.
x399 Taichi, 1950x, 32GB 3466 DDR4
2x500GB 960EVO,Asus 1080TI
Passmark
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Mar 2018 at 7:42am
FYI, ASRock does not produce the AGESA code. That comes from AMD. And ONLY AMD.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.143 seconds.