ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Several questions about overclocking - x470 Taichi
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Several questions about overclocking - x470 Taichi

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FrankGehry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Several questions about overclocking - x470 Taichi
    Posted: 06 Mar 2019 at 11:06pm
I have a 2700x in an X470 Taichi Ultimate.

First off, after doing a bit of research, it seems better to use PBO instead of manually overclocking. Is this the general consensus?

Those that do overclock via PBO also recommend setting a VCore offset of around -.100v in order to decrease voltage to the CPU and perhaps gain stability. I think I understand this right, but I am new to overclocking.

My issue is, I cannot find out exactly how to set that VCore offset as I don't really see any setting in the BIOS that is worded as such.

Lastly, I think my mobo has BIOS version 1.20 on it. Would it be wise to update it? They say not to update unless you're experiencing bugs or performance hits, but perhaps it's so out-dated that an update would be advised.

I appreciate all the help. I'm just getting my feet wet in the world of overclocking, and I want to make the most out of my new rig.
kschendel View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kschendel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2019 at 6:37am
1.2 is very old. I'd at least update to the 2018 midsummer release, which I think was 1.5x, or the new release which is 2.0. I did an update of my Ultimate to 2.0 and after some initial self-inflicted problems, it's been very stable. I don't overclock my CPU so I can't answer your other questions from experience.
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie