ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Gaming Zone > Gaming PC Build Advice
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Need Advice: Z390 Taichi or Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Need Advice: Z390 Taichi or Z390 Phantom Gaming 6

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hootie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Need Advice: Z390 Taichi or Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
    Posted: 28 Jan 2019 at 4:04pm
I'm building a new rig to upgrade the i5 760 2.8GHZ (OC'd 4.01GHz) that I've been enjoying since 2010 before we started having kids and I knew I'd have no money for a long time. This computer has served me well but it's time for an upgrade.

I've pretty much settled on the i7-9700K w/ Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3200 Memory, but I don't know which motherboard to put them in.

My research has brought me to ASRock, who I have no experience with, but the reviews are great. I've narrowed my choices down to the Taichi LGA 1151 and the Phantom Gaming 6. With a $40 difference, I can't really see much difference besides the built in WiFi USB 3.1 counts, and the 2.5GB/s LAN. Seeing as how I build these things for the long haul, I'd like to get as much performance out of my rig as possible and $40 isn't worth squabbling over.

Can anyone offer any advice here on which may be better suited for a rig that will be used 95% of the time for gaming?

Also, I'm up for changing the CPU and/or memory if someone is convincing :)

Thanks guys,
Houston
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jan 2019 at 12:56am
It's pretty simple really

Taichi: General purpose all-rounder, top notch quality minimal extraneous features.
Gaming 6: Gaming focused with features designed to compliment gaming workloads.