ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

ECC RAM for Taichi X370

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote vlinder Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ECC RAM for Taichi X370
    Posted: 16 Apr 2019 at 3:37am
I am trying to install some ECC RAM in my Taichi X370 (Ryzen 7 1700; Samsung 970EVO 500GB; GeForce GTX 1050 Ti; Linux Mint 19.1 [Tessa]). The computer does not post, but repeatedly stops, pauses, then tries to restart. Dr. Debug shows 0d (which, I believe, means that I have a memory error). The ECC RAM that I installed are two SAMSUNG 16GB 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM ECC (Registered DDR4 2666 [PC4 21300] Server Memory Model M393A2K40BB2-CTD). Their Rank x Org. is 1R x 4, which is a single rank DIMM. This is my first build, and I obviously failed to ensure that ASRock had listed this RAM as compatible with the Taichi X370. (Yeah. Boy do I feel stupid. ) Nonetheless, is there any chance that I might get the RAM to work in it? I have read that ASRock has made headway on getting ECC RAM working on its motherboards, and with my recent update to BIOS version P5.10 I notice various ECC-related settings. I?™m hoping that there might be BIOS settings with which my RAM might work. Or is this a lost cause?
Ryzen 7 1700; ASRock Taichi X370; 2x 16GB Corsair 3100Mhz; Samsung 970EVO 500GB; GeForce GTX 1050 Ti; Linux Mint 19.1 (Tessa)
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Apr 2019 at 5:59am
Hmm, boy, oh boy!

To my knowledge only Ryzen Pro variants supports ECC RAM.

Second, your RAM is regitered, i.e. buffered (or so you claim). Ryzen Pro works only with unbuffered RAM, AFAIK.

Third, you are left at the mercy of the mobo manufacturer to implement proper ECC support in BIOS.