ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - TRX40 Taichi Overheats and Dies
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

TRX40 Taichi Overheats and Dies

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Message
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2019 at 6:10am
Originally posted by bmxholmes bmxholmes wrote:

Took a picture

Show it

Originally posted by bmxholmes bmxholmes wrote:

when the chip was secured in the hinge but not yet down

? What do you want to say ?


The whole thread sounds implausible or in other words: FAKE
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
bmxholmes View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Dec 2019
Location: FL
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bmxholmes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2019 at 11:24am
What are you talking about....
I would join this forum to be trolled?

There is no benefit to that, use common sense.
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2019 at 2:24pm
I can understand that it must be very frustrating getting such an expensive hardware not to work, but you should use common sense too!

There is no benefit at all if you are using "crap" and "awfull" postings and ununderstandable phrases like:

Originally posted by bmxholmes bmxholmes wrote:

Did that twice, found out my threadripper was missing cores!

Originally posted by bmxholmes bmxholmes wrote:

Took a picture when the chip was secured in the hinge but not yet down


Please show the picture!


Anyway, if that hardware is not working it is a clear RMA case.

Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
cx5 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 2383
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cx5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2019 at 2:34pm
Originally posted by Ray62 Ray62 wrote:

Originally posted by bmxholmes bmxholmes wrote:

Did that twice, found out my threadripper was missing cores!

Originally posted by bmxholmes bmxholmes wrote:

Took a picture when the chip was secured in the hinge but not yet down


Please show the picture!


actually if @bmxholmes has strike the lottery, collectors would pay a lot of money of a missing cores threadripper of recent times. Should put up a "BID". Hell AMD would pay 10 times to buy it back!!! hahahahaha
x370taichi@3.50gen4
AX750 Optane900P SN770
3800x PosdonZro4 BarrowPWM-17w>420x140x28
XFX SWFT319 6900XT
MSI RX560 LP to get Fluid Motion BlueskyFRC 75hz
Back to Top
gizmic View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2018
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 677
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gizmic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2019 at 3:58pm
assuming you still cant boot up your system i dont see how you'd know you got some missing cores
Back to Top
bmxholmes View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Dec 2019
Location: FL
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bmxholmes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2019 at 2:35pm
Becauase They are physically missing
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Online
Points: 22988
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2019 at 5:29pm
I think we have a case of misunderstanding here. You cannot see missing cores
on the physical CPU. You can however see missing resistors and ICs on the
underside of the CPU in the center where there are no pins. This however does
not indicate a defective or broken CPU, the substrate (CPU circuit board) is
used across multiple CPU models, some use more or less SMT components (surface
mount). A few "missing" SMT components is normal unless they appear to have
been ripped off somehow which should be easy enough to spot as it will leave
solder residue on the contact pads.

By the description it sounds to me like an improperly seated CPU, both X399 and
TR40 sockets are tricky to install the CPU into. Take a look at a youtube
tutorial on how to do it correctly. Improperly installed CPUs are probably the
number one cause of issues on this platform.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Online
Points: 22988
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2019 at 5:33pm
As an additional note, guys, it's clear the OP is an inexperienced system builder.
You can not expect them to have an intricate understanding of what things are and
how they work. The simple fact that he thought he could see physically missing cores
should be enough to tell you that he needs help, in a simple to follow, step by step
format to help get the system up and running.
Back to Top
bmxholmes View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Dec 2019
Location: FL
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bmxholmes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Dec 2019 at 7:15am
Ok, I apologize for the misuse of my nomenclature, no need to be a neckbeard about it, you should just help.
So I have extensively troubleshot the equipment, utilized different memory, disassembled and reassembled the parts per the manual gently and am getting a Dr. Debug 00 Code, which upon research is a defective chip & socket.

Best regards,

bmxholmes
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.266 seconds.