ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Media&User's Review > AMD Motherboards
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

AMD/Asrock m-ITX Water-Cooled APU Build

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote iamdak Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: AMD/Asrock m-ITX Water-Cooled APU Build
    Posted: 26 Oct 2015 at 8:53am
Toward the end of the summer I had the idea of building a computer that was powerful and portable enough to act as a desktop computer as well as a gaming console. I already have a standard Intel i-based system but I wanted to build something unique and after heavy research I found myself intrigued by AMD's line of APUs. I'm a software engineer and after reading about about AMD's approach to unified systems I was absolutely hooked; I was excited about the kind of OpenCL/OpenGL applications I could write on this kind of system. My two major requirements were that the computer must be a small size and run as quiet as possible. To achieve this I decided to go the Mini-ITX route with an emphasis on running cool. I ultimately decided to go with AMD's A10-7870k APU. This processor kicks butt! The price is right on the mark for the performance it delivers especially after overclocking it to a 100% stable 4.5Ghz. To achieve this I replaced the stock cooler with a Corsair H60 all-in-one water cooling system. Games and applications run blazing fast while remaining very quiet and very cool.

Final mITX  build!