ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > OverClocking(OC) Zone > OC Build Advice
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Ryzen RAM OC issue

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LegacyCore Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Ryzen RAM OC issue
    Posted: 05 Nov 2017 at 7:46am
Hello, so I feel I'm having an issue that I should not be having with a new rig I built a few days ago.  I'm not new to OCing a PC but I am new to Ryzen setups.  Specs of build are in my sig, so here's the issue.  I currently have my Rzyen  1200 overclocked to 4.0GHz stable with idle temps at 38C and Prime95 temps at 51C.  Well below the temp threshold from my understanding (thank you Corsair H60).  I'm unable to get to 4.1 without instant failure, but I hear most can't so I'm very happy at 4.0GHz.

The issue I'm having as the subject states is my memory speeds.  I'm running Patriot Viper DDR4 3200 dual channel memory.  Memory that is on ASRock's QVL for my motherboard.  I cannot for the life of me get my RAM speeds to 3200MHz.  Sometimes I can get it to boot at 3200, even go into Windows at 3200.  But upon running any stress testing it fails within minutes, in fact I have trouble even running at 3066MHz with testing sometimes lasting up to 10 min before crashing.  I am stable at 2933MHz with running Memtest to 200%.  

I do have the latest BIOS version, all the latest driver versions, up to date on Windows 10 Pro x64 and everything else I can think of.  I feel I should be able to run my memory at the advertised 3200MHz, especially for memory that's on the mobo's QVL!  

RAM settings @ 2933, 1.35v, 16-16-16-36