ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > OverClocking(OC) Zone > OC Build Advice
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Advice on OC and BIOS setup

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WRHicks Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Advice on OC and BIOS setup
    Posted: 22 Feb 2018 at 9:51pm
Hi all! 

I'm brand new to building PC's and have recently bought the below setup: 

Ryzen 5 1600
ASRock AB350 Pro4

Corsair Vengeance LPX 8GB (2x 4GB) 3000MHz DDR4

GTX 1060 Aorus 6GB Graphics Card

Stock cooler provided with the Ryzen 5 

Side note: In the upcoming weeks I'm due to buy another 2x 4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 3000MHz.

Now, as mentioned I am completely new to setting up/building PC's and unsure how far I can push my setup in terms of OC, the voltage needed etc. 

Could anyone advise on what I could expect from OC the above - how far could I push it? I don't want to push it to the limit of the system before breaking on me, but working overtime and a good pace would nice. 

Many thanks,

LWRH
MikeBE View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MikeBE Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Mar 2018 at 10:47pm
I hope that someone got in touch with you about this.

Generally speaking, the Ryzen CPUs are easy to overclock and are quite durable.

First thing, make sure that your motherboard's BIOS is up to date. Grab the BIOS file from ASRock's support site for your motherboard and update the BIOS, as needed. Download the file and unzip it to a USB drive. When you use the "flash" utility in the BIOS, it will search the USB drive and allow you to select the correct BIOS file. This is good, if you have several BIOS files on the drive.