ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Extreme9 BIOS bugs in 1.70
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Extreme9 BIOS bugs in 1.70

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message
DedEmbryonicCe11 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 31 Oct 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DedEmbryonicCe11 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Extreme9 BIOS bugs in 1.70
    Posted: 31 Oct 2015 at 12:00pm
FX990 Extreme9
This has always been a solid board but there are still nagging bugs that hurt overclockers.  Is ASRock willing to update the BIOS and perfect it?  The platform is "dead" to future updates from AMD, but some people like myself would love to continue using it into 2016 when AMD releases their new socket/platform.


1)  Countless negative experiences with the LLC bug in the BIOS.  The options are mislabeled.  I've submitted a report to support but no response after quite some time and the issue has been known for a year...  The "100%" LLC option is actually Disabled.  "Disabled" is either 75% or 100%... can't tell which.  I  just know that "Disabled" has CRAZY HIGH LLC voltage spikes.  I'm talking set 1.425v in the BIOS with LLC at "Disabled" and it will spike as high as 1.6v running AOD stability test.  It shouldn't be hard at all to rename these options correctly, right?Wink


2) CPU-NB overclocks (and sometimes voltages!) do not persist after power state suspends in Windows.  I have recently switched from Windows 7 to Windows 10 and reenabled the suspend state.  This is great for a power hungry chip like a FX-9590 because the system will shut off to a trickle and I just have to click the mouse and retype my password and I'm back where I left off.  The problem is that my CPU-NB overclock drops from 2400 MHz to 2200 MHz and sometimes the CPU-NB voltage drops from 1.25 to 1.125v as well!  Raising the CPU-NB multiplier is not possible inside of Windows with AOD and the only way that I know of is to reboot the system.  Is this a OS limitation, or is it possible for the motherboard to correctly revert to the overclock it had before suspend?


3)  (see 1) With LLC disabled the core voltage sometimes dips below BIOS settings.  I have 1.525v set.  After a fresh reboot CPU-Z and ASRock's AXTU (v1.381.2) reports 1.520v at the moment.  Half of the time I boot the voltage will be at ~1.49v and stay below the set voltage even if I try to raise it with AOD or AXTU.  To clarify, any time it has dropped to ~1.49v if I set say 1.55v it won't be 1.55v... it will be 1.515v or something like that.  The voltage just gets stuck some percentage below whatever you want it set at.  I have seen this bug reported elsewhere (Anandtech forums for example) from last year.  It should be pretty well known.


Anyway, I want to reiterate that I love my system.  I certainly wouldn't switch to another AM3+ motherboard since there are no new processors coming out for it anyway.  I just wish these year-old bugs could be squashed by some generous BIOS engineers.Tongue
Back to Top
DedEmbryonicCe11 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 31 Oct 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DedEmbryonicCe11 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Oct 2015 at 1:18pm
Sorry wrong forum by accident.  Could a mod move this to Technical support please?
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Oct 2015 at 3:13pm
Don't worry about the wrong forum, many other people have done the same thing. As long as you are aware of it, I'm happy.

I'm not up to speed on the UEFI bugs you listed, and just want to review them with you.

1. Reversed LLC setting vs result. I don't have your board but I believe you about this. I've seen this before in general with the UEFI of other ASRock boards, Intel processor boards in my experience.

The bug is the lowest or zero LLC compensation setting is actually the highest LLC compensation, correct? Conversely, the highest LLC setting is actually the lowest or zero LLC compensation.

This bug seems to stay with ASRock like a bad, lingering cold, very hard to get over and never seems to go away. Wink  I suppose the thinking about this is as long as the user knows what the result of a setting is, the name for it is not important. Or it is thought that you and others are wrong. The former is no excuse IMO, and could damage an inexperienced users processor. No one wants a car with a speedometer that reads 0 when the car is at 100MPH, and vice versa.

I also think you would like more than just fixing the setting vs actual value situation. The spikes in voltage you mention could be caused by a benchmark starting a particular test, like AVX instructions. What is AOD, that acronym is not expanding in my mind.

2. Wake from Sleep clock and voltage changes. This is another fairly common issue that affects all hardware platforms. I know of fixes for this for Intel boards by ASRock and other manufactures.

Do you have AXTU running when you start the PC, and when you go into Sleep mode?

3. What are you using as the VCore mode and value? Such as, manual VCore at 1.500V. Do you have CPU power saving options enabled? What is the processor minimum state set to in your Windows Power Plan?

Back to Top
ASRock Expert View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Oct 2015
Location: Croatia
Status: Offline
Points: 220
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote ASRock Expert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Oct 2015 at 5:27pm
990FX Extreme 9                           P1.70                      MOD P1.70
_____________________________________________________
OROM AMD ACHI 4391                  3.0.5                        3.3.0.0
OROM AMD RAID MISC 4392         3.2.1540.6               3.3.1540.19
OROM AMD RAID MISC 4393         3.3.1540.11             3.3.1540.19
EFI AMD RAID                               1.0.0.49                   1.0.0.49
EFI AMD Utility                              1.0.0.49                   1.0.0.49
LAN OROM Intel PXE                    1.3.95                       1.5.72
LAN EFI Intel UNDI                       4.8.01                       6.6.04
ASMEDIA OROM 1061                   0.93                          0.951
EFI AMD AGESA OrochiPI              1.2.9.0                      1.2.9.0

Feel free to use a MOD BIOS that I use.
The file is InstantFlash, and I use it on a daily base.
You can always revert to normal P1.70,
but I doubt You will ever do this.

The AMD AHCI 4391 does make the most difference in SATA3 speed when using a SSD.
If also fixes the BUG when You use a Samsung 840 EVO/850 EVO, and have a
cold-boot "black screen" BUG, and after a hot-restart, everything works fine.

BIOS:
https://app.box.com/s/2nnqqe4274fx4v5uy1bmm46l6t0eqemv

CRC check:
https://app.box.com/s/hxpg29663diu3v6j918xalpc9ki18d6w

So to sum up, it is an Official P1.70 BIOS with updated manufacturers ROM's.
Nothing else is moded.

Thumbs Up


Edited by ASRock Expert - 29 Nov 2015 at 4:36am
990FX Extreme 9 MOD P1.70
AMD FX 8120 4GHz 1.25V
Thermalright HR-02
Patriot Viper 2x4GB 2133MHz
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
MSI R7970 TFIII 3GB
CORSAIR VX550W
LanCool K62 Dragonlord
ASUS Xonar D2X
Back to Top
ASRock Expert View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Oct 2015
Location: Croatia
Status: Offline
Points: 220
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ASRock Expert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Nov 2015 at 5:00pm
Did You try it out?

I received a notification that the BIOS was downloaded. 
990FX Extreme 9 MOD P1.70
AMD FX 8120 4GHz 1.25V
Thermalright HR-02
Patriot Viper 2x4GB 2133MHz
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
MSI R7970 TFIII 3GB
CORSAIR VX550W
LanCool K62 Dragonlord
ASUS Xonar D2X
Back to Top
DieMilchritter View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 28 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DieMilchritter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Nov 2015 at 2:14am
Originally posted by ASRock Expert ASRock Expert wrote:

990FX Extreme 9                           P1.70                      MOD P1.70
_____________________________________________________
OROM AMD ACHI 4391                  3.0.5                        3.3.0.0
OROM AMD RAID MISC 4392         3.2.1540.6               3.3.1540.19
OROM AMD RAID MISC 4393         3.3.1540.11             3.3.1540.19
EFI AMD RAID                               1.0.0.49                   1.0.0.49
EFI AMD Utility                              1.0.0.49                   1.0.0.49
LAN OROM Intel PXE                    1.3.95                       1.5.72
LAN EFI Intel UNDI                       4.8.01                       6.6.04
ASMEDIA OROM 1061                   0.93                          0.951
EFI AMD AGESA OrochiPI              1.2.9.0                      1.2.9.0

Feel free to use a MOD BIOS that I use.
The file is InstantFlash, and I use it on a daily base.
You can always revert to normal P1.70,
but I doubt You will ever do this.

The AMD AHCI 4391 does make the most difference in SATA3 speed when using a SSD.
If also fixes the BUG when You use a Samsung 840 EVO/850 EVO, and have a
cold-boot "black screen" BUG, and after a hot-restart, everything works fine.

https://app.box.com/s/2nnqqe4274fx4v5uy1bmm46l6t0eqemv

So to sum up, it is an Official P1.70 BIOS with updated manufacturers ROM's.
Nothing else is moded.

Thumbs Up


Is there any way to get an official one with all those updates? If we users can do it ASRock should be able to also ;)

But I guess they shifted the focus to Intel and let AM3+ HighEnd Boards simply die.
Back to Top
ASRock Expert View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Oct 2015
Location: Croatia
Status: Offline
Points: 220
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ASRock Expert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Nov 2015 at 8:49pm
At the time, only ASRock could know what they will provide to us.

The MOD BIOS works well since day-1 on my rig.

So I'm asking myself - will the next ASRock BIOS for the Ex9 be and upgrade or a downgrade?
990FX Extreme 9 MOD P1.70
AMD FX 8120 4GHz 1.25V
Thermalright HR-02
Patriot Viper 2x4GB 2133MHz
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
MSI R7970 TFIII 3GB
CORSAIR VX550W
LanCool K62 Dragonlord
ASUS Xonar D2X
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Nov 2015 at 2:43am
Originally posted by ASRock Expert ASRock Expert wrote:

990FX Extreme 9                           P1.70                      MOD P1.70
_____________________________________________________
OROM AMD ACHI 4391                  3.0.5                        3.3.0.0
OROM AMD RAID MISC 4392         3.2.1540.6               3.3.1540.19
OROM AMD RAID MISC 4393         3.3.1540.11             3.3.1540.19
EFI AMD RAID                               1.0.0.49                   1.0.0.49
EFI AMD Utility                              1.0.0.49                   1.0.0.49
LAN OROM Intel PXE                    1.3.95                       1.5.72
LAN EFI Intel UNDI                       4.8.01                       6.6.04
ASMEDIA OROM 1061                   0.93                          0.951
EFI AMD AGESA OrochiPI              1.2.9.0                      1.2.9.0

Feel free to use a MOD BIOS that I use.
The file is InstantFlash, and I use it on a daily base.
You can always revert to normal P1.70,
but I doubt You will ever do this.

The AMD AHCI 4391 does make the most difference in SATA3 speed when using a SSD.
If also fixes the BUG when You use a Samsung 840 EVO/850 EVO, and have a
cold-boot "black screen" BUG, and after a hot-restart, everything works fine.

https://app.box.com/s/2nnqqe4274fx4v5uy1bmm46l6t0eqemv

So to sum up, it is an Official P1.70 BIOS with updated manufacturers ROM's.
Nothing else is moded.

Thumbs Up


I noticed your post but forgot to reply to it... until now. I'm curious about the OROM AMD ACHI 4391.

AMD's SATA III chipsets have never performed as well as Intel's, that is a reality that is not just my opinion, sorry to say. I've always wondered why that is the case. We never see AMD boards being used in SSD reviews for this reason.

I'm not doubting you about that OROM, I don't know either way. If fixing/improving the AMD SATA III performance is as simple using a new OROM, why oh why don't mother board manufactures use it?!?! Angry  Again, I'm not doubting you at all, I'd love to try it with my AMD board.
Back to Top
ASRock Expert View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Oct 2015
Location: Croatia
Status: Offline
Points: 220
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ASRock Expert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Nov 2015 at 4:55am
What motherboard do You have?
990FX Extreme 9 MOD P1.70
AMD FX 8120 4GHz 1.25V
Thermalright HR-02
Patriot Viper 2x4GB 2133MHz
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
MSI R7970 TFIII 3GB
CORSAIR VX550W
LanCool K62 Dragonlord
ASUS Xonar D2X
Back to Top
DedEmbryonicCe11 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 31 Oct 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DedEmbryonicCe11 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Nov 2015 at 10:04am
Originally posted by ASRock Expert ASRock Expert wrote:

990FX Extreme 9                           P1.70                      MOD P1.70
_____________________________________________________
OROM AMD ACHI 4391                  3.0.5                        3.3.0.0
OROM AMD RAID MISC 4392         3.2.1540.6               3.3.1540.19
OROM AMD RAID MISC 4393         3.3.1540.11             3.3.1540.19
EFI AMD RAID                               1.0.0.49                   1.0.0.49
EFI AMD Utility                              1.0.0.49                   1.0.0.49
LAN OROM Intel PXE                    1.3.95                       1.5.72
LAN EFI Intel UNDI                       4.8.01                       6.6.04
ASMEDIA OROM 1061                   0.93                          0.951
EFI AMD AGESA OrochiPI              1.2.9.0                      1.2.9.0

Feel free to use a MOD BIOS that I use.

Okay I'm using this now.  I like the splash screen actually showing the boot options.Wink  I didn't benchmark my SSD's before.. So I'll never know if it gave me any extra performance.  I have a Samsung 850 Pro 512GB and a 470 128GB.  They were both already fast enough for my needs.


Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:

The bug is the lowest or zero LLC compensation setting is actually the highest LLC compensation, correct? Conversely, the highest LLC setting is actually the lowest or zero LLC compensation.

This bug seems to stay with ASRock like a bad, lingering cold, very hard to get over and never seems to go away. Wink  I suppose the thinking about this is as long as the user knows what the result of a setting is, the name for it is not important. Or it is thought that you and others are wrong. The former is no excuse IMO, and could damage an inexperienced users processor. No one wants a car with a speedometer that reads 0 when the car is at 100MPH, and vice versa.

I also think you would like more than just fixing the setting vs actual value situation. The spikes in voltage you mention could be caused by a benchmark starting a particular test, like AVX instructions. What is AOD, that acronym is not expanding in my mind.

2. Wake from Sleep clock and voltage changes. This is another fairly common issue that affects all hardware platforms. I know of fixes for this for Intel boards by ASRock and other manufactures.

Do you have AXTU running when you start the PC, and when you go into Sleep mode?

3. What are you using as the VCore mode and value? Such as, manual VCore at 1.500V. Do you have CPU power saving options enabled? What is the processor minimum state set to in your Windows Power Plan?

Yeah I am seeing the LLC settings completely reversed.  100% seems to be Disabled and I'm using this setting now.  I have the vCore set to 1.525v in the BIOS.  The actual voltage being read by CPU-Z / HWMonitor / HWiNFO64 hovers between 1.472v and 1.504v with an average of 1.484v.  That's the idle readings at least.

I don't have AXTU set to run on startup and I never have it running except when I'm actively adjusting settings.  I haven't investigated the power plan settings since I've migrated to Windows 10..  I'm looking through them now and realizing AXTU has added its own plan as the active one.


I didn't see anything obviously wrong... I've adjusted a few settings mostly just timers.  I've also disabled Hybrid Sleep and opted for Hibernate instead because Hybrid Sleep sometimes won't start up the fans on my H220X properly.Angry  Maybe it is because they're PWM fans?  I've also gone into the BIOS and switched from a managed fan curve to "Full On" in the hope that will prevent it.


Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.299 seconds.