Forum Description: Question about ASRock AMD motherboards
URL: https://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=8557
Printed Date: 29 Mar 2024 at 6:54am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.04 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: AB350 Pro4 RAM
Posted By: allizbwen
Subject: AB350 Pro4 RAM
Date Posted: 30 Apr 2018 at 10:52am
" rel="nofollow - I am building a system on this board and I am trying to figure out the best RAM options. I has hoping for some Samsung b die 3200, but those options do not really exist on this board's QVL.

For example -- https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820232408&ignorebbr=1 -- will that RAM work on the board or no dice?

Anyone have any recommendations on b die for this board?

I am new to this and am just trying to figure it all out -- thanks for the help!

Replies:
Posted By: Reinvented
Date Posted: 30 Apr 2018 at 12:16pm
Just because it's not on the QVL list, doesn't mean that it won't work.  It just means that the XMP profile can't be activated, and you'd have to work a little harder and manually input timings.  And yes, the kit you linked should work just fine.  

Posted By: PatriotVipers
Date Posted: 30 Apr 2018 at 3:45pm
" rel="nofollow -
Originally posted by Reinvented Reinvented wrote:

Just because it's not on the QVL list, doesn't mean that it won't work.  It just means that the XMP profile can't be activated, and you'd have to work a little harder and manually input timings.  And yes, the kit you linked should work just fine.  

Just to be clear here, I think what you mean to say is that every memory chip on the QVL list for an AB350M Pro4 motherboard is recognized by the BIOS on power up, which means that it will automatically read the XMP data from the memory chips and run the memory at that speed.

Honestly, this raises a question for me though. Does ASRock BIOS attempt to run the QVL memory at the fastest XMP memory speeds it recognizes?