ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > PC Modding > Project Build&Share
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

X99E-ITX/ac in an SG05, loaded, with optical

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote epithumia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X99E-ITX/ac in an SG05, loaded, with optical
    Posted: 27 Sep 2016 at 7:57am
I'm a network administrator, mostly doing Linux work, and I decided I needed a beefier desktop.  But I also like my desktops small.  We generally use Silverstone SG05 cases around here, since they have a nice quiet fan, parts are available and they're easy to clean.  We have probably over 200 of them by now.  I also wanted to keep an optical drive since I do occasionally rip CDs, and wanted to be able to hook up a load of monitors.

I know that most people would say "just use a USB CD" or "get a slightly larger case" but that's not much fun, is it?  I looked all over the 'net and found a few SG05 builds which managed to get everything in without the optical drive., and plenty of builds using the SG13 (which has no provision for an optical drive).  And it turns out to be possible to get it all to fit, though there are still questions about how it will all work under load.  Here's what I used:
  • plain old SG05 case off of the pile we have around here
  • Silverstone 600W SFX power supply
  • X99E-ITX/ac motherboard
  • Xeon E5-1650v4 (6 core) CPU
  • 64GB of ECC DDR4 RAM
  • 1TB M.2 drive (a Toshiba/OCZ RD400)
  • a couple of 2TB Samsung 850 PRO SSDs
  • Corsair H80i-v2 liquid cooler (nice fat radiator)
  • Visiontek Radeon 7870 gfx card with 6xminiDP outputs
  • the Asetek narrow ILM bracket from their ebay site to actually mount the cooler
Oh, and some generic slim optical drive so that I can rip CDs.  I have a blu-ray writer in my current machine but it's slow to rip CDs for whatever reason.

Info and needed hacks: