ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Overclocking default?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Vulpie05 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Overclocking default?
    Posted: 26 Dec 2018 at 7:05am
Hi,

Somewhat of a noob here, but familiar with PCs. I have just built the following:

-AMD Ryzen 3 2200G
-ASRock B450 Pro 4
-G.SKill Flare X 3200 16GB RAM.

I have Windows 10 installed, and everything seems to be running fine. I have installed Ryzen Master and HWinfo, and I am noticing that I am reaching clock speeds of about 3697.4 MHz. I know that is right at the listed maximum overclock for the CPU, but isn't this an "overclocked" speed? I know AMD lists the standard clock speed for the APU at 3.5 GHz.

What I am getting at is that I do not want to overclock this computer, at least until I have a better handle of what I am doing. I did not change anything in the bios, and overclocking appears to be the default, without any way to turn it off in OC Tweaker. Even when I change the clock speed to manual, and set it to 3500 MHz (with voltage left alone at 1.4), I am still registering speeds above 3.5 GHz in Windows.

Can anyone help point me in the right direction to keep the APU under control? I have flashed the bios to the latest version (1.8), and I was having this problem before and after the flash.

Thank you!
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Dec 2018 at 9:09am
3700MHz is the max turbo freq. for 2200G. Your CPU is automatically set to reach this freq. when the conditions are right.

Also, therr is no XFR or PBO on Ryzen 3 models.