ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Taichi x399 and the LSI 9201-16i Problems
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Taichi x399 and the LSI 9201-16i Problems

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message
Jerky_san View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jerky_san Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Taichi x399 and the LSI 9201-16i Problems
    Posted: 21 Aug 2018 at 1:46am
On Saturday I built my new system with an ASRock Taichi X399, 2990WC, and an LSI 9201-16i card. This was to replace my old xeon server and merge my gaming machine with it. Come to find out though the Taichi apparently has some major compatibility issue with the LSI 9201-16i HBA card. It took some work to get it to boot properly with it but after that I "lost" two disks then attempting to bring my array down the entire PCI card just simply disappeared. Rebooting displayed a few of the same errors I had to over come previously and finally getting back into the OS (Unraid) I simply mounted a drive. Drive came up and then immediately tons of errors logged into the sys log and 9201 card disappeared again. Took the card and stuck it into my old system booted 100% fine. Put it in my old ASRock with an i5-2500k booted and tested just fine. Put it in my gaming machine same. So I took out all my new hardware and stuck the old Xeon stuff back in and it rebuilt my array the rest of the weekend while having to recover 4 TB of data that was lost from backup. I put a ticket in with ASRock support and still haven't heard anything back.

My question is has anyone successfully ran an LSI 9201-16i card? If so how did you pull it off? My other question is if any of the MODs know any of the tech peoples at ASRock could you have them look into this issue? There are two other threads besides mine on reddit where they had the same issue but they simply ended up returning the board and buying a Zenith and I really don't want to as I really like ASRock boards. Any help is appreciated as well.

Also to the MODs sorry for creating an account and immediately posting.

Below is the two reddit threads I was talking about.

https://www.reddit.com/r/DataHoarder/comments/92563l/boot_issue_with_lsi_920116i_hba/
https://www.reddit.com/r/DataHoarder/comments/88yl4t/lsi_sas_920116e_and_x399_threadripper_issues/
https://forums.servethehome.com/index.php?threads/boot-issue-with-lsi-9201-16i.21255/ <- another two who sadly moved to another board because of this problem


Edited by Jerky_san - 21 Aug 2018 at 2:10am
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 3657
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Aug 2018 at 4:23am
i dont have scsi cards, so cant say for sure, but quick google told me that it has something to do with ACS

go to bios
under advanced -> amd CBS -> NBIO Common Options change ACS Enable to disabled
Back to Top
Jerky_san View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jerky_san Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Aug 2018 at 4:28am
Originally posted by kerberos_20 kerberos_20 wrote:

i dont have scsi cards, so cant say for sure, but quick google told me that it has something to do with ACS

go to bios
under advanced -> amd CBS -> NBIO Common Options change ACS Enable to disabled


Sadly tried.. Setting bootrom to UEFI is what allowed it to eventually get to the OS. Also tried putting tape over certain pins as recommended in /r/datahoarder as they said sometimes a certain system on the cards that works with enterprise boards won't with consumer. Also didn't work though this is a "workstation" board so I'd expect more compatibility. Honestly never had any trouble out of this card till I got this board sadly. Thanks for the recommendation though.
Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Aug 2018 at 4:29am
Originally posted by Jerky_san Jerky_san wrote:


Also to the MODs sorry for creating an account and immediately posting.

Below is the two reddit threads I was talking about.

https://www.reddit.com/r/DataHoarder/comments/92563l/boot_issue_with_lsi_920116i_hba/
https://www.reddit.com/r/DataHoarder/comments/88yl4t/lsi_sas_920116e_and_x399_threadripper_issues/
https://forums.servethehome.com/index.php?threads/boot-issue-with-lsi-9201-16i.21255/ <- another two who sadly moved to another board because of this problem


Welcome to the world of ASRock, friend.

On the topic - did you have a chance to update the firmware of your LSI? Other than that I can only recommend you open a ticket here https://event.asrock.com/tsd.asp Maybe after an year or two they will release a fix.

Anywho, if you decide to get rid of that X399 of yours, let me know. I need one for a wall decoration. It's the only thing they are good for. Big smile


Edited by xhue - 21 Aug 2018 at 4:30am
Back to Top
Jerky_san View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jerky_san Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Aug 2018 at 4:35am
Originally posted by xhue xhue wrote:

Originally posted by Jerky_san Jerky_san wrote:


Also to the MODs sorry for creating an account and immediately posting.

Below is the two reddit threads I was talking about.

https://www.reddit.com/r/DataHoarder/comments/92563l/boot_issue_with_lsi_920116i_hba/
https://www.reddit.com/r/DataHoarder/comments/88yl4t/lsi_sas_920116e_and_x399_threadripper_issues/
https://forums.servethehome.com/index.php?threads/boot-issue-with-lsi-9201-16i.21255/ <- another two who sadly moved to another board because of this problem


Welcome to the world of ASRock, friend.

On the topic - did you have a chance to update the firmware of your LSI? Other than that I can only recommend you open a ticket here https://event.asrock.com/tsd.asp Maybe after an year or two they will release a fix.

Anywho, if you decide to get rid of that X399 of yours, let me know. I need one for a wall decoration. It's the only thing they are good for. Big smile


I've put a ticket in but not got any response yet. On the firmware it has the last one that was released before it went EOL. Though it is EOL its what most datahoarders/storage people with home storage systems use because its super cheap,effective, and (usually) just works. Apparently it does "just work" on other boards sadly just not the taichi or the Fatal1ty. Really want to start using my 32 cores ;-; it was literally an amazing experience.
Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Aug 2018 at 5:52am
2990WX is a beast, hope you get it up and running soon.

I do too miss real workstation mobos for TR platform. Everything nowadays is RGB bling, Fatal1ty and other 'gaming' cr@p. Closest to my wish comes the Zenith.
Back to Top
Jerky_san View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jerky_san Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Aug 2018 at 6:12am
Originally posted by xhue xhue wrote:

2990WX is a beast, hope you get it up and running soon.

I do too miss real workstation mobos for TR platform. Everything nowadays is RGB bling, Fatal1ty and other 'gaming' cr@p. Closest to my wish comes the Zenith.


Honestly that's what annoys me. I want a down to earth board that wants to be 100% effective in cooling. The Taichi and Zenith at least make good strides compared to other boards but honestly they do need to bring back "real" workstation boards. Hopefully cut the price 10-15$ to because they don't have to load it full of crap.
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 3657
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Aug 2018 at 6:14am
server cpus usualy goes with lower clock stable 24/7 all year long
2990wx is more or less "overclock me to 500watts pretty please!" xD

there is epyc for workstations tbh
Back to Top
Jerky_san View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jerky_san Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Aug 2018 at 6:20am
Originally posted by kerberos_20 kerberos_20 wrote:

server cpus usualy goes with lower clock stable 24/7 all year long
2990wx is more or less "overclock me to 500watts pretty please!" xD

there is epyc for workstations tbh


#_# yeah I plan on running this 2990wx all year long to. Not going to OC it but like the option(have plenty of cooling for it and a 1600watt titanium PSU). If I could just get the stupid HBA and board to play nicely. Its amazing actually because the Taichi is the most recommended board for doing gpu passthrough and a ton of assorted things because "asrock did everything right!" but sadly they did one thing wrong apparently ;-; . It's weird because this card honestly hasn't ever had problems in any board I've ever used. My old xeon server used to have a brother server with a similar card(same chipset) two less ports. Fails the same damn way. Yet works in all my other boards. I'm going to try other raid cards but honestly can't use a raid card with Unraid as unraid is expecting it to be direct access.


Edited by Jerky_san - 21 Aug 2018 at 6:21am
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 3657
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Aug 2018 at 7:03am
if u dont like waiting (a maybe year or two for new bios) then u can always switch to asus, those HBA cards works there fine
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.173 seconds.