ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - SSD storage option on bios
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

SSD storage option on bios

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Dgdg_ View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 May 2015
Location: Thailand
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dgdg_ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: SSD storage option on bios
    Posted: 08 May 2015 at 12:49pm
When i choose on "Advanced" "Storage" "My device: OCZ Vertex2 SSD" "dirve type" => "SSD or HDD" (connected on port SATA3_2), my OS archlinux can n ot see the SSD. If i choose HDD insatead of SSD, it can see it.

I would like to know what the bios do with this option (what it does with SSD, what is the difference).
Also, i would like to know what it can be possible to do for this SSD can be full configured and see by the OS.

thanks
Asrock extrem 6 Z97 on archlinux
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2015 at 3:14pm
Originally posted by Dgdg_ Dgdg_ wrote:

When i choose on "Advanced" "Storage" "My device: OCZ Vertex2 SSD" "dirve type" => "SSD or HDD" (connected on port SATA3_2), my OS archlinux can n ot see the SSD. If i choose HDD insatead of SSD, it can see it.

I would like to know what the bios do with this option (what it does with SSD, what is the difference).
Also, i would like to know what it can be possible to do for this SSD can be full configured and see by the OS.

thanks


*** Topic moved to Technical Support > Intel Motherboards from Media&User's Review > Intel Motherboards ***

The OCZ Vertex 2 SSD, and any SSD with a Sandforce 1200 series SSD controller is not compatible with Intel 8 and 9 series SATA chipsets. So you can expect varying degrees of operation stability.

If your board has ASMedia SATA ports, try using those with your Vertex 2.

I don't know what the SSD and HDD settings do specifically, but if using HDD allows you to use your Vertex 2, I would use it and move on.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.158 seconds.