ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - U.2 And Hot Swap SATA Support
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

U.2 And Hot Swap SATA Support

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
croooowe View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Apr 2019
Location: NC
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote croooowe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: U.2 And Hot Swap SATA Support
    Posted: 03 Apr 2019 at 12:32am
Hi all, I have recently built a new system with an X399 Taichi. I have created a RAID array with 2 x M.2 NVMe cards. I am also trying to utilize an Intel NVMe 2.5" SSD drive through the U.2 port. I have the M.2 cards in the right slots and I can even see the NVMe SSD connected through the U.2 in the BIOS, but when in Windows 10 I cannot see it.
Also, I have a couple of the hot swap SAS/SATA bays, that work perfectly on another system I have, but on this board when I put in a new SATA drive I cannot see it. I actually have to reboot the system to be able to see the new drive in the OS which of course defeats the whole purpose of those bays.
Has anyone had any experience with the U.2 port and or any problems with a hot swap HDD bay?
Back to Top
BibbBirdd View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Apr 2019
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BibbBirdd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Apr 2019 at 4:01am
I joined this forum to find out similar things. There seems to be a cloud of mystery to the U.2 jack in ASRock boards. They sell a cable that goes to 4 SATA plugs lots of places. I was under the impression that would allow up to 4 drives to be used. I have tried 2 cables and nothing see the drives. I know the drives are good I swapped them with the regular SATA cables and they read the drive.

Would be nice to find out where it's hidden in the BIOS. I am running the latest version too.
Back to Top
croooowe View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Apr 2019
Location: NC
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote croooowe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Apr 2019 at 12:27am
So I tinkered some more and found out that both of my issues are due to the enabling of the NVMe RAID controller. Disabling the RAID in SATA Mode and in the NVMe RAID Mode and reinstalling to a single drive and the 2.5" SSD NVMe drive can be seen normally and my hot swap drive trays work perfectly. My other system with a different motherboard vendor has SATA RAID enabled and the hot swap drives work fine so it is either an ASRock issue or specific to NVMe RAID either of which is unfortunate.

I do not know how many drives you are trying to set up but I only have a single Intel P3700 2.5" NVMe SSD drive connected to the U.2 port with a "Funtin U.2 (SFF-8639) to HD Mini-SAS" cable from Amazon. Again, without the RAID configured that cable works fine for the single drive.
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 677
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Apr 2019 at 2:05pm
are the controllers showing up in device manager


Back to Top
croooowe View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Apr 2019
Location: NC
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote croooowe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Apr 2019 at 6:04am
I have 6 controllers showing up in Device Manager. I have 6 AMD-RAID Bottom Device entries and 6 AMD-RAID Controller [storport] entries.

Under storage in BIOS I enabled hot swap but that doesn't help with the hot swap drive bays.

Every time I go into BIOS the NVMe drive shows as "Disabled" under the View Associated Physical Disks. I enable it and save but that doesn't change anything in Windows and it is disabled again next time I enter the BIOS.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.