ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Raid Menu CTRL-R not showing up
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Raid Menu CTRL-R not showing up

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Message
datarimlens View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Feb 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datarimlens Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Feb 2020 at 2:51pm
close enough I hope to post this here: Bios 2.70 on Taichi, does not show the Ctrl-R either.
The RAID setup guide states on page 5: Use legacy RAID-ROM to create and configure array disks. True enough the options in the UEFI Bios are insufficient. Hot spares cannot be managed, array creation is impossible,etc. I am for example stuck with a Raidable array where I cannot add another disk to transition to RAID1. No, Windows installation comes after that ... all friendly Sata, not even NVME. The AMD RaidExpert Manual is not helpful either, as it lists options that do not show up in the ASRock Bios.

So ... has anyone been able to rais a ctrl-R Raid setup on a Taichi or Aqua yet? What is the trick? Yes it is only in Legacy mode, the network boot rom does show up when configured appropriately, however the Raid setup does not. What's up with that? RAID appears more useful than LEDs, no?
cheerio
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 677
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Feb 2020 at 3:57pm
how is the raidexpert in uefi insuffcient? its call there from managing arrays to setting global hotswaps

moving forward youre not suppose to use legacy modes as you'll have size limitation, disk limitation and so on
Back to Top
datarimlens View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Feb 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datarimlens Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Feb 2020 at 6:05pm
1. Agreed, a full UEFI version would be desirable moving forward.
2. At this time the UEFI version appears incomplete, bare bones, only permitting configuration of two empty disks as RAID 1 or switch a disk to global hot spare. Please kindly refer to the AMD RaidExpert2 guide under Chapter 5, Option Rom, for comparison.
3. The Legacy opRom offers more (but as the title of this thread does not show up on my system, so no ctrl-R possible):
a) Ctrl-R not possible, option not showing (Bios deficient).
b) Dedicated hot swap for specific array missing. Just setting disk as global hot swap is insufficient. Manage hot spares item from AMD RaidExpert2 is not showing. It might merge the dedicated hot spare even into the "Raidable array" but I can't test that due to a).
c) Adding disks in whatever form, new/uninitialized or initialized/empty to a "Raidable" array is not possible under the UEFI implementation.

I would take the legacy option rom with better functionality until the UEFI implementation is fixed to full functionality. The Legacy option not showing turns out to be a showstopper in my case. The cleared path is just a tad too narrow. Thank you for understanding.


Also: The Board utility under Windows does also not retain the fan curves for whatever reason through a power cycle. No, it is not the battery :). What is up with that? I do not even care about specifically the SB fan and noise, but cooling functionality as the default, MB derived temperatures, are way too high. The voltage for the CPU with almost 1.5V appears excessive in the default.






cheerio
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 677
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Feb 2020 at 11:02pm
i can do all those in uefi
Back to Top
datarimlens View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Feb 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datarimlens Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2020 at 12:55am
Question then:
1. Are you on an X570 Taichi?
2. If yes, what Bios version are you on? 2.70 in this case.
3. What processor are you running? 3900X in this case.
If you can access all the options you describe, in my case that access is not possible. Looking forward to your response as there must be some significant differences that your post unfortunately does not list. Again I am running stock, no overclocking.
Will the Windows install then simply work with the Raid drivers, even when I empty the disks? No. Array can be set up, even with difficulties deleting automatically created arrays. Following there are more roadblocks with Sata instead of NVMe disks apparently as I cannot configure them as boot device. Windows install on array cannot continue, even wiht RAID drivers available due to lack of support in Bios.

ASRock support was so far not helpful, they just sent me to the dealer ...


cheerio
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 677
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2020 at 1:02am
i'm not on x570 but i dont see how its any different

i dont have 2 spare drives to create a full array but i can show you i can intialize and create hotswaps. i think i didnt record the part where i make them into raidable/volume

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E8oiPfLslQ0
Back to Top
datarimlens View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Feb 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datarimlens Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2020 at 1:56am
Watched your video. I get the same options, quite familiar with them by now, and they do not work. If your read what I posted, the features I mention and are implemented in RaidExpert2 are not available.
- Global Hot Spare != Dedicated Hot Spare.
- Raidable Single disk array cannot have a second disk assigned to upgrade to RAID 1.

What you show ONLY works for 2 empty disks and global hot spare. The Bios Oprom is hobbled compared to the bios oprom as described in the AMD document, chapter 5.

FYI, I just tossed a week of setup to get to two empty disks and form an array. There are STILL issues as arrays will not consistently delete on the X570 Taichi with the 2.70 Bios. Also, once the array is formed and shows as working, the windows install on the Sata drives fails, with the drivers on the setup disk, as well as on the nvme_sata_raid_windows_driver_9_3_0_38 from the AMD site. Why? Win 10 setup points to Bios, with unallocated space "not sure Windows can be installed on the machine" and with a formatted partition a specific error listing that the RAID array does not show up in Bios. Not thrilled. This is not my first setup but it starts to feel like Socket 462 days when AMD Bios and Raid also had real issues on a nightmarish MSI board.

I agree with you it should not make a difference between X470 and X570.
To your question: AMD offers basically a JBOD mode called Volume, Raidable, wich should upgrade to Raid 1 when it sees a second matchin empty new disk, and the usual RAID modes. So a Raidable can start with a single disk, e.g., writing RAID signatures on one of two drives, bringing an array up, then adding a second drive. None of this works as advertised and the UEFI implementation just falls short.

cheerio
Back to Top
datarimlens View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Feb 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datarimlens Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2020 at 3:30am
My conclusion now is as neither the 9.2.0.105, nor the new 9.3.0.38 drivers, both addressing the Win 1903 issues, permit to boot from a Sata RAID array, that this is simply not possible on an X570 board. It appears strange, as the drivers load in the Windows 10 installer, one can even format the Array, etc, but the Bios 2.70 does not permit to boot from Sata Raid 1 arrays on the X570 Taichi. There is no way to configure the BIOS to do permit booting from Sata RAID. Request goes in to ASRock to fix this! It is simply not enough to be able to boot from NVME Raid and a shame for the capabilities of the board.
cheerio
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 677
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2020 at 11:27am
the dedicated hotswap can also be set later with the webgui

i think you should focus on installing windows on the array

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.267 seconds.