ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Not Booting, No Video
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Not Booting, No Video

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message
andy75 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote andy75 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Not Booting, No Video
    Posted: 01 Mar 2018 at 9:57pm
My build is:
ASRock AB350 Pro4
AMD A8-9600
Samsung DDR4 8GB 2133 M378A1K43BB1-CPB
ThermalTake 500w PSU
Connected through HDMI.

The system turns on and all the fans spin up but I never get any beeps or video.  I have tried the RAM in all the slots.  I started with slot A2.  I have removed and reseeded everything.  I have checked the video cable with another computer.  It has been a while since I have built a system.  Is there anything else I can check before I start returning parts to see what might be bad?

Thanks for all your help!!!!!
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Mar 2018 at 12:03am
andy75, I don't think that board has a speaker.  Have you added a speaker?  If not, please do.  Have you performed a Clear CMOS?  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
andy75 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote andy75 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Mar 2018 at 12:43am
I did not think of the board not having a speaker.  I can try to plug one into the back port when I get home.  Does the board support sounds over HDMI?  If so the HDMI monitor I have has sound built in.

Yes I did a CMOS clear.  I power down then set the jumper then powered back up for about 30 seconds.  Powered down, cleared the jumper, powered up with no change.
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Mar 2018 at 2:35am
andy75, sounds like you did the Clear CMOS fine.  Please check your manual for the header that supports a small speaker.  This is the speaker I am talking about - just a beeper, really.  You will need to purchase one at your local computer store - like this https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA6RP3755293&cm_re=mb_speaker-_-9SIA6RP3755293-_-Product
dirt cheap.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
andy75 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote andy75 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Mar 2018 at 3:43am
I just noticed the Samsung RAM I have is not in the supported list on the motherboard page.  4gb package is but not the 8gb package.  I would not think that would be a big deal but maybe.  Your thoughts?
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Mar 2018 at 4:26am
andy75, if you are saying that your memory is two sticks of a qualified single stick, I would agree with you.  When we hear what the beep code says, hopefully we can develop a plan.  It could still be a memory problem.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
andy75 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote andy75 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Mar 2018 at 9:50pm
Got a speaker plugged it up to the board and I get no sounds at all.  The only thing that I hear is the fans getting a little faster then a little slower.
Back to Top
stree View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 17 Dec 2015
Location: Lincolnshire
Status: Offline
Points: 264
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stree Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Mar 2018 at 10:14pm
One check worth doing.........and from the sound of the fan behaviour, definitely worth doing, the CPU power connector, probably an 8 pin.....These are often quite tight fitting, and it may seem pressed all the way in when there is still 1mm or so to go. This is really worth a try, prss hard try to see if the latch has "actioned"
I had same problem, and this was the issue.
ASRock X370-ITX BIOS 4.50
R5 2600    Cryorig C7
EVGA GTX 950 75w
2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 2933
960Evo M.2 256GB, Firecuda 1TB
Win 10 Pro 64 1803
G-Unique Archdaemon 300 Watt
Lian-li Q21B
Back to Top
andy75 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote andy75 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 2018 at 1:49am
I pushed it in very firmly.  It is clicked down.  What else can I try?
Back to Top
mjinglis View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Mar 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 23
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mjinglis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 2018 at 3:02am
Try removing the power plug, holding down the power button for 30s and then plugging back in and powering it on.

Works for me (sometimes)
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.390 seconds.