ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Help with BIOS settings? (B450 Pro4, 2400G)

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lpind Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Help with BIOS settings? (B450 Pro4, 2400G)
    Posted: 26 Aug 2018 at 8:32pm
Setup:
  • B450M Pro4 (BIOS 1.2beta)
  • Ryzen 5 2400G
  • G Skill Ripjaws 4 DDR4-3000 (2x4GB SR)
  • WD Black M.2 NVMe (250GB, 2018 model)
  • Windows 10 Pro

This is my first build and I think I'm struggling a little with understanding all the BIOS settings.

Fast Boot Options
Enabling Fast Boot and/or disabling CSM both remove the ability to boot from any source (I've connected bootable SATA drives and the USB install media while testing to ensure it wasn't just an incompatibly with NVMe drives) and will only boot to BIOS where the boot options are then unavailable (show only EUFI shell option). Is there another setting I need to change to enable these options to function, or are they explicitly incompatible with my setup?

Fan Settings
I've noticed that regardless of fan profile (both built-in options and custom), the fans will only operate at their base speed and don't react to temperature changes with either "Monitor CPU" or "Monitor MB" options. They will react to temperature changes with the "Tctrl" option, so my first thought was the ohther options must be exclusively for 4-pin fans... but one of my fans is 4-pin, so what do those other options do?

Auto OC